It's time to let it go......

If got budget then no problem. Most of us can own street car at the start and that is what we can mod upon.....lol:biggrin:

Like me, I play around and mod my 3rd Gen Accord and my wife's then wira. After the accord I lay hand on my Galant and from there the mod start to differ. All concentrate on it to become a VR.....lol:burnout:

Bro, I also been thru the same route like you.... I find that after spending thousands, the car is not a lot faster and power increments was like 10-15% the most. My suggestion was to get a high performance platform and start from there. Ringgit per horsepower increments are more 'worthy' for high performance cars :)

that's where seam welding helps:biggrin:

These extra welding is still legal within JPJ rules isn't it?

It was 4A-FE. I've spent a lot on mods. 0-100 was very fast eating up the Satria GTis back then. If I am not mistaken, it was 8.2 secs and still achieve 12km/L!

For a 116hp 4A-FE to mod until it eats up 140hp 4G93 is quite remarkable.:adore: I thought not many people bother to mod 4A-FE.

Bro, I also been thru the same route like you.... I find that after spending thousands, the car is not a lot faster and power increments was like 10-15% the most. My suggestion was to get a high performance platform and start from there. Ringgit per horsepower increments are more 'worthy' for high performance cars :)

Just in terms of spare parts, location to fix/maintain and parts cost is the problem. If one can handle these factors, then no problem going for real high performance cars.

Heard before about you owning a 2 door Accord before but never heard before about you modding your Wira. :biggrin:

2 door accord or considered 3 door hatch was my 3rd car. 3rd Gen Accord received a down draft Weber installed with adapter. Wira got replica steering, extractor and open pod but carb type...:biggrin:

Could it be this Accord? Looks like your Accord is a fun car to drive. Twin or single Weber?

honda_accord_aerodeck_1_86.jpg

These extra welding is still legal within JPJ rules isn't it?

For a 116hp 4A-FE to mod until it eats up 140hp 4G93 is quite remarkable.:adore: I thought not many people bother to mod 4A-FE.

Just in terms of spare parts, location to fix/maintain and parts cost is the problem. If one can handle these factors, then no problem going for real high performance cars.

I have the following modded on my 4A-FE.
- Full exhaust
- Ignition upgraded
- Intake (HKS)
- Lighten flywheel (drill holes la... haha)
- Clutch upgraded
- Read disc brake conversion from Levin

In terms of low rev torque, it's more powerful than the 20V blacktop 4AGE. Tested before.. the blacktop has to be revved for power.

Stock Satria GTI no doubt has 138hp & claimed 0-100 in 7.8 secs, in reality it's a lot slower, especially the second batch with Siemens ECU. It was a lot slower.... the MMC one was better.

I have the following modded on my 4A-FE.
- Full exhaust
- Ignition upgraded
- Intake (HKS)
- Lighten flywheel (drill holes la... haha)
- Clutch upgraded
- Read disc brake conversion from Levin

In terms of low rev torque, it's more powerful than the 20V blacktop 4AGE. Tested before.. the blacktop has to be revved for power.

Stock Satria GTI no doubt has 138hp & claimed 0-100 in 7.8 secs, in reality it's a lot slower, especially the second batch with Siemens ECU. It was a lot slower.... the MMC one was better.

Er, basically your mods are quite standard or mid range. I thought you went quite crazy with the mods like doing engine internal mods. But then, it seems that the performance hike is quite worthy as you said it can catch up with Satria GTI.

For my 4G15, I've heard before people going for even more serious mods than your 4A-FE. They did what you did and still add on more things like
- 4G18 (Waja 1.6) Crankshaft
- 77mm pistons from campro engines I think
- Port and polished head
- Oversizing the valves
- High cam
- Larger throttle body (From Perdana SEI I think)
- Larger capacity injectors
- Fuel regulator

But then again after all that, I'm still not sure if the 4G15 can catch up with Satria GTI.

True about SOHC engine having better low end torque than DOHC engines.

Well, the flywheel and clutch makes A LOT of difference in terms of acceleration...

