gsc s1 cam

i guess i'll go for s2 than... hmmmm do i need to re-flash my ecu? or it's plug and play.. don't have much budget... how much u tink the price for installation and where 's the best place to install these

Yes,cam install need an ECU Reflash to get the performance it should have
Cam gear is an option,playing around with it mostly move your powerband to left or right a bit i guess

Skyboy, just my 2 cents opinion here...

For the E8MR, your specs is -
Intake 260 deg / Exhaust 256 deg
Lift - 10.0mm Int / 9.5mm Exh

For the GSC S2 for E8, it's
Int 274 deg/Exh 274 deg
Lift 11.2mm Int/11.0mm Exh.

U definitely need the upgraded springs and retainer to rev higher. U may keep the retainer stock though but i would suggest keeping your revs below 9k. then again if u already have changed out your spring, might as well change out your retainer.

stock ECU reflash is a must. Cam gear replacement to aftermarket not necessary but then again, u already pay labour to swap out your camshafts, might as well look for a aftermarket cam gear/sproket.

What u have not mentioned here is if u plan to boost high or rev high, suggest u change out your head studs (APR or Tomei) and head gasket (to metal head gasket). Personal experience ... haha ...If u do not want to change out the above, keep it below 9k revs and boost around the 1.5 bar range. Make sure u make it clear to the tuner.

Like what Joe/DD mentioned, if u planning further upgrade after this, better to get the S2.

Compare that with the S1 for the E8,

Int 268 deg/Exh 268 exh
Lift 11 mm / Exh 10.5mm

Springs and Retainer all stock. Maybe u try evolution8892's car ... he has the GSC S1 fitted on it .... hehe ... I bought for him from the States ..

Thanks Pablo... finally got better understanding bout the GSC s2.. i guess i got a lot of things to change.. this must at least cost me 5k above.. hmmm

Suggest me a tuner Pablo hehehe....

No need thank me la Skyboy. Everyone in here knows what i put there lor... maybe i write abit clearer only for easy understanding..

Congrats once again on your marriage.

U based in KL, look for Driftdevil/Joe ...he'll hook u up with what u need and your questions. Think his number somewhere in MLOC forum...

Best of luck in what u decide finally...

gsc power division s1,s2 or s3 depend how you want to go,s1 max hp -400whp,s2 400-700whp and s3 more carzy to go. normal ppls asking s1 bco just wan to minor modify,s2 need to pay more bco the retainer valve springand valve seat got the change,and the coat also exp,, anyone looking gsc power division can looking for dragstar perfrormance centre or call 012-3941832.james evo 1-10 ,.or pm me [email protected]

• imagesCADWV0HF.jpg
    imagesCADWV0HF.jpg
    2.2 KB · Views: 149
would S2 work perfectly fine with 2.0 or i need to upgrade to stoker kit 2.2 for better result. kindly advice i don't intent to push my HP more than 400... whats the recommended GSC for evo 8?

ive spoken with greg of gsc cams on dsm tuners and he said even with a 2.3 stroker kit with lets say a td06 20g the s1 cams would be good
he said the s2 cams are actually considered for pretty big tubos like the gt35r and above with a target hp range of 500whp and above
so i think for most of us here the S1 would be the best way to go
plus bonus is you dont need to upgrade valve springs and retainers
although with the s2 you definitely need an upgrade because as i mentioned earlier they are quite aggressive
i also was always wanting the S2 before but after hearing what greg of GSC had to say i am convinced the S1 is the only way to go and is perfect for a street monster with plenty of kick even in the early rpm range which is where most of us will be on streets
especially with our kl roads condition you cant even imagine revving to 9k rpm to really explore the potential of the S2 over the S1 and then see a pothole and have to emergency brake :banghead: then risk an accident

hahaha thats correct Kumar malaysian road has a limitation unless you're a track junky but than again i guess i'll get the GSC S1 for now not planing to upgrade my turbo anytime soon ... will make use of MR stock turbo till it worn off hehehehe...

another query... does any1 know how much is Tomei cam shaft for evo 8 MR coast and wats the diferrence between Tomei PON and forget the other name??? :burnout:

thanks...

PS: Kumar where you planing to install S1 let me the best tuner who can get this done :biggrin:

hahaha thats correct Kumar malaysian road has a limitation unless you're a track junky but than again i guess i'll get the GSC S1 for now not planing to upgrade my turbo anytime soon ... will make use of MR stock turbo till it worn off hehehehe...

another query... does any1 know how much is Tomei cam shaft for evo 8 MR coast and wats the diferrence between Tomei PON and forget the other name??? :burnout:

thanks...

