LSD gearbox

wat i know is with lsd gearbox, ur left and right wheel will spin/turn/rotate at the same rate

oic..no wonder, on first gear one my car steer to the right, then gear 2nd gear steer to the left. I hope after installing lsd does help.

Originally posted by munky@Apr 6 2005, 19:42
wat i know is with lsd gearbox, ur left and right wheel will spin/turn/rotate at the same rate
[snapback]874375[/snapback]​

this is a wrong quote, what LSD actually does is transfer the power of ur car to the wheel that is having the most grip.. thats why it perform better during cornering for and FR car.. if u turn left, the left side wheel will turn less than the right wheel, vise versa (if u r in the shopping complex parking, u can hear the diff of LSD gebox, less squick sound compare to normal gebox).. and during drag lunch, more power will be transfered to the wheel with more grip.. thus the name LSD, Limited slip differential.. it doesnt eliminate slip all together but minimize it..

AYC and Attessa is a diffrent thing all together, traction control is electronics... LSD is mechanical.. it might have some similar function but it is different.. plus GTR's Attessa is different altogether with AYC of Evos..

Originally posted by crocky@Apr 6 2005, 23:22
oic..no wonder, on first gear one my car steer to the right, then gear 2nd gear steer to the left. I hope after installing lsd does help.
[snapback]875014[/snapback]​

depend on ur car engine...how much hp will be generated...if just small power,i think stock gearbox enaugh...
:D

ATESSA comes with ETS..mean that we can control the power distribution at front and rear tyres (ex : 50%REAR - 50% FRONT)by using ex. HKS ETS controller.standard setup can distribute power automatically at front and rear when the ecu feel needed especially when taking corners.power distribution is quite important in handling.so the ATESSA-ETSed skylines isn't all-time 4wd like evos.

as i know the AYC on evos only control the rear traction and LSD controlling front traction via built in LSD on gearbox.or am i wrong here?

btw, the Z-TUNE skyline used oilcooler to cool the oil in atessa, way too cool!!!

Originally posted by gibod_78+Apr 6 2005, 18:50 -->
QUOTE(gibod_78 @ Apr 6 2005, 18:50 )
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/unsure.gif alt='unsure.gif' />
[snapback]874227[/snapback]​
[/b]

Based on this forum, at www.tamparacing.com/forums/printthread.php?t=205894, the test not apply to helical lsd. BTW, Euro R come with helical lsd. Any other way to check?.

Does Evo 1-2 comes with lsd? I know evo 3 got it..but maybe kedai potong take it out first

Originally posted by Grixism@Apr 7 2005, 21:37
ATESSA comes with ETS..mean that we can control the power distribution at front and rear tyres (ex : 50%REAR - 50% FRONT)by using ex. HKS ETS controller.standard setup can distribute power automatically at front and rear when the ecu feel needed especially when taking corners.power distribution is quite important in handling.so the ATESSA-ETSed skylines isn't all-time 4wd like evos.

as i know the AYC on evos only control the rear traction and LSD controlling front traction via built in LSD on gearbox.or am i wrong here?

btw, the Z-TUNE skyline used oilcooler to cool the oil in atessa, way too cool!!!
[snapback]877489[/snapback]​

helical LSD... to check.. if you spin one wheel.. the other wheel will spin the other direction... why you ask? quite hard to explain without diagrams..
go do a search on TORSEN LSD ... these are the same LSDs that are found in the Audi Quattros...

:)

I thought AYC works by using LSDs to split torque? Different thing altogether.

What I basically understand about the subject is differentials are there to make the outer and inner wheels spin at a different speed during a corner, since the outer wheels have to cover more distance than the inner. But it doesnt take into account wheelspin at high speeds, hence if one of your wheels loses grip in a corner the same amount of power is still transferred to it, as if it still has grip. So in a high speed corner you would lose some traction and stability.

LSDs however will transfer less power to the wheel who loses traction, and more power to the wheel who still has traction. So if your inner wheel gets too much power and starts to spin the LSD will transfer some of the torque to the outer wheel, allowing the inner wheel to slow down while the outer wheel catches up. This improves traction in a corner.

A few types of LSDs are viscous, clutch-type and Torsen differentials. Viscous LSDs uses liquid to transfer torque so it lags before activating, but is cheap to maintain while Torsen (Torque-sensing) differentials is fully mechanical so the response is instant, but is very expensive to manufacture. Audi's Performance Quottro 4WD system uses Torsen Diffs, but lately they've started using Viscous diffs on luxury cars also with the badge Quottro for marketing purposes (very jahat). Clutch type diffs I dont know, sifus please enlighten. https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif alt='smile.gif' />

My 2 sen.
All hail Quottro. All hail ATESSA.

Ooooo....quottro is Audi's LSD....i already hear about that,but dunno anything....i think AUDI TT uses that system...one more....can all sifu's here tell what alfa romeo SELESPEED....thanks...

zeroed had explained everything, so nothing else to add. :)

btw Jusoh, Quattro is Audi's trademark of saying 4WD. their first model was Audi Quattro coupe(also available in Turbo and Group-B racing specs) back in mid eighties, and won the WRC not long after. since then, other manufacturers had jumped in with their own 4WD versions rally car. Lancia Delta Integrale followed in 1987 and became world champion. so as Mitsubishi with their 4WD debutant in 1988 the Galant VR4 turbo. it wasnt easy though for VR4 to become world champion as it has to compete with Lancia and Toyota's Celica GT4 (also 4WD). only in 1992 when then CN9 Lancer evolved as the Evolution and with the help of Tommi Makinen, Mitsubishi enjoyed being on top of competitions.

oh yes, Audi came up with 4WD versions of their entire range cars. Audi 100 Quattro, 80 Quattro, 90 Quattro, 200 Quattro even the Avant models have Quattro version. oh yes, Audi 100 in 80s is A6 now. 80/90 is A4 while 200 is Audi A8. The Quattro versions now known as either S4 or S6. alamak, topik lari laa...sori everybody!

Originally posted by Jusoh+Apr 6 2005, 19:28 -->
QUOTE(Jusoh @ Apr 6 2005, 19:28 )
FF and FR 2WD is called LSD... 4WD i think is AYC because not too sure about the function
[snapback]872704[/snapback]​

AYC is not for ordinary 4WD car but it's like trademarks for Evo's...like ATESSA for GTR's...correct me if i'm wrong... https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/rolleyes.gif alt='rolleyes.gif' />
[snapback]874344[/snapback]​
[/b]

if i am not wrong Mitsubishi relies on 2 technologies to keep Evo in traction...SACD and SAYC...Super Active Central Diff is to allow front rear torque splits much like LSD but for front and rear power distribution while AYC helps to apply brakes or power towards which wheel which looses or has more traction...

i understand that SAYC takes into account vehicle speed, individual wheel speed, throttle position and steering position to help adjust the car...meaning it will enable the car to turn the way u turn the steering making it as neutral as possible...

this technologies are what they so call active LSDs...i think Impreza has less electronics and opted to use 3 LSDs instead...

--QuoteBegin-Grixism
@Apr 7 2005, 21:37

[snapback]877489[/snapback]​
[/quote]

i thought only Skyline's HI-CAS system uses the oil cooler...those exported skylines has special fitted oil coolers under the diffuser to cool the HI-CAS hydraulic oil...

basically...LSD could be said to help a car launch out of a corner faster...maximizing all its power...it also helps to cut down understeer in FF...FR i have no idea...being never driven 1 before..