Legendary AE86...

Actually AE86 not that legendary in the world la. It is probably legendary in japan only. Then other countries adopt the legendary status and called it worldwide legend. How could 6 years in demand and being put in the limelight be legendary. If not for Best Motoring, Hot Version, Tengoku and Option, the AE86 is just a forgotten automotive relic.

I can remember growing up in the 80's there were many many more nice 2 door cars running about compared to the 86. And back then the only COOL car was Knight Rider' KITT. What was an 86 back then? What was drifting? My uncle used to have a Mitsubishi Galant Sapporo coupe back ni the 80's. Its rare, its nice. How about those 80's civics that sold by the bucketloads. And then there are the Nissans/ Datsuns coupes. I thought they were great nice looking cars. Although i can't drive that time, i wish i could own that Sapporo.

And we only see a major influx of interest to this car only early early 2000. Gradually turn this car into something or gold, diamond and platinum. Prices go high with demand. But old cars don't age well like wine. Meet Mr Rusty on the body. Junkyard quality 20 years on.

I think the AE86 doesn't deserve the title legendary. Maybe 10 years more. when the car is even harder to come by and the car won more events, and automotive events are easily available to everyone. Then i would gladly accept the AE86 as legendary. But not now. It is an overhyped car by some cartoon/ movie.

If there was a Toyota that was legendary, it has to be the Toyota Celica ST185. It was the car that won international rallies. It was the car that got banned for being too fast. When there is a car like this with more credentials than the AE86, how could the AE86 be legendary? You tell me!!

celica too fast and got ban? izit the same incident as when toyota "cheat" on the turbine design to kinda bypass the turbo restriction rule to give it more power to the car and then kena caught and banned? sorry my memory abit mix up, dunno which one is which.

anyway i think teh ae86 is over-rated, but then again i'm thankful for its popularity making it easier for me to get performance part. downside is it cost more than it should lar.. sigh~

netmatrix said:
Actually AE86 not that legendary in the world la. It is probably legendary in japan only. Then other countries adopt the legendary status and called it worldwide legend. How could 6 years in demand and being put in the limelight be legendary. If not for Best Motoring, Hot Version, Tengoku and Option, the AE86 is just a forgotten automotive relic.

I can remember growing up in the 80's there were many many more nice 2 door cars running about compared to the 86. And back then the only COOL car was Knight Rider' KITT. What was an 86 back then? What was drifting? My uncle used to have a Mitsubishi Galant Sapporo coupe back ni the 80's. Its rare, its nice. How about those 80's civics that sold by the bucketloads. And then there are the Nissans/ Datsuns coupes. I thought they were great nice looking cars. Although i can't drive that time, i wish i could own that Sapporo.

And we only see a major influx of interest to this car only early early 2000. Gradually turn this car into something or gold, diamond and platinum. Prices go high with demand. But old cars don't age well like wine. Meet Mr Rusty on the body. Junkyard quality 20 years on.

I think the AE86 doesn't deserve the title legendary. Maybe 10 years more. when the car is even harder to come by and the car won more events, and automotive events are easily available to everyone. Then i would gladly accept the AE86 as legendary. But not now. It is an overhyped car by some cartoon/ movie.

If there was a Toyota that was legendary, it has to be the Toyota Celica ST185. It was the car that won international rallies. It was the car that got banned for being too fast. When there is a car like this with more credentials than the AE86, how could the AE86 be legendary? You tell me!!

isk isk isk isk.... dier tak ader lar tu!!!

sifoo sham,

agreed with ya........muahahahahahahahaha.....

....there's just too many losers out there who keep on ranting here and there about the 86 being over-rated and/or overpriced.....

they ought to know that they shouldn't wear shoes that are too big for them.....there are other choices out there....

there are cheaper junks, if the 86 junk's too expensive for them....

one man's poison is another man's meat.....

and they shouldn't get any parts related to the 86 at all...since they're complaining how expensive 86 parts are.....as if there's no demand, then the prices will drop....

sigh....all a bunch of losers.....

mike..

alamksss... got supporter ler!!!!

don't mare ok!!! j/k onli!!!!

yours oso trueno mar... abang!!!!

cheers...

