Gen2 or Satria Neo?

buzzsaw

I'm planning to get a car. I currently drive Waja 1.6X Premium 2001. Fuel consumption is on the high side. I'm contemplating between Satria Neo and Gen 2. But I doubt I will get a brand new one. Very likely a second hand late 2004 or 2005 model. If it is a Neo then it has to be a 2006. I'm not in a hurry though but preferably within the next 3 months.

Btw, someone who has links with people in the German gov and a Spanish disc brake maker told me the Gen2 sedan is underway. Probably launching next year around April. Apparently Proton hired a German design house to design the car. It is said also that the Waja was designed by them. Proton took the designers into Proton grounds, and by doing that they can claim it is their design.:cyclops:

i think better go for neo coz few of my fred buy G2 suffer with problem.

have to sdend car few times per year to repair thing.

neo seem better than G2

buzzsaw,

u can actually search the related forum as we have discussed b4 if not mistake,

happy hunting! :)

my opinion, depends on ur height and how many people you are ferrying too. since Neo has only 2 doors and if you are constantly carrying 3 - 4, it's gonna be cramp (unless they're kids). If you are planning a Gen2, get the later models (not the 1st batch) as my friends who have (had) Gen2 says their 1st batch model really sucks.. from stiff door handles, electrical stuff not working and some weird sound coming out from the engine.. >_<

i drove gen2 once.... i cant see the back , the side mirrors are way too small ....
i think Neo would be better ... so far never heard anyone complain about it. and personally i kinda like Neo. hahah ! expecially the R3 one.

if u wanna get a gen2... nvr get a 1.3!!!
under power!!!
fc also high too
thats what i know cuz i drive before

Go test drive both of the models.
If you gonna fetch your family members with the car frequently in future, bring them along for the test drive.
Your family members might give some opinion to you on which car you should get.
Happy motoring.

Actually buying a GEN2 or NEO.All depends on U.If u have family buy a GEN2,if u are single or married with no kids buy a NEO is OK

Since you are getting a used car...why not look for more reliable manufacturer. A used civic or corolla is always much better than a used proton or a new one.

hehehe.... Neo of course. :P

why?

coz i'm driving one. hehehe...

yeah.. precisely.. once the R3 bodykit out.. fuuuyoh... there is no way i'm not getting that. ;)

Better not if you are tall, big or you think space is an important factor. Otherwise, if you plan to bring friends around, they'd better be amputees or midgets.

Proton currently do not have any fuel efficient technology model in their stable. all those CAMPro engined Neo and Gen2 do not really contribute to better FC. so, I guess you stick to Waja because not only the build is solid, it also has proven to be good.

Gen2 is quite similar to waja but it is using CAMPro instead of 4G32( correct me if I am wrong) but for you to switch to Gen2 on this case, its not the FC that matters. maybe new model Gen2 is more appealing for you.

Neo has inherited so many traditional Proton lack of quality and they even got 'extra' on quality problems. A few friends of mine complained about the FC and also the 'free water inlets' during raining days.

And, the last is Gen2 sedan? well, good luck to Proton.

Went dragging last saturday, my FC was 0.20 per km after the drag races. So, the FC couldn't be that bad. But the FC ain't good either.. but i'm not complaining... its how you love the car. For me, if you like the car, just buy it... no matter how oil guzzling it might be... if you care a lot for FC, get a k-car... it will definitely be good... or even savvy... they claim RM0.08 to the kilometer.

dun deny the fact that proton still yet to perfect their QC, but for my case, my car is free from those trouble. no water leakage or electrical faults or mechanical faults. Occasional squeaks here and there.. but over time, it vanishes.. though i'm not sure whether that is good or bad news. hehehe....

But trust me, a lot of neo owners that i know are very very very happy to own one. not all of them have much problems... even if they have, they are still happy with it... :)

so, just choose the car that you like, other factors are secondary. No point driving a car that you don't like and end up regretting. :)

car

If you want a 4 door car then G2 but if u dun mind a 2 door then Neo coz da engine is the same...furthermore u r comparing wit a waja x edition
which is equipped with airbags & leather seats......

I myself prefer the waja especially with 4g18 not the campro which to me feels kinda sluggish & underpowered...

alexklg said:
so, just choose the car that you like, other factors are secondary. No point driving a car that you don't like and end up regretting. :)
This statement has a fault.

There has to be certain factors that contribute to you liking the car in the first place. Liking is not a factor and other factors are therefore not secondary. Looks and price is also factors, and the combination of the 2 I suspect, is the main reason people pay any attention to the Neo at all.

For example, if someone puts space and comfort above all else, they obviously wouldn't like the Neo.