HP gain from High Compression Pistons

ace79 said:
then ngape let go / tk pakai lg? u bought it brand new ke 2nd. nice header, pakai spring connectors tu...masa pakai header Toda ni, what engine specs that u were running?

i bought it new..3k+, was running on 2L

HanafyEG said:
i bought it new..3k+, was running on 2L

ok, so a 1.6 wouldn't yield as much improvement lah then.. :Not_Impressed: what's the exit internal diameter for Toda's?

Toda 82mm or 81.25 will be nice

if budget got for b16b 81.25 piston jun 3 can ,balance bottom nicely portted head .. yuo will alot diff

dont make compression too high as your engine wear and tear will be faster

reg

Jasper said:
Toda 82mm or 81.25 will be nice

if budget got for b16b 81.25 piston jun 3 can ,balance bottom nicely portted head .. yuo will alot diff

dont make compression too high as your engine wear and tear will be faster

reg

Toda B16A headers got 2 diff exit inlet diameter size ( 82mm / 81.25mm ) meh?

yep, list includes B16B pistons, but is 81.25 is standard bore? Don't want to rebore block, too risky.

bottom end balancing...takut lah, maybe budget for ATI damper.

a PnP'ed B16A head + B16B pistons + 2 layer gasket : how's that, too much compression?

Oversize Valves

Johnny_9 said:
What is "chamber" work? Is that pistons or headwork? Please give details.

Answer ?

The reason for this simple. They install oversize valves with out doing the matching bowl and valve seat machine work. This is such a common mistake.

Nightmare Scenario - spend all your money

....at get lousy throttle response in the mid range and huge power in the last 1500 rpm !!

guys, using this compression tester, what is the reading?
is that the correct reading for b16a compression?

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b159/hattech/Temp/compression-b16a.jpg

the psi rates may vary. it can be between 190-230psi. doesnt mean you get 190 ure sick, just that there are so many things involved in the process. as long u get a consistent rate all along the board, its should be ok. +-20psi in between is still ok. dun forget also, theres so many kedai-potong halfcuts in hybrid cars which has never been stripped down and never entirely ovehaul.

let say the engine just beign overhauled assuming its healthy, whats the psi rates it suppose to have?
for 16a, 16b or 18c?
the consistency that u mention is for all 4 piston?
what if got one piston with lower compression then the other 3?

hattech-v said:

Ya, like what J101 said the consistent among all cylinder is important to show that engine is healthy and no significant wear on just one piston or so.. The higher the figure the higher the compression ratio or higher the number the less compression lost you have.

My mech did the similar compression test a copule of weeks and my B18C shows 3 cylinder at 250 and 1 cylinder at 245. So it was pretty consistent and no significant compression lost.

the standard way to determine your cylinder #3 is to do a leakdown test after compression test. if the results are no more than 20% it should be okay. if its more, then something is releasing air somewhere. bent valves? worn out rings? and etc.

i believe the tuners in sunway are already using the snap-on compression and leakdown test kit.

hattech-v said:
what if got one piston with lower compression then the other 3?

hattech-v said:

It's ok for a road car, but for race use must get closer to 250.