Honda/Nissan/Toyota second-hand car

invisibleghost

Personally if i would buy second hand car, I would not go for Honda as I always think Honda perfomance won't last long although I also like Honda. I think Nissan is a better bet than Toyota coz Toyota is more expensive in second hand market. Futhermore Nissan has a reputation of being durable(before Renault took over). I prefer a car that is not too old(around 5 years). I like to soup up my car but my financial status does not allowed me. Ok, back to the question, which brand is better, Honda, Nissan or Toyota for maintenance cost, FC, problems, etc. I know the question is too general but maybe all the sifus here can list out the pro and con for each make. For my budget, I think it should be Sentra, Civic or Altis. Or maybe Cefiro, Camry or Accord (all 2 litre model). The look of those models is not a issue to me. thks. Feel free to show your expertise

if you want to buy a car, it is best if you buy from your friend or relatives because at least you know the condition of the car. buying a car from 2nd hand dealer has it's own risk. whether you buy honda/toyota/nissan, either one you bought is not in good condition and ends up in workshop rather than with you. and hence, you will saying that honda/toyota/nissan is not good. my father bought a 15 y/o honda civic twin carb EX seems like ok, my brother bought a sentra, about 7 y/o car, well... it is very comfortable and myself bought a Toyota SEG, yes i soup it... but i know that my toyota is more fun driving, in handling, than my bro's and dad's car and not to mention the power output of course.

yes, i have a friend (well i know his whole family members) who works with the insurance, his own company, helping me to find a good conditioned car, if you like i can direct you to him... very friendly guy!

Originally posted by 4agze@Mar 28 2005, 08:06
yes, i have a friend (well i know his whole family members) who works with the insurance, his own company, helping me to find a good conditioned car, if you like i can direct you to him... very friendly guy!
[snapback]845757[/snapback]​
Actually I dunnoe any dealer. gimme his number, thks

2nd hand cars...depends on luck also...don't ferget how u manage the car too :D

Originally posted by chinozie@Mar 28 2005, 16:22
2nd hand cars...depends on luck also...don't ferget how u manage the car too :D
[snapback]847415[/snapback]​
i dun understd abt 'how u manage the car'?? So, what shd I do to avoid a lemon car??

Well, guess now the million dollar question. How to avoid a lemon car? I dunnoe any dealer or individual who wants to sell their cars. thks

Originally posted by whiteprince@Mar 28 2005, 19:32
toyota the most reliable....
0 defects
[snapback]848001[/snapback]​

i dun believe in 0 defects :P :P :P

but now the headache part. how to choose a good second hand car ;) ;)

Originally posted by invisibleghost@Mar 28 2005, 03:37
Personally if i would buy second hand car, I would not go for Honda as I always think Honda perfomance won't last long although I also like Honda. I think Nissan is a better bet than Toyota coz Toyota is more expensive in second hand market. Futhermore Nissan has a reputation of being durable(before Renault took over). I prefer a car that is not too old(around 5 years). I like to soup up my car but my financial status does not allowed me. Ok, back to the question, which brand is better, Honda, Nissan or Toyota for maintenance cost, FC, problems, etc. I know the question is too general but maybe all the sifus here can list out the pro and con for each make. For my budget, I think it should be Sentra, Civic or Altis. Or maybe Cefiro, Camry or Accord (all 2 litre model). The look of those models is not a issue to me. thks. Feel free to show your expertise
[snapback]845653[/snapback]​

in my opinion is all the car performance wont last forever depends on each driver style. in term of parts this honda parts its easier to obtain compare to toyota n nissan. frankly said u buy this use car the first point is the chassis n body must be accident free and that the most important cos engine spoil can change n if the chassis got problem thats forever. Seriously said honda performance still the uncomparable cos they can built to endure hardcore driving style and even their engine do last longer.

