Loud S-flow mufflers

nitrus ,sky: thanks..just given a final touch on my exhaust system with that sflow muffler...still far from sky's car..

i agree with that backpressure not giving any advantages coz backpressure is what we dont want from our exhaust system...backpressure is also known as one of the restrictions of our air flow. Mods done on our exhaust system are supposed to smoothen and increase the exhaust flow rate. But, the thing is, too high flow rate and too low flow rate will cause trouble to us. So, what we do is that we make sure in the middle we maximize the flow rate and then use sflow as our muffler to regulate the air flowing out. If we use straight flow, yes..exhaust comes out faster and loud noise ,but, you're actually pushing ur engine to work faster and thus, create more power with a result of bad FC.Thats my logic. Correct me if im wrong ..i also wanna learn more. Maybe my mods have problems also..

what i mean by maximizing the middle flow rate is like extractor(4-1 or 4-2-1),bigger pipings in diameter,the length of ur pipings which all taken into account.

Enslaved said:
backpressure DOES NOT create more torque, just an impression of it....less backpressure is good but should be accompanied with other mods like intake, headers, piping size...
i also not vr sure about back pressure lar... heard from some guys only... mayb they conned me... mind to explain more how back pressure works and how it affects the car performance???....
yah, i've done up my exhaust (4-2-1 extractor, midbullet, piping)....

kweng84 said:
nitrus ,sky: thanks..just given a final touch on my exhaust system with that sflow muffler...still far from sky's car..
huh??... what thing far from my car??....

air filters and those u DIY stuff ler...so cekap! anyway, whats ur size for ur front piping and back piping? what muffler u using?sflow or straightflow?

Search the net or check out Honda-Tech, hondalife sites for articles on this. Basically, if exhaust gasses are able to be drawn out of the engine with less effort, the accompanying vacuum at the tail end of the outgoing exhaust gasses will help to pull in fresher air in to the combustion chamber, increasing volumetric efficiency for a stronger burn resulting in more power and torque.

As i explained earlier, you need to match the exhaust, header and intake to get it right. Point to note, Proton's special edition wiras and satrias come with slightly bigger bore exhaust pipings...why? reduce back pressure for a slightly freer flow and resultant increase in hp.

cheers.

enslaved: whats the best piping size for iswara? this is my setup..

4-2-1 ....1.5" ori piping....bullet....1.7" steel piping....twinpipe sflow

do i need to change the 1.5" ori piping? any opinion?

kweng84 said:
air filters and those u DIY stuff ler...so cekap! anyway, whats ur size for ur front piping and back piping? what muffler u using?sflow or straightflow?
haha... no cekap ler... vr easy DIY only.... anyone also can do....
front piping and back piping??... not sure ler... but back piping i guess is about 1.75" ler.... didnt really measure it... using straight flow muffler.... noisy weh, but so far no problem with police block.... kekeke....

SkYwAlKeR said:
haha... no cekap ler... vr easy DIY only.... anyone also can do....
front piping and back piping??... not sure ler... but back piping i guess is about 1.75" ler.... didnt really measure it... using straight flow muffler.... noisy weh, but so far no problem with police block.... kekeke....

Yeah yeah, i agree. Bro skywalker very very good DIY. Me very very dar from both of you.:cry_smile:

Give a straight flow for your middle piping with no bullets. Give it a try first. If want to add a bullet is easy maa. I am not using any bullets, 4-2-1 with a S-flow muffler. FC still remains if didn't press. Just tested 3 times. If press, hahahahahah! RM0.20 per KM.:cry_smile:

me no good at DIY la... jz now i wanted to knock my rear arch... jack up the car adi, unable to remove the tyre... hahaha... the lock too tight adi, i no strength ler... i vr skinny only, should go gym more often and build up muscles.. hahaha....

then, i resort to cleaning my K&N filter... now my filter havent dry... jz now went out without using air filter on my carb... throttle play feel vr light... hehe... but dangerous lo if got stones and pebbles masuk my carb...

Knock? Why not roll with steel pipes? It's much more easier and nicer. Knock will have more risk of uneven surfaces.

ken: 20 sen per km very cheap liao...i dun press 3k-4krpm, 25 sen......if i press 5k-6.5krpm,31 sen.....lagi teruk....u should be glad la..

kweng84 said:
ken: 20 sen per km very cheap liao...i dun press 3k-4krpm, 25 sen......if i press 5k-6.5krpm,31 sen.....lagi teruk....u should be glad la..

Wow, 30 cents per km? That's a little too much if it's a 1.3 or 1.5 engine. Try to check the carbie. I clean it every month with WD40. Last time i use the carbie cleaner sold by those spare parts shop. Lazy to buy liao. Just use whatever i have,:confused_smile:

Tune it a little leaner. Maybe it helps. Not too lean.:cyclops:

SkYwAlKeR said:
??... how to roll with steel pipes??... sifoo, teach me....

You mean that you want to knock the arches? Steel pipes can do a really good job. Last time i roll my friend's daihatsu charade before. Make sure you find a small steel pipe. If big one will cause paint cracks.:shocked:

ken: how to clean carb? normally i will bring it to service every 5months. Will the mechanic clean for me or i need to DIY? how to DIY? got any website teach us?

Hello bro kweng84,

It's very very easy. Open up your air filter, ask someone to press minyak or you pull from the carbie, then spray those WD40 or carbie cleaner into the carbie. You will notice that white smoke will be chocking out from the exhaust. Do this until you fell like it's clean. Easy~~~ Hahahah

Don't let the engine stalls. Just press and spray. If it dies then start back lorr. Just troublesome.

sky: the steel pipes are used for CAI setup? bytheway, is there such thing as air-pump to pump air into the engine chassis? how to pump air into the engine chassis of iswara ?