Help Help>> Kenari Check Engine light ON

huakenny

LB Performance
las nite i high revv my manual kenari from kl city to sg.besi

about to reach the toll......'Check Engine' light pop up and then disappear oledi...wat's wrong huh?>

then i ignore it n go to toilet...so i came back ans start.....everything ok.....

the Check Engine light wil pop up only when i press the acclerate pedal...wil disappear when i din press.....aiya...wat problem a?

ECU reset las nite....now beter...but stil there.....now when i drive.....full throtle then only wil appear but wil disppear again..wth?

if drive slowly....everything normal....

wat's wrong ar?

check yr engine oil level....

what happens is, when u hold the ej-de 3-cylinder at high revs for a prolonged period the engine oil gets too hot, resulting in the engine check light coming on... . no problem at all, i used to drive a modded ej-de kenari a long while ago and faced the same problem everytime i went for a high speed run...

check yr engine oil level though, it could be below recommended level as well...

cheers!

Demon said:
check yr engine oil level....

what happens is, when u hold the ej-de 3-cylinder at high revs for a prolonged period the engine oil gets too hot, resulting in the engine check light coming on... . no problem at all, i used to drive a modded ej-de kenari a long while ago and faced the same problem everytime i went for a high speed run...

check yr engine oil level though, it could be below recommended level as well...

cheers!

wasai..true ar? shit.....wat a funny engine....

no way to cure this sickness ar? erm..change to beter oil can help?

i checked the motor oil...stil in betwen L and F

you could try fitting an oil cooler.... or maybe a diff. grade of oil... do abit of DIY R&D and see how it goes ler... i dont drive kenari anymore so cant really help u much from here on.

or better yet, dont drive high speed so often.. :)

cheers!

Motor oil checked.....still FULL le......

but now the light stil sometimes wil ON....

anyway to erase tis>? reset ecu oso no use.... :frown:

Check Engine relates:

1. Engine oil lower limit or needs change because cant afford high temp.
2. Air Mass Sensor dirt, will turn orn the light if high flow of warm air into throttle body.
3. Check the posision of Air Mass Sensor, might be "senger" or not in correct position, take out and slot in properly.
4. Please dont use local made, Cap Ayam filters, this may cause of it.
Cheers!

Dude, better check your engine oil level, i had encountered this problem before, where my gasket leaking can see oil everywhere.

When I change the engine oil, guess what, only 1 litre, holy sheet ..

sakuraguy said:
Check Engine relates:

1. Engine oil lower limit or needs change because cant afford high temp.
2. Air Mass Sensor dirt, will turn orn the light if high flow of warm air into throttle body.
3. Check the posision of Air Mass Sensor, might be "senger" or not in correct position, take out and slot in properly.
4. Please dont use local made, Cap Ayam filters, this may cause of it.
Cheers!

1.air filter is pipercross so i guess no problem....
2.engine oil i wil change tomolo lo..see how after tat
3.air mass sensor locate at where o? the one at tb buterfly tat ar?

tis is sample of kenari photo (not mine), u c where is air mass sensor....

sample
http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b95/huakenny/Image156.jpg

aiya, soli arr i dunno positions abt kenari engine lor. But according to an article, its placed somewhere beside the airfilter box ..

click below article:
http://www.motortrader.com.my/asp/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=3655

P/S: Please change engine oil earlier than the estimated deadline, if ure next change for 5000km and u can even change at 4700 or 4800km. Change 200 - 300km earlier. because this maintains the engine tip-top condition. dont wait till exact 5000km or 5100km then oni change it.

This burdens the engine.

simplythebest said:
Dude, better check your engine oil level, i had encountered this problem before, where my gasket leaking can see oil everywhere.

When I change the engine oil, guess what, only 1 litre, holy sheet ..

engine oil i checked las nite....stil FULL le...

dude, where is air mass sensor??

i wil change to q8semi syn tomolo la..see how...but no money la..see got money buy oil o not 1st :frown:

ping5828 said:
Noob here.. how to reset ECU ?
:)

wa...'reset ecu' tis topic owes discuss in forum la....search then u wil know...but i tel u now la...if u lazy search

disconect negative side battery terminal, leave it for 45minutes.....then before u put it back..press ur brake for few times(no harm try tis if useless)..then put back the batery terminal...

start ur car n test-drive it...ecu wil relearn ur new driving style again.....cheers

*some take it out and put it back for 5minutes only...but i not sure whether it is reset oledi..so juz leave it longer time..safer....hehe

:tee: