I manage to fix it!

satria_95

I finally managed to fix my satria's auto cruise! Tested it and it works. Hell yeah!

For those who have a faulty auto cruise, and the problem is that the auto cruise cable has snapped, you can actually attach it back. However, it depends on where the cable snaps. Will have pictures uploaded as soon as I can.

Or perhaps we could have TT and I can share with those who are interested to know how I fixed mine. :)

hey! i was thinking of doing it too....but it will be of trial and error.

so, sifu.....please teach me!

Really? I've never got a chance to use it since I got my car almost 3 years ago. It would be nice if you can post those pics and guidance on how to attach the cable. Thanks

i hope to fixing mine too.. cos the auto cruise cable i already pull out and thinking to take out the whole auto cruise system. if really can fix back thats good idea.......... never use before also

eh,we want the picture...how you do arrr??

got some other guys have some problem with me??the auto cruise seem to be so "lembik" and jatuh??

whoaa... the auto cruise so faulty meh? hmmm...

blacksamurai.. what did u do wit the stick? shove it up something ar? hahahaha.

ehh, wanna know if anyone know how to DIY auto cruiser??...
i mean build one from scratch, not repair...

verticallimit,
If you already pull out the cable, I don't think there's much that can be done ler. The cable needs to be there to work.

reddice,
Actually, I think your problem could be like mine. If the cable already break, and you press the "SET" button on your auto cruise, it will not hold at that current speed, cos the cable is not holding back the throttle. Take a look at the pics below. Then check your car to see if the cable has broke or not.

BlackSamurai,
What? How in the hell did the auto cruise stick break la? You're refering to the stick behind the steering wheel, right?

SkyWalker,
I think it's quite hard to DIY an auto cruise. Check out around the net and see. There may be aftermarket auto cruise available.

Proton Satria 1.6L manual auto cruise

Here's the pictures.

Picture 1
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y212/Phototakeraptereosaurus/pict1.jpg
The auto cruise cable is like a bicycle brake cable. It is then connected to balled-cable (whatever you call it).

Picture 2
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y212/Phototakeraptereosaurus/pict2.jpg
My problem was that the balled-cable broke at the part marked with green circle. One of the "ball" broke from the gold colored cable-joint, which kinda "converts" the ball-cable to the "bicycle brake cable" type.

Picture 3
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y212/Phototakeraptereosaurus/pict3.jpg
Refer to picture 3 for closer look at cable-joint. I removed the broken "ball" inside the cable-joint, and then reconnected another "ball" from the ball-cable into the cable-joint.

When you accelerate, the throttle cable will be pulled. This will then control and open the butterfly valve in the throttle body. Notice that the auto-cruise cable is parralel with the throttle cable.
While driving at, for example, 100 kmh, and you press the "SET" button on the auto cruise, the auto cruise cable will retract until it holds the throttle cable in place.

Understand ar? heheheh

nice job...

you guys bought a car with cruise control but never used it... sheeh:biggrin:
its a summon saver if you ask me... set it below speed limit and relax your foot.
the cruise control will maintain the speed uphill or down hill.. so no worries of going over the speed limit on the highways..

my cruise control problem is that it is intimitent... sometimes work and sometime not...
so need to check the electricals... hopefully not the wire snap...
but my cruise control cable looks abit diff thant your lar satria_95... but havent taken a closer look.

anyways cheersss
p/s guys use the cruise control... its great for long trips on the highways

satria_95, good job!
we need more posting like this. :)

my Auto Cruise stick is the 1 that behind the steering wheel.
zephy, dun get me wrong, i didn't break it, sent my car for washing, and the bugger broke it.
But before that incident, the Auto Cruise stop functioning.

nice job bro...

last week my brother also told me he face the same prob... this might help him..

free bump

BlackSamurai said:
satria_95, good job!
we need more posting like this. :)

my Auto Cruise stick is the 1 that behind the steering wheel.
zephy, dun get me wrong, i didn't break it, sent my car for washing, and the bugger broke it.
But before that incident, the Auto Cruise stop functioning.

i was thinking u made love in the car seat...driver's side. he he he..sorry haa black samurai.

dont ask me to do ear squat ok? tired laa...

Grim,
I think there's many different types of cruise control so I've only saw the type that's installed in my car. hehehe My problem is actually a very simple one. Cable snapped and it looked like it can logically be repaired, so I tried it. Fortunate for me, it worked. This is perhaps just 1 of many other problems of a cruise control. hehehehe

BlackSamurai,
Thanks dude. Check with accessories shop to see if they know how to replace a stick. If yes, maybe you could try to buy the stick of someone's faulty cruise control which is of the same model. Then take to accessories shop and see if they can fix back the stick. Hope you manage to do it dude. It's quite fun using the cruise control, although I used it only 3 times for testing. Don't want to use it when travelling around the city. Scared the cable break beyond repair hahaha

kaam,
Thanks dude. Hope your bro will get it fixed up to. :)

If we all happen to TT and meet each other, just let me know. Maybe we can take a look at the faulty cruise control and see if we can fix it. Besides, unity is built even with just the sharing of something simple, that could probably mean something to the other person. :)

zan said:
i was thinking u made love in the car seat...driver's side. he he he..sorry haa black samurai.

dont ask me to do ear squat ok? tired laa...
i'll need mpv to do that in the car, hehe.

ear squat? no lah, i'll ask you pusing balik, show me your butt :reddy: and :ridinghor hehe.

satria_95 said:
BlackSamurai,
Thanks dude. Check with accessories shop to see if they know how to replace a stick. If yes, maybe you could try to buy the stick of someone's faulty cruise control which is of the same model. Then take to accessories shop and see if they can fix back the stick. Hope you manage to do it dude. It's quite fun using the cruise control, although I used it only 3 times for testing. Don't want to use it when travelling around the city. Scared the cable break beyond repair hahaha

:)
thanks for the suggestion, dude.