help help~~ Everything about brakedisc skimming

I think i dont have to run the car keys on the surface hehehee.. take a look, looks kinda bad rite the grooves on my disc? is there any "bad effect" if i still dont skim it soon? been driving with this awhile already..

d3cdc29d.jpg

nitrus, the grooves appears after the disc has gone through a long period of usage. Its normal lah. All car will have this problem.

Why it happens ? because when the car travels sand or small stone chips will get caught in between the pads and disc so when we apply the brakes it will cause and uneven contact on the brake disc surface.

Some may ask, can stone chip cause this kind of damage ? well if its just one small stone chip the damage will be very little but if there's 10 to 15 small stone chips then its a different story. We drive the car everyday and our braking times is uncountable. so the damage is day by day and bits by bits. That's why these grooves is only visible after a long period of time. Heavy braking alot will also contribute to the forming of the grooves at a much shorter period.

another thing is the pads, pads with high metal composition will cause this problem too. Will try to post mine later.

Correct me if I'm wrong. I post the above statement through my user experience. cheeers.

oooooo i c... yao dou lei .. hehehehh... tnx bro..

ermmm... then does anybody else hav any comments bout the pic of my brake discs condition?

if the disc rotor oledi 'makan'...better to replace it.....

or if u wanna skim it rite....make sure u skim ur brake pads too....skim the side only so it wont get contact with the side of the disc rotor. dun need to skim surface

most of the ppl didnt skim the brake pad side, tat y when apply brake, u wil hear noisy sound from brake....skim the pad at 45degree.

if new disc, then dun need to skim pads

my2cent ya:shades_smile:

nitrus said:
satria_95,
u mean u went to skim ur disc after it had the grooves/lines , and used back ur same brake pads after ur mech gave it a good clean scrub ..?
No man. Actually, I found my brakes squeaking. Then I checked the disc and found the outer section of the front disc to be "very clean and shiny" which gives me the idea that the brakes is not evenly biting the disc. So I went to my regular mech and asked him about it. He took out my pads and gave it some scrub and cleaning. I changed the pads at his place about a month or two ago.

simplythebest,
Yeah, mine's a new pad. But last time, when I changed to the same brand and model, it didn't make my car squeaked and I didn't mentioned earlier also that I went to the mech to have my brakes checked because it was squeaking. hehe

Well, i have a DIY test to see wether the pads bit the disc completely or not.

Just wet your disc and let karat form on your disc. After that go for a drive and apply the brakes a few times. Stop the car and go check the disc. If you still can see a section of karat on the disc means that the pads did not bit evenly. this happen to me when i 1st got my new disc and use back the old pads. the old pads didn't bit evenly on the disc so after washing the car go for 1 round drive come back and see why still got a section karat wan..."thinking" Then...Ohhhh..pads didn't bit evenly so it can't remove the karat.