Intercooler place adjustment

nick,

nope not yet.. that wan gotta run with NOS also if not will be too sluggish.. by the way its Evo IV not Evo VI intercooler.. u got it the opposite way round.. so nick where did you install the nitrous kit to your Jazz? ada power?

shawn,

who said I got NOS ? stock only lerrr ..
my type of car not meant to go fast one. :(

well..back to the main topic though..

Shawn,

in ur situation it would be different, assuming u did ur FMIC after u upgraded ur turbine AND..the FMIC u using is somehow a much bigger one compare to the OEM ones..i'm not very clear on ur car specs though..with the same turbine + a bigger i/c and ur explaination, I understand y u have to decrease the boost due to the a/f settings..

but looking at L9turbo's main concern..everything remains standard except that the standard i/c is relocated to the front..even with the same diameter for the i/c piping..i guess perhaps can upboost a lil' to compensate the longer route of air traveling to the t/b?err..how about upboosting another 0.2bar?or even just 0.1bar?

btw, i heard that to do the FMIC, u need to actually relocate the battery to the back..for kancil miras..due to space contrains...and how's the charges for doing the FMIC piping eh?

Hehehe.. thanks for bringing it back on track. Yeah.. I was thinking of upboost by a little. BTW, wat's the stock boost for L7?

To answer ur previous question, boost will still kick in at your previous RPM point. However, I'm pretty sure that Max boost will come later & OEM settings.

Yup, late but furious.... Myself, I prefer the tekan & jalan feel more. Cost driving the in the city mah..

Yeah.. me too. I go for better pickup. So no point having big numbers.. but all at the back end of the RPM range. Lag for me... is a bigger problem.

if for pickup, it's best to keep it back at top mount.

Philip,
it's all about the man behind all the custom job creativity. i didnt reallocate my battery to the trunk. i just shift it 2 inch away from the original place. i did mine for rm$500 (all 2" stainless steel piping)

but looking at L9turbo's main concern..everything remains standard except that the standard i/c is relocated to the front..even with the same diameter for the i/c piping..i guess perhaps can upboost a lil' to compensate the longer route of air traveling to the t/b?err..how about upboosting another 0.2bar?or even just 0.1bar?
my opinion la.. like i said.. you will get colder air.. colder air means higher oxygen density charged air (per cubic inch of air) so if the tuning is for top mount previous, it would be useles by now what more upboosting (it get leaner) and for your information, with my turbo drawing 1bar of pressure compared to L9turbo's stock turbo drawing 1bar of pressure, we're getting different volume of charged air (per cubic inch) since i have a bigger compressor housing forcing in more air at the same amount of boost pressure.. hehe summary: boost pressure and the volume of air flow is 2 different thing..

just my 2 cent

that one is HI la.. LO is 1bar only.. by the way Nick, dont deny about the nitrous kit ler.. people who know u personally already start circulating your 1.5 VTEC with NOS liao.. B) u even showed TODA6866.. :P

ermm..i do understand ur point..

logically, lag is certain, as mentioned, how much is the lag would be the question..

but base on Shawn's experience, lag would be pretty much "none" or perhaps the difference is too little..instead of worrying abt the lag, another issue would be the leaner mixtures due to higher oxygen density charged air(the word is so long)..in L9turbo's case i think with a leaner settings should still be ok..

soo..up boosting would not be a good idea..perhaps a L5 ball bearing can help?

i guess we still need to wait for L9turbo experiment results..*white mouse lor* :P

Hehehe.. yeah.. Have to wait till i have done it.. Plan to leave it at stock boost after doing the FMIC. Then do a dyno test. Then use it for a dew weeks. Then upboost later. :)

Originally posted by equin0x@Oct 22 2004, 00:56
that one is HI la.. LO is 1bar only.. by the way Nick, dont deny about the nitrous kit ler.. people who know u personally already start circulating your 1.5 VTEC with NOS liao.. B) u even showed TODA6866.. :P
tau tau sudah la. :lol: