How Much Boost can a GTI hold

beeboy

Hi all Sifu,
How much boost can a stock GTI engine hold without lower comp but with unichip and fuel reg.

i tink 0.6 can do with strong internals and metal gasgets..
the EMS only 0.35 rite ? erm.. im not sure

... push it and u shall see some pistons flying :lol:

just follow what the other thread says lar, either get gsr internal or go get that toyota supercharger piston from halfcut shop... no reason staying stock and wanting to boost high...unless you plan to claim warranty after u blow ur pistons

thanks guys, hmm now after checking and adjusting the actuator can boost beyond 0.4 already. just want to know how much can a stock engine hold.
Thanks anyway. and btw which is better toyota supercharge piston?? GSR piston?? or rebore and fit rb8 piston??

I know someone boosting 0.8 bar with stock internals but with turbo gasket la.

Without the turbo gasket... i suppose the safest boost you go up to is 0.5... but u'd better damn well have a good engine management system man... to make sure there's enuff fueling going in.

p/s: unichip ain't enuff... probably need extra injectors + controller, bigger injectors... etc etc. The higher you boost... the more you'll need to spend man!

Good luck on your project

0.5 enuff ka? i bet u will craving for at least 1.0 bar dude. 1.5bar? whoa... vushhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh psssst... ahahaha... dem syiok la...

but later if some pistons flying dont blame me arrr ;)

boost is an addiction..

u'll start off with 0.3bar.. then after awhile... u want more... 0.5... then
a day or 2 passes by... u'll be begging for more.. 0.9... then 1.2.. then
1.5.. then 2...

wahh... steam

yeah, boost is like booz and boops :lol:
u can never be satisfied forever

wah... a bit out of topic right?... not everybody is born in a rich family and can boost high mar... else everyone will be driving a skyline.

Anyway.... GTi totally stock i believe could go 0.5bar with proper fueling... if you run 0.7 or so, it'll be good for a couple of months (maybe even only weeks) before your gasket starts to leak. Turbo gaskets should be able to run fine up to 0.8 bar with stock internals.

no need to drive Skyline to have 2.0 bar ma ;)
with the right engine+proper setup+good mechanic and the most important thing, RMs, everything should be fine.

like black howling sed, boost is an addiction.
step on the pedal you see the boost meter naik up to the limit then kapishhhhhh...
whoa....then later didnt satisfied eh why la until 0.7 bar only nia ma... i want longer pssh........... then send it to your trusted mechanic, then he said it can be done just add this and that then up she goes again.... 1.2 bar.... vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvkapish..........after a while... eh... can it go up to 1.5 bar...try again... yeah it can be done...... vvvvvvvvvvkapish.... next thing u know either u can achieve 2.0 bar or more or lots of problem comes as a result of over boosting ;)

just my 2 cents

skyline...whatfor, toyota supra man~

btw what is the stock thickness for gsr gasket?

Originally posted by EG8@Nov 17 2004, 17:45
alvin24,
dont get angry :P
hahaha... yea la man... i oso dunno why i angry... !! Must be moody la that day... muahahahaha! Anywayz... its pretty frustrating when people ask one question, but others give out irrelevant replies... =)

normally GSR onli using standard 0.8mm gasket.....same with other wira gasket