Here for GP, looking for scene?

I just flew in from the U.S. to cover the GP this weekend, and would love to check out the modified car scene here in KL. I was an editor at Sport Compact Car (I think you get it here) for years and work for a few different car magazines now... anyway, someone mentioned "Hartamas and Bangsar". Are these parts of the city? Any suggestions for where to go? My hotel is right by the Towers.

Thank you and regards,

Jared
jared@jaredholstein.com

flag for a cab.... and head to Bandar Sunway.. tell the cabbie u wanna go to the industrial area beside sunway college, whereby all the car tuners/workshops are located.

Jared, wellcome to Malaysia
The best modded car will be at Drag scene a week after F1 battling each other
U will be surprised !!
Some of it parked ouside so hopefully u will stay here longer
If not then yess, go around 'sunway'
I think some friends may offer u a ride to the scene, any contact no ?

Actually we could have a welcoming TT for our friend here. What u say?

p/s tt = supper

Next to the towers? I gather you're in the Mandarin Oriental then.

Sunway is where the majority of mod shops are.

If you want to have a brewski and see some nice mods at the same time, you can try Heritage Row as well. Swing by on Fri or Sat from 11pm onwards. It's in KL city itself and a cab ride should take you roughly 10 mins, give or take. If the driver hasn't any idea what you're talking about, ask him to take you to the Sheraton Imperial. It's the street right next to it.

Bangsar isn't what is used to be but Desa Sri Hartamas has picked up over time. Takes you 5 mins to travel between the two. They are located on the outskirts of the city, about 20 mins drive from where you are depending on the traffic.

yeah thats a good idea
why not, bring down all the zth monsta & have a TT with Jared

welcome jared,

hope you enjoy the malaysian hospitality so far. If you wanna get into the local modified car scene here, you could be in contact with zth (zerotohundred.com) forum owner (Tom)

if you are also keen to hook up with the local japanese modified car chaps
you could try reaching VINCENT (JSOC President) 016 2010175
link---->http://www.jsoc-malaysia.com/index.php
(they generally will gather on friday nights weekly)

regards,
dennis

i be happy to offer my assistance as tour guide; however i dunno how cant fit you into my 2 seater ride!!! no, really gimme a buzz.

BTW the local JSOC boys are organising a dinner do on 18/March/2006 at Sunway hotel.

there should be tons of cars you may be interested

Welcome to Malaysia, Jared! :) It's great to have u here all the way from LA, States & i hope that u r enjoying the hospitality here.

Bandar Sunway is the current & hottest area where u can hook on the latest car modifications scenes & trends in the Klang Valley. Most of the monster cars r rolled out & tuned by the famous garage(s) located in Bandar Sunway. :shades_smile:

Try dropping an email to our ZeroToHundred forum owner, Tom & u'll be surprised by the info he'll be sharing with u! Cheers & have a fantastic week!

From,
Andy aka nd4ever

Wow, thanks to Dennis and everyone else for all the great responses. I'm in the Impiana KLCC on Jalan Pinang; I unfortunately do not have a cell here, but the number at the hotel is 603 2147 1111, and I'm in room 218. Just took a quick walk around the towers and saw a wicked blue R34 GTR and EK CTR...

Bandar Sunway sounds great, and I'd like to shoot and write a piece on Malaysian car culture, and perhaps shoot some cars so if a bunch will be together, it would be perfect! We should get receive the final schedule tonight from our handler, so I'll know soon about Friday night, but dinner sounds fun.

Dennis, I might just take you up on the offer of a ride, if for no other reason than to become as acquainted as possible with the "scene." We had an MR-S project car at the magazine, and it was none to big, but I'm thin :)

Thanks all and regards,

Jared

omg omg omg .... sport car compact in malaysia ? IM your big fan , lol
IM still waiting for your next modding of the sentra se-r with ga16de

hey IM free want me to give you a ride ?

just my 2 cents , PM the big guns = JSOC , RE club , Skyline club , drifiting community

http://jsoc-malaysia.com/index.php
http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/forumdisplay.php?f=78
http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/forumdisplay.php?f=90
http://drift.com.my/forum/portal.php
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/forumdisplay.php?f=63

Jared Holstein?

Man, im a big fan of SCC!

welcome to Malaysia BTW.

some tips for you to look for in Malaysia:

- the tiny weeny Perodua Kancil with 660cc turbo engine transplant from a daihatsu mira kei car.

- Proton Satria/wira/putra with 4g63 turbo engine transplants

- Drift Nissan Cefiro A31's

- Tons of JDM cars!

Some sport compact racecars here in M'sia that i know of:

- Proton R3 Lotus Exige RR GT300 (SuperGT)

- Wedsport Bandooh Celica ST205 GT300 (SuperGT)

- Amprex Motorsport RX7 FD3S GT300 (SuperGT ex RE Amemiya)

anyone care to add to the list?

i used to subscribe to SCC and their sister magazine, EC (european car) for years. so jared, when were you the editor for SCC? And which magazine are you working for now, if any, if you dont mind me asking. Curious to know cos was wondering if there are any other good mags out there.

and yea, have a nice time in malaysia. be sure to have lots of coffee, cos the fun starts late.

hi jared,

had a busy morning but called the hotel, but it appears u were out. will try again later (also left my number at desk)

has the handlers given your itinerary tomorrow? whats your plans 2morrow?

day hour not much a problem in my MR-S but later in the night, i will have to come with a 4 door as my better half wants to tag along...

any one with a 4 dr monster willing to chaperon jared & us ? heheh

I was Assoc. Senior Editor of SCC from '00-'05, and now write/shoot for MPH (new car mag, funny and I like it), C16, CARGO, Honda Tuning and others. Danny, sorry I missed your call-- we were doing standard tourist stuff like the tower, etc.

We just heard we have to sit through a *5* hour presentation and dinner tomorrow night by the Malaysian Tourism Dept. starting at 4:30, which unfortunately means we don't get out until around 9:30. Looks like no dinner :(

That presentation is our only committment tomorrow (I'll probably check out the Indian quarter and Central Market in the morning, but maybe I should head to Sunway during the day to check out the tuners? Will they be open?)
What time do people go to Sunway tomorrow night? And what time do they leave?
Also, Rich Chang, former editor of Super Street, Dan Frio, editor of Honda Tuning and Jay Chen from SCC (and formerly of european car) are here as well and have all expressed interest in checking out Sunway tomorrow night.

Thanks, Jared

The garages in Sunway are not open at night. You should go in the afternoon when work is in full swing.

Write your reply...