Installing ECU

rayz85

heyz bros... kinna new here.. heard from my friend that my stock wira 1.5 auto if were to install with a ECU will make pickup faster and stuff.. don really trust his word..at least hear from u guyz are better... how much does it cost? how much hp can i gain from it? and if i were to install ECU.. wut other parts should i change? my car is completely stock... hope u guyz can help me out ;)

Ermz ... I think your questions is quite general bro ...

1. Install a BETTER ECU, yes it would improve the performance of the car despite it being auto ... if tuned correctly ;)

2. As for cost, what ECU are you planning to install? RalliArt ECU? ProTech? HalTech? MoTech? Microtech? Different ECU's has different advantages and disadvantages. If you do some research over the entire ZTH forum (sorry I forgot which section) ... there was a thread about discussing different ECUs and etc.

3. Where's your location? I think there are several members here from different states of Malaysia!

So, hope this helps to narrow down your research about upgrading your ECU

thankz for da reply...stil blur..heheh.. sorry ...
i wanted to get a RalliArt ECU... or maybe something better... what can i get for 1 to 1.5k? im from pj, selangor

dat day i saw mivec Rs ECU selling at RM700.... good or not 1?

ECU can fit on any cars right?

Originally posted by rayz85@Jan 28 2005, 19:17
heyz bros... kinna new here.. heard from my friend that my stock wira 1.5 auto if were to install with a ECU will make pickup faster and stuff.. don really trust his word..at least hear from u guyz are better... how much does it cost? how much hp can i gain from it? and if i were to install ECU.. wut other parts should i change? my car is completely stock... hope u guyz can help me out ;)
if your wira is 1.5 GLi, you already have an ECU ler :P

if it's a carb, u need carb to EFI swap

Originally posted by soulfly+Jan 29 2005, 11:42 -->
QUOTE (soulfly @ Jan 29 2005, 11:42 )
--QuoteBegin-rayz85
@Jan 28 2005, 19:17

if your wira is 1.5 GLi, you already have an ECU ler :P

if it's a carb, u need carb to EFI swap [/b][/quote]
hahah...yea.. i kinna did some research over da forum and mine i think its siemen ECU ark.. not really get performance out of it.. 2nd thoughts after readin da forum saying that u need change this and that... den i heard bout those controllers such as SAFC and stuff... how does it work on a stock car like mine? if best budget below 1k including installations and stuff ler.. valentine coming...anniversary coming... bday oso coming..aihz..

i think the best wuld be SAFC since ur car is stock as i know it is the cheapest..usually if ur car is mildly or heavy mods den it is worth it to go for good ECUs or piggybacks..it is a waste if ur car is stock and all of a sudden go for management wen actually ur car stock ECU is good enuf for ur stock performance..unless u mod ur car wif high cams, PnP, balancing, big pistons, metal gasket and etc...den wen u need to re-tune ur engine fuel and air, thats the best time to get one or else jus forget it and gif me ANGPOW...ehhehe..

save that money for rainy days if i were u..and moreover those gadgets are kinda hot stuff nowadays,lots of break-ins and stuff lidat..Management missing here and ther...meters all gone, car stolen and stuff lidat..eeww..scary...

Hmm ur friend must've thought u've modded ur engine kaw-kaw that a programmable ECU is a MUST
1. Re-chip/Remap ur stock ECU - Matspeed J5 is an example
2. Piggyback - eg SAFC

taqu : well said there...it is not worht it to go for management if ur car is near stock..it is better to do sumother stuff to make it more worth it and more feel..like high cams, campulleys, PnP, balancing, etc...and ECU shud come later after those mods..or Matspeed J5 is not bad..heard got lots of user too..

thankz for ur replies guyz... i was jz wondering.. if i were to install SAFC.. wut brand should i go for? how about the cost?