ICE pull down engine power

mirage2929

hi, do u guys think installing ice will pull down the engine power. If it is, will changing to a bigger power battery do any good? I am currently using maintenance free NS60 series.

My experience, yes it does pull down the engine power even if u don on the radio. I think its becoz of the power cable + fuse attached to the battery.

Any comment + suggestion?

got such thing kah..???
i know my fren car play ice edi underpower lah...
but tats also bcoz his boot wit 2 12" sub n 4 10" sub mah:D

the only possible reason i can think of is that the weight of his subs, enclosure and amps. even that, a mildly ICE setup car shouldn't be that heavy till it affects the power top weight ratio unless of coz you're talking about 8 x 15" sub woofers with 8 x 1000 RMS amps and so on.

i couldn't feel anything...

so ground ur car.. and put capacitors... add another pivot sound... ehehehe...

but at nite... lights on, aircond on, ice on.. when aircond compressor kick in
the idle drops and engine like struggle badly. headlight also dimmer.
that's b4 i install the capacitor.

after installed, no worries.

usually when playing loud music, the amps tend to pull more power from the alternator, sometimes it can goes to 50A. Then the alternator need to pump in more current and engine performance will suffer. Currently i have a 60A alt to my amp and when listening to songs after sometime you can hear the alt. will struggle to supply power and engine rpm will increase by itself. Usually when car is idle with engine running, your car electricity will be at 14V floating.

changing to a bigger battery does not solve this. Changing to a bigger battery will only gives you extended listening when engine is off. Changing your alternator is the only way to solve this.

The weight of the enclosure may also provide extra weight. A normal enclosure for a 12" may weight 10kg.

for caps, i think its already been discussed in this forum and also IASCA forum. I wont touch on that.

So, should F1 driver also reduce their weight so that their car can run faster?
IS weight of those ICE equipment can really pull down the car power..
So, those installed with car and above 90kg driver, their car will be under power as well? hmm..........

power over weight ratio mah..

sure there's no F1 driver more than 100kg 1 rite:D

thanks to all replies,

I have personally tried taking out my ice power cable from the car battery and i can feel the difference. I only have one 5 channel amp wt 1 10inch subwoofer, 1 set of 6inch front comp speakers. My concern here is not to increase my ice power play, but to prevent it from dragging my engine power.

If a bigger battery doesn't help, what else??? voltage stabiliser?
lets discuss

first, formula 1 drivers will never weight 90kg or more. they have to be very lean and fit so that they can fit inside the cramp seat. imagine a big ass driver, how is he gonna get inside. i remember last year there were a couple of malaysian journalist who were selected to drive an actual but de-tuned formula 1 car. they had to endure strict fitness selection before they were allowed inside. no surprise when none of them were considered fit enough to drive those cars due to overweight. also, f1 drivers need to be fit so that they don't faint under strenous conditions. most important are their neck muscles which undergo strenous forces.

you're right to say that if a driver is quite huge and installed with big ICE equipment, his power to weight ratio will be smaller therefore the car will feel underpowered. as it is now, when i pump full tank, my car accelerates slower than when i have quarter or almost empty tank. worst still when i'm carrying 3 guys inside which averagely weigh 70kg each.

devil said:
So, should F1 driver also reduce their weight so that their car can run faster?
IS weight of those ICE equipment can really pull down the car power..
So, those installed with car and above 90kg driver, their car will be under power as well? hmm..........

The heaviest F1 driver I can recall is Nigel Mansell!!
Yes, weight does matter a lot in the car performance, that's why deciding on quanity of fuel in qualifying and on actual race becomes a winning strategy.
IMO, the weight of your ICE equipment matters more than the electrical power consumption.

I guess those who is really into ICE will not really concern about car performance.
Cos performance car usually generate a lot of engine sound which influence the overall SQ huh .. hehe!

hey hey, last F! race.. Michael Sch. really great.. pump lots of fuel when starting. and yet still able to catch up so much... from 12 to 3. and get 2nd in the end!

most of the racing cars... even drag racing.. they lighten their cars.. even the bodyparts were made of light carbon fibre.

last time, i'm using two subs in car.. with big enclosure. when i sold off that subs and enclosure... lifted them up and pass to fren. on my journey back home immediately feel the car pick up faster. no kidding.

devil, u're right... SQ and performance car doesn't come together... only SPL with performance car. ahaha. i'm now suffer a lot. whenever my car start moving.. i couldn't hear bass anymore. even vocal. need to turn volume up and up.

Girl pickup and SQ also hardly can co-exist... hahaha ..
Girl pickup only co-exist along with performance car & SPL.... hehehe ....

mirage2929 said:
thanks to all replies,

I have personally tried taking out my ice power cable from the car battery and i can feel the difference. I only have one 5 channel amp wt 1 10inch subwoofer, 1 set of 6inch front comp speakers. My concern here is not to increase my ice power play, but to prevent it from dragging my engine power.

lets discuss
what car are u driving in the 1st place? well, maybe my ICE gear doesn't suck up alot of power yet but haven't notice this due to ICE, but used to be so power lag when my A/C compressor kicks in and it takes some time to recover from that. Perhaps u're on SPL setup?

mirage2929 said:
thanks to all replies,

lets discuss

nah! voltage stabilizar does not help. it only stabilize you floating voltage. The main thing is the source, your alt. Bigger battery means that your alt. will work extra hard on charging the battery and also supply electricity to your car and amp. I learn that upgrading your power cables and use a quality battery connecter will increase your current efficientcy.

want more power? pasang turbo lah.

a/c kick in, engine struggle... this mostly because the a/c comp is running on belt to the engine. that' why engine idle will drop a bit. this is wht i can think of...

thanks for all replies again,

I am driving a mivec 1.6 wt no modification. To test my claim, u guys on ice should try unplug the power cable from the battery, see whether can feel any power increase.

Some advert claimed voltage stabiliser can increase engine torque, and bla bla.
Just gimmick?

My ice is on SQ setup.

mirage2929 said:
Some advert claimed voltage stabiliser can increase engine torque, and bla bla.

Just gimmick?

Not all VS are gimmic and not all are able to perform as claimed as it is car and driver dependent. With DYNO test it is definately not gimmic but to shows u the potential of the VS on torque improvement without having to burn more fuel. ;)

anyway, glad to know that you're on SQ setup. :cool:

get at least a 125 amp altenator for SQ more power better dun worry bout it cos mivec 1.6 definately can hold up to that cos my friends kancil 850 also dump in 90amp altenators , if possible get car audio batt like optima , svr , varta etc ... if not at least those gel type batt ns 70 ..... and also check when u off radio is ur amp off or not ????

Write your reply...