Help: Civic 92-95 Power Window Motor replacement

shiroitenshi

3,000 RPM
Apr 18, 2006
Hi, I'm new to the Zero-2-Hundred community, and I'm driving a 92-95 civic and hails from Kelantan.

I wonder if anyone can help me with the problem I'm having. I've tried the forum search function, and I couldn't find any threads relating to this problem, maybe I'm using the wrong search terms, and for that I apologize if this is a duplicate thread.

The power window mechanism is a scissors type linkage, and the motor died just recently, and I'm planning to replace it. However, the window is stuck fully closed, and I can't access the bolts to remove the windows, so I can't remove the linkage to replace the motor either. I think there's a manual way to lower the windows so that I can access the mounting bolts, but I can't seem to find it, and the workshop manual I have doesn't help either.

I'm 100 percent sure that it's not a problem with the window's track rails, or the linkage seizing up.

I know that workshops can solve this for me.. but as a DIY person.. I wish to accomplish it myself.

Anyone knows how to manually wind down the windows so I can access the mounting bolts?

Even a general idea will help.. if you have another car using similar linkage for power windows.. maybe you can suggest something.

Thanks in advance for any help offered.

Last edited:

SkYwAlKeR

Over 10,000 RPM!
Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
Visit site
- remove door panel...
- remove some bolts holding the window...
- remove the whole window out of the door panel...
- remove some screws that holds the bracket...
- remove the whole bracket out from the door panel...
- change the motor...
- fix back everything the reverse way when u take everything out...

this is the steps to change proton power window motor la... i think its almost the same with ur car.... jz remember main thing, remove any bolts that gets in the way and take off the whole bracket only can change the motor...