And mind you, 4A-FE is DOHC 16V EFi ya, not SOHC :)

In stock, it has ... (from Wikipedia)

Engine displacement: 1.6 L (1,587 cc)
Layout: DOHC Inline-4 (Straight-4)
Valves: 16, 4 for each cylinder
Redline: 6300 rpm
Compression ratio: 9.5:1
Fuel Delivery System: TCCS or MPFI

North American market engines:
113 hp (84 kW; 115 PS) at 5,800 rpm, and torque 101 lb·ft (145 N·m) at 4,800 rpm

European market engines:
105 PS (77 kW) at 6,000 rpm, and torque 105 lb·ft (142 N·m) at 3,200 rpm[14]

Asian market engines:
116 PS (85 kW) at 6,000 rpm

And this is a pic of my 4A-FE.

attachment.php

It's far compared to 4G15 in terms of potential back in 1996.

• AE111_05.jpg
    AE111_05.jpg
    154.1 KB · Views: 273
Well, the flywheel and clutch makes A LOT of difference in terms of acceleration...

And mind you, 4A-FE is DOHC 16V EFi ya, not SOHC :)

In stock, it has ... (from Wikipedia)

Engine displacement: 1.6 L (1,587 cc)
Layout: DOHC Inline-4 (Straight-4)
Valves: 16, 4 for each cylinder
Redline: 6300 rpm
Compression ratio: 9.5:1
Fuel Delivery System: TCCS or MPFI

North American market engines:
113 hp (84 kW; 115 PS) at 5,800 rpm, and torque 101 lb·ft (145 N·m) at 4,800 rpm

European market engines:
105 PS (77 kW) at 6,000 rpm, and torque 105 lb·ft (142 N·m) at 3,200 rpm[14]

Asian market engines:
116 PS (85 kW) at 6,000 rpm

And this is a pic of my 4A-FE.

attachment.php

It's far compared to 4G15 in terms of potential back in 1996.

Sorry, my memory have served me wrongly. Forgotten that 4A-FE is DOHC.

Clean looking engine. 4-2-1 extractor? I like the way you did the heat shield for the air filter.

So, after this car, you jumped into Airtrek?

Sorry, my memory have served me wrongly. Forgotten that 4A-FE is DOHC.

Clean looking engine. 4-2-1 extractor? I like the way you did the heat shield for the air filter.

So, after this car, you jumped into Airtrek?

Yes, it's a 4-2-1 extractor and yes, I made the heatshield to isolate the filter from heat.

Haha yeah, all my cars, engines cleanliness is VERY IMPORTANT. My cabin and car too, I take really good care of it. I remembered I wax my AE111 weekly when I washed it last time. That's how much I care for it.

Nope, after this car was a brand new 2005 Nissan Sentra 1.6 SG (N16). Then I sold my Kancil and got Wira Aeroback and then Airtrek...

Yes, it's a 4-2-1 extractor and yes, I made the heatshield to isolate the filter from heat.

Haha yeah, all my cars, engines cleanliness is VERY IMPORTANT. My cabin and car too, I take really good care of it. I remembered I wax my AE111 weekly when I washed it last time. That's how much I care for it.

Nope, after this car was a brand new 2005 Nissan Sentra 1.6 SG (N16). Then I sold my Kancil and got Wira Aeroback and then Airtrek...

The heatshield does help in performance?

A lot of care, effort and time have gone into your cars. Those who bought their cars from you are considered lucky.

Looks like you have changed a lot of cars. I guess you are not that young now. :biggrin:

Er, basically your mods are quite standard or mid range. I thought you went quite crazy with the mods like doing engine internal mods. But then, it seems that the performance hike is quite worthy as you said it can catch up with Satria GTI.

For my 4G15, I've heard before people going for even more serious mods than your 4A-FE. They did what you did and still add on more things like
- 4G18 (Waja 1.6) Crankshaft
- 77mm pistons from campro engines I think
- Port and polished head
- Oversizing the valves
- High cam
- Larger throttle body (From Perdana SEI I think)
- Larger capacity injectors
- Fuel regulator

But then again after all that, I'm still not sure if the 4G15 can catch up with Satria GTI.

True about SOHC engine having better low end torque than DOHC engines.

