HP gain from High Compression Pistons

hattech-v has mentioned the price in this thread. please scroll up.

ikyellow said:
erm.bro.....can tell me where can i get the new set of ctr piston?10q

ikyellow said:
where can i get ctr new piston n piston ring?i mean in kl or pj

Near pudu KL, there is an authorised Honda Parts Stockist that may still have the CTR pistons and rings. I bought a set from them sometime in Oct. Can't remember the price, you might want to give them a ring 03-92228868, Ah yes, look for Ah Kit and tell him you are Chris friend and ask him for better price.

so, about RM 700.00 for standard bore CTR pistons + rings, installation another RM 100++ or so, gasket summore whether still OK or not. then, for more improvement with CTR pistons, must machine head ( intake maybe enlarged a bit for more airflow, exhaust area cleaned up a bit, then best machine the intake manifold too! summore have to match the exit of the intake manifold + the inlet of the head's intake ports ) then, throttle body must change or enlarge to about 64mm or so ( the buttefly must change also lah! ) and what about the ECU? kuang 3x, at least RM3k down the drain, rite? :mouth_closed:

10q bro...............:)wah......not onli put in the piston ah?still have lots to do ah.wah.........

ikyellow said:
10q bro...............:)wah......not onli put in the piston ah?still have lots to do ah.wah.........

off course la.. bigger lungs need bigger nose, bigger mouth hehehe:_:

Johnny_9 said:
Using High Compression pistions to increase compression ratio from 10.7:1 to 12.0:1 - how much would the WHP gain be if you were already using racing cams?

- 5 WHP? :confused_smile: :shades_smile: :secret:

Hi there, i dont use/tune honda but hope this helps. 12.0 pistons can only be utilise by chamber work, otherwise no point using that pistons but have to retard the timing :regular_smile: . It's all about the setup, you can use highest comp pistons but gain a few horsepower only, but some can use high comp pistons but gain big horsepower. The key is on the head.

Normal fuel and high comp piston didnt go very well, they knock early. Compensate that with chamber work (head gasket can remain), once you managed to get it right, you will get high comp + high ignition advance without the knock = big horsepower.

Your race cam is what degree and duration ? FYI cam selection must base on your compression, like high comp. can pair with high duration cams, and std. comp pair with low duration cams.

hmmm...sound difficult to play with compression....better increase displacement with the same compression ratio...rather than increase the compression just to end up with knocking problem....or maybe most of vtec tuners oredi aware of this issue...anyone care to explain further ?

the selections of pistons available locally are limited. furthermore, the pistons are based on a certain setup which is commonly done and tune (makes life easier for tuner). the best to use pistons that is meant for your setup and your target horsepower. going rojak all the time aint always the good thing. in other words, belanja lebih sikit. order from the states.

Oderf said:
hmmm...sound difficult to play with compression....better increase displacement with the same compression ratio...rather than increase the compression just to end up with knocking problem....or maybe most of vtec tuners oredi aware of this issue...anyone care to explain further ?

No point having more displacement while maintaining std. compression, it's like having high comp piston with 3 layer gasket:regular_smile: . The results is minimal.

The reason ppl opt for high comp pistons is to get more horse, so they must learn how to "optimise" the thing.

how bout increase displacement and high compression? heh heh

What is "chamber" work? Is that pistons or headwork? Please give details.

lilvee said:
how bout increase displacement and high compression? heh heh

i bet this is the way to go...2 liter with higher than 10.4:1 compression ratio ...whaalllahhh..........:X-:

today's weather is really on sleepy-mode :)

i'll try to explain in layman's version as possible since im no sifu. well normally the results of porting the combustion chambers are so the valves are "unshrouded" . you can find this mechanical meaning on the web. this again can improve flow, increase the combustion chamber volume and lower the compression ratio. when the pistion is at its closest approach, the splashing action on the flat portions force a turbulent jet of mixture into the combustion chamber. usually the better mixture burns more efficiently and is more resistant to detonation. the piston should approach as close as practical in order to maximize this effect, but clearance is needed to allow for piston motion rock, thermal expansion, etc. the compression ratio can get too high unless the combustion chamber is made large enough. more volume can be made by cutting large valve relief pockets in the top of the pistons. In order to keep the compression ratio down.

probably other sifus wanna share their views as im all ears.

What you mention was true, wow so much technical knowledge you have there:regular_smile: im speechless. I wonder,,with all the knowledge of yours, why do you need my advise on mods, frankly ?

v8_nutter
koz im impressed until to this day, furthermore its not a honda :) probably
you are too far away if not we can always compare notes. nothings wrong
to learn about other brands. keep it up bro!

V8_nutter said:
What you mention was true, wow so much technical knowledge you have there:regular_smile: im speechless. I wonder,,with all the knowledge of yours, why do you need my advise on mods, frankly ?

What i did is watch my mechanics do his thing . Frankly he (mech) didnt even surf the net, didn't read performance book and the final results is merely by "trial & error". Timing also done by hand & did it on the back of his workshop (at night somemore).

But what i impressed was, the owner, the mechanics & me can talk & give whatever ideas & shit that we can think of for the car improvement. We did change & design the xtractor alone 7 times & not to mention the piping size & lenght. We fabricate the Intake plenum 4 times with 4 different design, frankly. Until the workshop is become like kedai potong like that.

For me, the speed comes from trial & error, solely comes from it, no bull.

i understand from where your ground is. i am doing the same trial and error thing too which friends of mine think im ridiculous sometimes, all the time actually. i believe i have more to learn both practical and theoretical(lacking of friends to share) and decided to venture into being a guinea-pig. the risk is ALWAYS shadowing me.

i believe you have an upper hand when it comes to prototyping especially the exhaust header setup which im keen to know all these while. the budget is just not there when it comes to being creative. ure lucky i guessed.

its no myth that getting things done in reality is more important than drawing a rocket on paper.

probably too much bull around here that makes too ppl tend to get confused. haha

ps. 4 times? what runner length are you running now? :)

intake lenght!! dis is gonna be fun :) did the airflow characteristics change drastically wit each setup, bro v8_nutter? dat was y u change d design 4 times, ya? what went wrong wit ur previous 3 setups?

From our previous setup, there always be something wrong with the power delivery. 1st design is not good at all, power start at 5600 aboved, engine response is bad and no tourque at all. 2nd design is when we make it longer, response is improve but power is "ok only".

3rd design is much more better, we design the inlet trompet "again" & the time dropped from 13.5 to 13.2. Last design (secret) is the best so far, power started from 2000 than flat on the middle, then rush at the top rpm. Timing went from 13.2 to 12.6.

seem like this topic keep coming up... eventhough the petrol prices increase 30cent... but i bet it will never stop us to increase our ponies to the max.

v8_nutter.. its look like u r doing ur own r&d in designing intake header and exzos manifold .. just wanna share if u can copy this design...

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e63/alilvee/allmotorenginebay2.jpg

the intake header using "velocity stack" method and the exz manifold call "street sweeper"...

This setup produces 254whp from B18Cr engine with 86mm x 89mm @ 13:1cr, 70mm TB, and bla..bla...

After this u can ask that the fasters Pantai Timus B16vtec to have frienly match...