goodyear vs silverstone

weikhee86

Dec 10, 2005
i'm planning to get some new tires for my ride...i need the experience of all the ZH dudes out there...price wise, which one is better? overall, which one is the better? i heard that eagle f1 performs really well...

Accentmaniac

Feb 15, 2006
Forget about silverstone

Get Falken, michelin, bridgestone
Goodyear is so so only... very noisy

Fluffy

May 1, 2005
>>klang<<
yes.forget silverstone.goodyear better.but if that's ur budget.

got more money?falken:_: or toyo.

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
one thing i wanna ask .... sorry to be out of topic..

why does Yokohama tyres wear so quick?!

its less than 2000km and my Yokohama A520 has worn quite alot , n im not the kind that corners alot ...

amrancharger

Jul 19, 2006
falken wat type??the new one dat was launched recently??im driving a standard 1.3 car...do u tink its worth buying the expensive tyres??

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
rollakid, which tires of yoko u're using?

bad rear traction...? is ur car FF or FR ?

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
nitrus,

yokohama radial 352 215/50/13. they dated all the way back to the 70's and if i'm not mistaken they are used on the first toyota celica prototype. i can't find anymore info on them on the net, beside an Aus site that say the tire is use on the celica.

yes my car FR. i use sumitomo HTR200 for the front, kinda hard to get sumitomo here, maybe have to ask people to special import one set for me in the future. kinda hard to find tire for my rims, there's only a few type out there, most common one is silverstone, but i dun like it, not performance tire.

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
Sigh .. I still don't know why my Yokohama A520 wears so fast ... The traction n grip is really really good, sticky tires ... But seriously wear damn fast sial .... :(

Maybe i shud get a tire that lasts longer next time but also better than Sime Tires lol .... But for u rollakid, FR yea im sure u wud like performance tires :regular_smile:

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
its really hard to find the right size for a 13x6.5jj rim nowadays, its either silverstone normal tire or racing compound slick/semi slick. the only one in the middle range would be sumitomo and kumho. sumitomo's are summer sport tire, while kumho's one is all season, ziex model or something.

jswong

Dec 30, 2004
For average cars, Falken Ziex 326 gives a good enough handling and wet-road grip. On a 1.3, I think that's enough.

If you want good tyres, can try Falken Azenis ST115.. the level of grip when whacking corners is pretty damn good. Wet weather handling is also excellent, hardly aquaplanes.

Bridgestone Potenza GIII is also good.

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
Which would be a good tire that can last longer too ? For a reasonable price...

amrancharger

Jul 19, 2006
it still depends on your rite foot.a fren of mine just buy sime or silverstone coz cheap and also he drive like racing in the road.very fast botak.coz he brakes like hell too...haha...even face tyre blow up while driving frm workplace.and i'll be foreman to bkak the tyre...hahaha....in middle of the nite/morning!!!

tonytony

Apr 11, 2004
kimex la bro, malaysia boleh !
yoko's are dam sticky at a cost...expensive and easily wear out (coz stick to the ground alot mar) but after only 2K ???? maybe your allignment out
between silverstone and kimex, i was recommended kimex by foreman, about the same price but performs way better

amrancharger

Jul 19, 2006
kimex??well this new...never heard dis before...where did u buy it??cost for 195/55/15??thinking of changing to bigger size tyre so dat can get comfort and less noise on malaysian road.... :)

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
Just to share my experience.

My sumitomo htrz 2 tires wore out damn quickly compared to my bridgestone my01. Less than a year and my sumitomos are at 30% or less now i think.

-storm-

Aug 26, 2006
i recommend michelin tyres lo...... just change all my goodyear to michelin, very satisfy now :_:
Now all running on 4 michelin!!! Use to have Two Goodyear, noisy till i tak tahan change all to mechelin :tongwink: