4-Throttle/Quad TB on Proton, anyone done it?

taqu

Dec 17, 2004
Just wanna know if anyone had done it on Proton, be it 1.3/1.5/1.6/1.8. Kindly share ur experiences in terms of :

1. What components u used
2. Installation experience
3. Tuning, do u use stock ECU or piggyback or programmable ECU
4. How the car behaves? eg Bad idle? High fuel consumption? No pickup? etc etc

Just asking coz I'm looking onto doing it on my 4G1x engine in future. Thanx.

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
last time my fren wira 4g15 got put tis 4 turtle :D body also...the sound damn damn cun...

from wat i noe...he's scratching his head day n nite researching way 2 tune it....(his a mech himself)...n when he noes how 2 tune edi....his timing belt snap n goes 4 4g91 dohc....n sold his 4 turtle :D away....

monmon

Mar 13, 2004
Constant move
I remember from a previous thread that this topic was talked about, and there were pics too. Drax guys right? Please re-appear hahaha i wasn't able to find the thread through the search.

I remember it was a quad throttle from a toyota 20v engine that was used.
Would like whatever is necessary fabricated for me to fit it onto my mivec head.

mivec's ecu are tuneable so not much of an issue on that.

please pm me with contacts, thanks.

dolly

Dec 24, 2003
can use on turbo oso! but you'd have to custom make your intake plenum or whatchacallit thingy. if you check out one of the turbo mags, got 3sgte with 4throttle from a 20v, damn chun

AlucarD

Jan 15, 2004
Yes, incidently RPW has a set for proton and yes can be used with turbo. Fully programable ECU is recommended, I chance on once someone actually kawin a 4throttle 20v with the 4G93.. its a screamer!!!

monmon

Mar 13, 2004
Constant move
RPW does a lot of stuff for our protons. but the price just ain't malaysian. WAY WAY too expensive. if u;re driving a proton u probably would think so. if u were driving a merz and doing a proton up, then it's ok

Originally posted by AlucarD@Apr 7 2005, 22:27
Yes, incidently RPW has a set for proton and yes can be used with turbo. Fully programable ECU is recommended, I chance on once someone actually kawin a 4throttle 20v with the 4G93.. its a screamer!!!
[snapback]877599[/snapback]​

cipan_supercas

Feb 4, 2004
www.draxecu.com
Originally posted by monmon@Apr 7 2005, 14:32
I remember from a previous thread that this topic was talked about, and there were pics too. Drax guys right? Please re-appear hahaha i wasn't able to find the thread through the search.

I remember it was a quad throttle from a toyota 20v engine that was used.
Would like whatever is necessary fabricated for me to fit it onto my mivec head.

mivec's ecu are tuneable so not much of an issue on that.

please pm me with contacts, thanks.
[snapback]876355[/snapback]​

have a look here
http://zerotohundred.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=43548

That was what we did to prove our capability.
The 4 throttle was from Toyota and we did the tuning for the ecu.
No piggyback was used because the ecu was chippable.
Tuning was done in about 2 hour before playing around in Sepang.
I'll try to get the onboard video of the 4 throttle testing.

Using 4 throttle on a Mivec will be awesome like Honda because it uses
MAP sensor instead of air flow sensor.
Monmon, u have my no. Contact me if u need assistant. :)

Cheers.

monmon

Mar 13, 2004
Constant move
i just bought a toyota 20v quad throttle and a 1.8 inlet manifold.

took it to the machine shop. it will all be fabricated.

direction, chop the inlet manifold after the the injector holes.
remove the quad throttle individually, and it will be welded to the inlet manifold via a fabricated aluminium adaptor.
fabricate a plenum for air intake.

that's really all, but there's a lot of work involved in maintaining the correct gap so that one tarik, the 4 throttles will open.

those interested, can contact me in a months time to look look see see.

How much is the insurance for a 2000cc car and above? Anyone can provide me a list? I am considering to get a 2000cc car but have to look into the insurance, maintenance and other considerations before I buy one. Thanks.