Help! Mist in my head lights

Y a k u Z a

Global Moderator
Hello guys,I've never washed my car before but out of the blue yesterday I suddenly felt like washing it so I did,and to my dismay I found out that after washing my car there's water inside or should I say a misty fog around the headlights,how can I dry it? Or should I just let it be and let it dry up?Thanks

let it a few days, it will dry. Or open ur headlight long enuf, the water will gone ^^

take out head lamp, blow hot air in till dry, then use silicone to seal it nicely lor

usually ori one dont have this problem, but those after market head lamp are very prone to it.

jsut my 0.02 ruppiah, cheers!

how many YEARS u never wash your car b4 this :_:

Y a k u Z a said:
Hello guys,I've never washed my car before but out of the blue yesterday I suddenly felt like washing it so I did,and to my dismay I found out that after washing my car there's water inside or should I say a misty fog around the headlights,how can I dry it? Or should I just let it be and let it dry up?Thanks

Actually it's not stock headlights that's why,it's brand new black crystal ones =) And i've never washed my car myself before so that's why I never encountered this problem before =) Ermm,taking out the headlights sounds pretty mafan,any other alternatives?

but if its not properly seal up, even u dry up this time, still it wont stop from water seeping in future.

alternative:

wash the head lamp casing esp the seal up part (bet front cover & rear casing), dont bother if more water gets in, then take out ur bulb & blow hot air (using hair dryer) in until totally dry, then apply silicone on the existing seal up part (for 2nd layer).

If problem persist, then u have to consider take out head lamp to do better seal up job.

cheers!

Y a k u Z a said:
Actually it's not stock headlights that's why,it's brand new black crystal ones =) And i've never washed my car myself before so that's why I never encountered this problem before =) Ermm,taking out the headlights sounds pretty mafan,any other alternatives?

wat u can do...bring it to any acc shop. ask them to take it out n blow it dry for u. they will only charge for labour fee.... but bear in mind tat not all the acc shop willing to do it for u.

u can try to find in damansara perdana. my fren did it there before.

Thanks for the info guys,I do notice that there's a small gap in between the lights and my bodykit,maybe that's what causing the water to leak in,but how come only on one side? And i;ve never experienced this before previously when I send my car to the car wash,Jacek,may I know how much does it cost? Thanks

my fren did it....according to him...tat shop charged RM40 - remove the lamp cover, blow dry/wipe, seal up all the gap......other shop charge 80 n above..n not all acc shop willing to do tat. it's quite 'mafan'

anyway, i'm goin there tis saturday..if u wanna join, pm me k.

ky_fei said:
let it a few days, it will dry. Or open ur headlight long enuf, the water will gone ^^

It wont...
It will condense and become water again and then evaporate when hot again. Means it will stil be inside.

Hav to go acc shop/spray shop to open the glass n dry up eveyrthing then seal back again.
Many shops doesn't want to do it coz anytime they will crack or break the glass if not careful enuff.

actualy i kena this situation b4. also after i started using aftermarket headlamps. how i solved it? ez la...i just turned on the headlamp(high beam faster but eat up all battery power n open the rubber sealent that covers the connection between the bulb n headlamp. mine had this rubber cap n if i removed it i can see into the headlamp. also mine was H1 so it had seperate bulb slot for high beam. not sure if it'll work for u tho cos proton use H4 which is single bulb rite? but what if u removed the evening light bulb so as to allow the water to condense until no water vapor left then turn off ur lights then fix back the evening bulb?

take out bulb socket 1st, then pull out the rubber cap, then open up the "bulb holder" (dont know whats d proper word for it, but you'll know it after u remove the rubber cap & look into the lamp) then remove the bulb.

then use hair dryer to blow hot air into it.

reverse the above order to put everything back.

then use silicone to seal the top part of the head lamp, the connected part on top where front glass/plastic cover stick to rear grey color casing. you'll see metal clip along this connected part.

sealing up is necessary in order to prevent water seeping in.

Thanks for sharing all the useful information guys,it's deeply appreciated =) ! Miracuously the mist in my headlamps has subsided,so it's back to normal now =) All I did was let it be for a couple of days =) It's fine now,thanks again.

Mine also la .. lol ! the taillight , it's ori proton LMST tail-light and it still mists.

Washed it few days ago , until today it still has the mist, but slowly subsiding .. Coz i sprayed it real hard at the headlight part , wanted to get some soap out from the gap under the headlight part .. And viola, a misty tail lamp.. Mwahhahahaaa!

HAhha okay,well I don't think it's as easy as the tail lights to dry up compared to the head lights though anyway good luck yeah ;p haha

Hmm you must be pretty fortunate then,because the car I used to drive last time was far more worst,the mist took ages to subside and until I sold it off it still hadn't subsided yet lol

not only after market headlamp experience this.. Perdana also a lot facing common problems with stock head lights... its just a matter of luck whther ur headlamp is sealed from water..

Use hair-dyer + lots of patience then you can remove any mists in your headlight, provided your headlight seal isn't leaking, else doesn't matter how many times you do it, the mist will just re-appear.

Personal experience: when through flash-flood with crystal headlights, somehow manage to get about, say, a little saucer you use to put your cili padi + kicap, that much of water inside the headlight, result is mistly headlight, so hair-dry plus remove bulb plus stuff cloth inside to soak up all the water, after that continue blow drying till you are satisfied. if mist still appears, continue blow drying. problem solved.

FIY: Blow drying is done on the face (glass) of your headlight, since you removed your bulbs it provides exit way for the vapour to get the hell out of your headlight.

Unless you are talking about in inside of your headlight being dirty then you need to open it up to clean.

By the way how to maintain a clean windscreen? Having 'water-marks' on it, tried with soap, newspaper, windscreen cleaner. Any other options?

easy la bro..just open take out the head light..and let it dry under the sun..make sure the bulb hole is upward so that the vapour will get out..no need acc shop ler..wasting ur money only..then buy the silicone..seal kaw2 around the gap..the most important is,make sure there is a hole for the vapour comes out..if not, the vapour inside will keep on condensing and circulating..