Originally posted by verticalimit+Mar 29 2005, 10:59 -->
QUOTE(verticalimit @ Mar 29 2005, 10:59 )
--QuoteBegin-invisibleghost
@Mar 28 2005, 03:37

in my opinion is all the car performance wont last forever depends on each driver style. in term of parts this honda parts its easier to obtain compare to toyota n nissan. frankly said u buy this use car the first point is the chassis n body must be accident free and that the most important cos engine spoil can change n if the chassis got problem thats forever. Seriously said honda performance still the uncomparable cos they can built to endure hardcore driving style and even their engine do last longer.
[snapback]850045[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

agree wif u in certain extent. engine can be changed but chasis :blink: :blink: . i dun think used car will be 100% accident free. so the question is how do i see the chassis and body good or not??

try nissan , once i ride my frens car nissan sentra well its a low revved vehivle that saves u the petrol, secondly the maintenance cost is acceptable not too expensive, not too cheap....try to look on the road...old nissan here and there....

Originally posted by mazda_buruk@Mar 29 2005, 15:42
try nissan , once i ride my frens car nissan sentra well its a low revved vehivle that saves u the petrol, secondly the maintenance cost is acceptable not too expensive, not too cheap....try to look on the road...old nissan here and there....
[snapback]850972[/snapback]​
u drive a mazda?

toyota already well known in good FC,nice pick up,good suspension system,n now the look oledi more nicer compare to older model,some more the 2nd value is quite stable

i think its hard and unfair to COmpare the 3 manufacturer..
why not list the 3 cars from the manufacturers within your budget..
eg..
and the price you mention Camry, Accord Cefiro, with Civic , Altis differ greatly in price..

Originally posted by DJmobile@Mar 30 2005, 17:40
eg..
and the price you mention Camry, Accord Cefiro, with Civic , Altis differ greatly in price..
[snapback]854184[/snapback]​
ok, around RM80k(wat is the rate for old car, any1, old car can loan 9 yrs ah)

Camry, Accord, Cefiro (all 2.0l) 1 category

Altis, Sentra(1.8l) civic(1.7l) 1 category

Originally posted by invisibleghost+Mar 29 2005, 11:46 -->
QUOTE(invisibleghost @ Mar 29 2005, 11:46 )
Originally posted by verticalimit@Mar 29 2005, 10:59
--QuoteBegin-invisibleghost
@Mar 28 2005, 03:37

[snapback]850045[/snapback]​

agree wif u in certain extent. engine can be changed but chasis :blink: :blink: . i dun think used car will be 100% accident free. so the question is how do i see the chassis and body good or not??
[snapback]850200[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

the only way when u purchasing a second hand car bring your trustable mud gad fellow to check for you whether its accident free.

Originally posted by invisibleghost+Mar 30 2005, 18:49 -->
QUOTE(invisibleghost @ Mar 30 2005, 18:49 )
--QuoteBegin-DJmobile
@Mar 30 2005, 17:40
eg..
[snapback]854184[/snapback]​

[snapback]854376[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

whether an old car/second hand can loan 9 years depends on the year of Manufacture...

i presume the 1st category is second hand
and the 2nd catergory to be New..

If dont really go for lots of modifications, yet want to be enjoy your ride..
its sporty and has a ssmall kick of vtec..
plus honda offers free service for the first year
at the rate of 2.6 interest for new car,
its tempting to loan for 9 years..

i would go for Category2 Honda Civic (1.7 or 2.0)
plus the new face lift looks nice, add some rims and they look gorgeous..

hmm...... my dad is a 2nd hand car dealer....
sometimes it really depends on yur luck.....
its really nice to get a 2nd hand car with body kit....haha
no more headache... :blink:

[

[snapback]854376[/snapback]​
[/quote]

sure u can loan to 9 years if the car is year 2000 above and its slighty higher interest above 5% from Southern finance berhad n the altis u can purchase around 80k++ for year 2000 and the maximum loan is around 81k. why i know this cos i working in a used car dealers :D