PS: Kumar where you planing to install S1 let me the best tuner who can get this done :biggrin:

i am not going to install so soon because i am not planning on doing an engine build yet
i was going to install it togeter with my engine build because then the head will be off as well so can do one shot
what management you using??

i am not going to install so soon because i am not planning on doing an engine build yet
i was going to install it togeter with my engine build because then the head will be off as well so can do one shot
what management you using??

Mine still stock bro no management in my ride, but i was told to get e-manage blue ! not sure if that's wat you meant...:confused: anyweis

what else i need to do before getin the GSC s1 plant in my hood :rofl: please advice..

any idea on Tomei cam shaft bro?

Mine still stock bro no management in my ride, but i was told to get e-manage blue ! not sure if that's wat you meant...:confused: anyweis

what else i need to do before getin the GSC s1 plant in my hood :rofl: please advice..

Don't even bother about E-Manage for CT9A EVO
CT9A EVO have one of the best ECU Flash development of any kind/any market
You can do feature like:Anti Lag,2 Step Rev Limiter,Map Switch,Speed Density conversion,Flash Engine Check Light for knock
All of which is >E-Manage
I would say CT9A ECU is almost as powerful as full EMS after you mod it with custom ROM
The drawback are no live tuning(have to flash everytime you make a change)

no personal experience or info on tomei camshafts
although i do have little info on the tomei 280 cams well as u can tell by the duration of these cams they are only meant for drag racing and the power delivery is all in the high rpm ranges and idle is very rough well thats about it
ive been researching many cams especially in the US forums and as far as I can gauge the GSC cams are the best they are used by many in the US because they are cheap there as they originate from there
the japanese manufacturer cams are really expensive over there as they need to factor in the exchange rate and transportation plus based on dyno charts ive gathered the GSC cams do seem to outperform their japanese counterparts of course taking cams of similar duration ie. hks 272 and GSC S2(274)

if Im changing the camshaft(GSC S1) anything else need to be done ... before that : ecu re-flash or etc..

another thing have any1 here heard bout ART exhaust for EVO? any review on that

if Im changing the camshaft(GSC S1) anything else need to be done ... before that : ecu re-flash or etc..

another thing have any1 here heard bout ART exhaust for EVO? any review on that

the reflash would only be appropriate after the cams go in not before that
and yes the reflash would really show the true potential of these cams rather than just keeping the stock afr and ignition mapping

the re-flash would only be appropriate after the cams go in not before that
and yes the re-flash would really show the true potential of these cams rather than just keeping the stock afr and ignition mapping

hmmm ok .. can you recommend me a good tuner for re-flash and installing the cams.. i want some1 trust worthy .. not some cut throat and not N1 service:thefinger: .. got to many bad experience.. :banghead:

the cams part i would recommend your mech install and then for the reflash you should call up joshua - 0123205454
or you can do both the cams and the reflash at joshua's place as well
just give him a call for the reflash first and get a quotation for the whole reflash

cool will give him a call... have you guys heard of ART exhaust initially it was install for Superbike but now its in production for cars... any1 using it or heard bout it?

:driver:
the cams part i would recommend your mech install and then for the reflash you should call up joshua - 0123205454
or you can do both the cams and the reflash at joshua's place as well
just give him a call for the reflash first and get a quotation for the whole reflash

Hi bro, i call Joshua but no answer send him like 2 sms no reply as well... can you check how much he charge to re-flash my ori ecu.. thanks

---------- Post added at 03:48 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:47 PM ----------

Kindly recomend a reasonble body kit shop for my evo 8 .. thanks.

:driver:

Hi bro, i call Joshua but no answer send him like 2 sms no reply as well... can you check how much he charge to re-flash my ori ecu.. thanks

---------- Post added at 03:48 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:47 PM ----------

Kindly recomend a reasonble body kit shop for my evo 8 .. thanks.

aite bro i will ask him about the cost to reflash your ecu
yours is the standard evo 8 ecu now right??
sorry cant help on bodykit you should probably do a search or start another new thread for this and just leave this thread for discussing the GSC S1 camshafts so as to not clutter the thread

hahahaha ya mine is a standard evo 8 MR ECU. yup will start a new tread for that.. No Worries, thanks Dude...Buzz me if you get the price.