Intercooler place adjustment

L9Turbo

Let's say.. all things being stock... for L7 engines, the I/C is top mount. If i bring it to the front.. using the same I/C or similar size, turbine still the same. Will there be any increse in lag? Power drop/increse? reason being, i dunt wanna do a air scoop. Pls advice.. tq.

da manufacturer design da intercooler as a top mount for a optimum perfomance...if u bring it to da front, u may experience a lil lag as the air its travel increased...

Yeah.. tot of tat. But some pple say no lag. Some say will increse lag.

wait
by logic - further distance = lag
but HOW MUCH lag is the question. it can be so minimal your bekside wouldn't feel the difference.

also if you front mount the i/c, more air goes to it and it is away from engine heat. so that is a BIG PLUS.

so,
a BIG PLUS less a SMALL MINUS = PLUS
so probably u get betta performance in the end?
*shrugs* my 2 cents though

HHmmm... Ccl... u have a good point there. Might give it a try. Aprox cost?

Pls update us after you have done the FMIC..

VERY interested to know about the performance..

Thanks!

cost ah.... not sure ah...
probably 100-200? depending on how much piping needs to be custom made ma. like mine the stock piping was there and i just need to make 2 more to go to under the bumper.

previously my i/c was between the radiator and the aircond cooler.

i see... ok thanks. Will post the results after i have done it. :)

colder air intake = more power output..

not much of a problem with me..

Yala... our Daihatsu sifu just done it... However logic dictates that u should experience some amount of lag. Open up ur bonet & u should see that there is little to no distance between ur turbine & intercooler & response is as such. Once u move it over to the front, with the piping diameter being the same, then ur turbine must spin longer to attain the desired boost. Therefore, lag is for certain, how much is the question.

i dont find it lagging for response (my turbo still kick in at that level of RPM so where's the lag?). what i felt is the power response is more linear. dont feel the 'stick-to-the-seat' kinda kick but the meter is rising fast. with bigger diameter of piping and bigger piece of intercooler as compared to stock one.. the flow would be much smoother (unlike the stock restrictive one where the air would be like gushing their way in to TB)

So lets say.. i use back the original L7 intercooler? but place it at the front?

but equinox is using hybrid turbo rite?not standard already..did u up boost after changing to FMIC?

I think its good to upboost after FMIC. However.. i am more concern abt the RPM that the full boost comes in.. not wat is the power when at full boost. No point having boost at 4K RPM, its too late.

Originally posted by L9Turbo@Oct 20 2004, 14:35
I think its good to upboost after FMIC. However.. i am more concern abt the RPM that the full boost comes in.. not wat is the power when at full boost. No point having boost at 4K RPM, its too late.
Nothing is too late, even some using TD04 the boost comes in after 5k, but hell the ending will go to 9k.

juz my 2 cents

PRO|ancer[GSR],

thanks for the comment! cheers!

Philip,

I decreased the boost level instead. Reason being is, the OEM intercooler is very restrictive, and I've fitted a higher flowing core which can lead to overly lean mixtures as the volume of air flow across the intercooler core is much larger. Coupled with cold air as well as high oxygen density charged air (per cubic inch of air) may result in detonation. However, in this scenario, enriching the fuelling (tuning lagi...) will effect in a pretty large power increase.

So at the mean time, will lock the beast first before unleashing it during tuning.. :ph34r:

equinox, so hows the TD05 twinfin you bought ?
you install the turbo and the Evo 6 intercooler already ?