You're talking about both modded or the 4G15 modded vs a stock 93p SGTi?

Well that's what I am trying to tell, the original engine potential has it's limits. You can throw in thousands and yet still yield very little power improvement. The engine base that is making the difference here... :)

You're talking about both modded or the 4G15 modded vs a stock 93p SGTi?

For me, I am referring to modded 4G15 against stock 4G93P.

Well that's what I am trying to tell, the original engine potential has it's limits. You can throw in thousands and yet still yield very little power improvement. The engine base that is making the difference here... :)

True, especially for NA engines. More specifically those ordinary engines without variable valve timing. You can't even improve much power.

Could it be this Accord? Looks like your Accord is a fun car to drive. Twin or single Weber?

Oh wait! mine was 2nd Gen Facelift. Thought it was 3rd Gen, because 2nd Gen here was 1.6, mine was the 1.8 model. 3rd Gen with pop up headlights....
Did not change inlet manifold just use adaptor so only single down draft weber.....:driver:

If against a stock 93p, confirm can beat based on the mods you listed at your previous post

Really? But there are so many things holding the 4G15 back compared to the more advanced 4G93P. 12 valves, single cam, lower displacement...

Oh wait! mine was 2nd Gen Facelift. Thought it was 3rd Gen, because 2nd Gen here was 1.6, mine was the 1.8 model. 3rd Gen with pop up headlights....
Did not change inlet manifold just use adaptor so only single down draft weber.....:driver:

This one is it? Looks abit like AE86 from far, hahaha. There is one in Ipoh with the famous AE86 black white two tone paint. Don't think this model is still popular to mod anymore nowadays.

http://gcarlo.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/1982-Honda-Accord-3-door-hatchback-United-Kingdom-leather-seating-power-windows-power-sunroof-and-door-locks.jpg

This one is it? Looks abit like AE86 from far, hahaha. There is one in Ipoh with the famous AE86 black white two tone paint. Don't think this model is still popular to mod anymore nowadays.

http://gcarlo.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/1982-Honda-Accord-3-door-hatchback-United-Kingdom-leather-seating-power-windows-power-sunroof-and-door-locks.jpg

Nope, this is 2nd Gen 3 door. I had 1st Gen 3 door then 2nd Gen 4 door facelift....this one

So, you bought two Accords before? By the way, what is the price of Accord during those days?

I was into Honda those days. Had the 1st Gen. Civic, 1st. Gen Accord, 2nd Gen Accord and may have continued to 4th Gen Accord the SM4 if the 2nd hand prices had not been so high. This was the time I bought the Galant instead......lol
2nd Gen Accord was bought at RM40k, that was 2nd hand and 4 year old, and you know what that was the selling price when new. Those days you sell 2nd hand don't loose at all, because 3rd Gen Accord price went up to RM60k plus.....:smokin:
My 1st Gen Accord bought 3rd hand at RM12k, I sold at RM15k.....lol:biggrin:

I was into Honda those days. Had the 1st Gen. Civic, 1st. Gen Accord, 2nd Gen Accord and may have continued to 4th Gen Accord the SM4 if the 2nd hand prices had not been so high. This was the time I bought the Galant instead......lol
2nd Gen Accord was bought at RM40k, that was 2nd hand and 4 year old, and you know what that was the selling price when new. Those days you sell 2nd hand don't loose at all, because 3rd Gen Accord price went up to RM60k plus.....:smokin:
My 1st Gen Accord bought 3rd hand at RM12k, I sold at RM15k.....lol:biggrin:

Till now, SM4 still quite popular. Our famous fstrader unker Fred bought one recently, haha. To me, I prefer the looks of SV4. No other Accord had that low slung menacing front look...

What? 2nd hand car selling almost same price as it is during new? Today, Accord's price jumped to 140k as starting price. :mad:

You made yourself some earnings on the 1st gen Accord, hahaha. I have a relative who still drives the 1st gen Accord. My granduncle's son. My granduncle bought it new last time and passed to his son many years ago. The son currently is nearing 50 years old now. The son only got that 1 car throughout his life until now. Accord king. :adore:

Write your reply...