Life of timing belt

magixk

Hi bro,

Got a noob question here, what's the lifespan of the average timing belt? Is it different for different cars? 1.8 cars belt is what lifespan?

Also, how to check when is time to replace it? Recently I took out my timing belt and inspected it closely. I bend it over 90degree, didnt see any cracks. The ripped area still feels rough. How do I check it?

Thx bro.

timing belt's life spent is about 80000 km one.. hrm.. u cant really see the condition of it actually.. there might be some microscopic cracks invisible to the naked eye..

So bro what you mean is, definitely need to change it after 80,000km? No need to check the condition of the belt at all?

Hmmmm....... I had a 1.8l car but the specified mileage to change it is 60,000km. I think the timing belt lifespan varies for different car manufacturers.

Even 80,000km is recomend to change, but i prefer at 70,000km, and prefer to change 1 set with Bearing.... lets think, whn u idle ur engine, ur mileage meter wont moving, tats y i prefer 70,000km, hehe...

dun wan end up with overhaul tis and tat~

yeah.. practically yes.. i guess the life spent of timing belt for any type of cars is all de same.. cheers..

as what my mechanic told me... i have to change mine every 60,000km.. for Wira 1.5

chypher, supernova is right, the mileage travel is the common guideline for all engine running timing belt.

and of course, it also depends on quality of the timing belt, your driving pattern, where you park your car.. etc

to play safe, change it every 60K.

You are lucky if you change yours when you see this.
http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/5651/belt15cbc178tb9.jpg

60,000km
after that it all depends on luck. I've seen ppl driving their whole life without changing timing belts.....
anyway, even my foremen suggested just follow strict to the rule; i.e. milleage. He said's unless it's severe; u wouldn;t be able to detect the defects.

i think it is depend on which travel mileage u purchase la

got 60,000km , 80 k and 100k
it is safer to change it earlier before it reaches da mileage la

cz sometimes during traffic jam or while u r waiting in da car ur engine is running wat and da meter is not running :)

got ori and fake...normally people buy imitation timing belt...dont mind spend more like buying mmc timing belt...can last 100k yours safe...that is if u dont always play high rev...

For me, i'd stick to the 60,000KM before changing. It doesn't make any sense to drag it and test your luck. Normally when you change timing belt, you should also change the bearing and water pump at the same time.

I just serviced my timing belt yesterday. The spare parts shop I went to buy the timing belt, showed me a few selections.

One is a cheap belt, duno wat brand, say can last until 30,000km, cost RM45. Next is a normal 60,000km belt from duno wat brand oso. This one is about RM100. Then another one is from Mitsubishi, cost RM185 but only up to 60,000km. Then last one is from Mitsubishi oso, RM265 but can last till 100,000km.

I bought the average one, the RM185 from Mitsubishi for my 4G93P engine. When changing timing belt, I also got to know that need to change the bearings, cost about RM45 for only one. Then 3 pieces of a "ring-thing", duno wats it called for RM5 for one piece. It's the ring where the cam pulley sticks to the engine.

As for waterpump, i didnt change cost i replaced it last time when it was leaking...

Also, when I was watching the mechanic change the timing belt, I also noticed there are 1 more bearing below the bearings that I changed. The mechanic told me this bearing at the bottom no need to change, eventhough both are same kind of bearing...Is this true?

at KK, no nid to worry too muc bout traffic jam, so still ok bout it.... but im sure i will buy a branded timing belt to ensure safety for my engine

Timing Belt lasting or not also depends on : how long hrs an engine work & quality of the belt

For my case, traffic jam 2 hrs per day in the city is common, although mileage is low, but engine usage consider high enough.

My last change @ 50,000km interval already can see cracks on the fake brand (non-ori) brand belt. (Color wording on the belt already worn off by half)

How to see whether its ori or not ori belt?

Rub the color wording on the new belt, if its non-ori, the color wording can be rub off a bit or smear a bit. If its ori one, rub until u torn ur skin also it will still remain there.

So, recommended 60,000km for city drive with ori-qlty belt & change the bearing & rings altogether for each belt change.

FYI: 2nd hand car dealer change only the ring, not the bearing, & they use non-ori belt as well to cut cost, so 2nd hand car beware lar.

Normally change b4 the reccomended lifepsan.
But if it breaks b4 it reaches the lifespan dun feel strange. It does happen when u r unlucky.

within a span of les sthan 1/2 year already got 2 cases timing belt broke on the road....
1 happens to my wira 6A10 my bro was driving. The other one happened to my friend in Nilai on his way back to Muar.
Better be safe than sorry.....
once timing belt broke; u basically need to overhaul ur engine and if valve has croocked; gotta change those valve which is around RM 20-30 per piece...u do the math!