Arrrjoooo! Why la people don't read properly wan? hahahaha. But expected liao, internet mah. No matter how legitimate, its always the eyes that does the skimming. hahaha. Not to blame anyone.:X-:

Aiyooo! Sham, see la you fire starter. Go buy fire dragon la. hahaha. I know u wanna have fun. I mean no problem la. I know i dun own 86 like you *waahhhhhhh, sniff sniff*. hahaha. I own some rusted 47. hahaha. Damn! See the chassis code also know its a POS. hahahaha:confused_smile:

Derrick, Arrrjoooo!!! I didn't say over-rated. Haiya, i'm not those guys who come up the internet and post something bad about 86. I know what i'm doing. I appreciate old cars too. I know what rated means. Thats why i said over hyped. Its different. I know what you are talking about. I mean i own the cheaper junk too!!! hahaha. Sometimes, i find it not fair, when my cheaper junk share so much similar components the more modern 86. And i end up paying more for parts. Erk!!!:Not_Impressed: Anyway off topic, my shoes are size 10. hahaha. I think you forgotten that i was the oversized guy who pulled out a cone stuck in the front fender of your car last year in DCM events. hahaha. :shades_smile:

Rollakid, yes they were banned because of turbo restriction. Also cars back then had about 400hp and they were saying its was too fast and dangereous. Slap the team bans for a few races. There goes the team championships.

Anyway, everyone dun take heart la. Its just my soapbox rant. Once in a while gotta test my debating powers. hahaha.

mike,

kekekeeee... hehehh.. hoohohoooo...

was waiting for the fire to come....

suddenly... whoa....

but then.... people recognised the 86 thru "cartoon".. and more recently that 'jay chow' movie....... but then actaully the one to blame is ... sifu keichi tsuchiya.."

he the wan started ler.. but whatever it is... the cost of toyota parts is getting more expensive cos.. lots of ppl are converting to toyota....

then again becoz of its "lasakness"..... that's why ler...

you AK47 still lasts.. mike...

kekeee...

cheers....

My AK47 enemy direction finder just got welded. The front undercarriage lah. hahaha.

Where got fire? I was just having a bottle of octane booster that i was going to douse on the guy who smokes alll the time. hahaha. *cabut*

malas wanna explain.... this topic all over the net.... sifu derrick can explain why its so good after driving one ya :D

walla...
piece of junk can be a gold...
only in hot rod...
muahahahaha...

master keichi should be blamed for making the 86 too famous liao....LOL....

sifoo sham with his fire-thrower....all better look out.....LOL

sifoo net, errr....i forgot liao la sifoo...sori i din say thanks to u....cheers bro...

sifoo jonn, errr...i'm not sifoo level la.....

anyway, IMHO la, a stock 86 is equivalent to a mildly strengthened KE70....

me?? sifu...

where got!! didn't drive the 86 daily oso..... jonn the sifu ler.... derrick oso...

heheeeeee......cabutt.... before kena "tembak" lagi!!!!

what ae86...
not fast laaa...old junk only...
if so good, why never do another one like AE86a or AE86b
muehehehehe...how much aaa nowdays the price for one ???

uik...
sudah lekat aaa honda seg...
don't lekat laaa...i was joking only maaa...:X-:

7 days night shift...
7 days day shift...
14 day only working per month :shocked: :shades_smile:

wei..wei.......Ae86 just crap ler.............wanna fight with my friend Petronas sponsored ke70 kaaaa????

wahlau wei.....ke70 chasiss standard is equal to roll cage ae86..........poodah la ae86!!

hahahahhahaha

sifoo zul,

dun la put me high high on the table......

btw, how's ur kid? long time no see...mana sembunyi la?

GT20v said:
wei..wei.......Ae86 just crap ler.............wanna fight with my friend Petronas sponsored ke70 kaaaa????

wahlau wei.....ke70 chasiss standard is equal to roll cage ae86..........poodah la ae86!!

hahahahhahaha

ha ah!!!

i used to say that osos last time....!!!!
and who ar want to up my car price ????? kah kah kahk kahaaaa!!!

oi abang zul,

lama tak nampak ... mana pi!!!
cheers....

Aiya... I know la sham your car is like gold. Will hold the value well for a long time. Like that i have to find 20 sets of very very rare FR wheels. Keep them in pristine condition for 10 years more, and i could still sell them for a handsome profit. hahaha.:baring_teeth: :regular_smile:

e39a, haiya me not sifoo la. SeeFatt got la. Anyway waiting to see you & your petronas sponsored mobile in action. hahaha. :_:

zul long time no see, because he also got project.... jeng jeng jeng....:secret: