fuel pressure!!!!

b8t_ford

hi guys,

just wanna to know that how much is the best fuel pressure for vf10 turbo to our b8 engine?
then for stock turbo , how much ?

izzit if we higher the fuel pressure, then FC will goin higher also ...?
if we set too high or too low, wat is the effect to our engine? less power?more higher FC?

thanks for teaching and sharing experience ....

B8t_ford,
already replied in the plugs thread.:-
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=119808

here's the copy:-
B8t_ford,
this is what i have experienced.
when i was with vj20 turbo, i've been running 35psi of fuel pressure at 1.2bar. No problem of fuel leaning out.
playing with fuel pressure will experience in higher fuel consumption as fuel was not burnt fully and gone as wastage...this will also create carbon. but at the same time, u are actually running at a safe mod but lose of power due to rich mixture.
imagine u are running at 42psi with 0.8b/1bar boost with vj20 or vj23 together with colder plugs....u will feel a little laggish.
i know someone whose running a very big turbine in 180 but 30psi fuel pressure with the help of high flow fuel pumps & big injectors and he's running 1.5bar!

u want good fuel pressure at high boost? upgrade your fuel pumps. this is actually the rule of thumb. without good fuel pumps, although u set to 50psi fuel pressure, what you get is high fuel consumption at low end but during higher rpm and higher boost, u might lean out due to fuel pressure drop. more over, your injectors suffer due to the high pressure.

the best pressure of fuel? depends on your setup, your boost & your fuel pump. for me 35psi is good with vj20 1bar and below provided fuel pump upgraded to higher flow like walbro or rb25/rb26 etc etc

for vf10, around 40psi with 1.2bar boost. again provided fuel pump is good with bigger injectors.
if change to bigger injectors and set to 40psi but fuel pump std, its like putting a big water hose at a big water tab but a small water pump...the water will be like air kencing pancut only....hehehehe

abang tkk,
thanks bro...i learn thru experience and mistakes and friends...not the hardway but the good way...
everyone will have all sorts of experience during climbing the ladder and as we climb, we will go higher...like u laa tkk...been upgrading your car non stop.

when i 1st converted to bpt, the 1st think i did was to change my fuel pump...that was way back in 2001. the 1st think that notice was that, when i change the fuel pump, the throttle pedal was a little heavier then before. at that point of time, that's how i know that i'm running a little rich at stock boost. i was running on std boost till end of 2001. why i change to a better fuel pump? because friends said its a good 1st step of modding a car. during that time, i didnt know that i was making the right move.

Now with internal walbro pump....felt more confident in boosting.
and now, a little malas already to play with the car....hehehe...

he won't retire laa... his clutch is a bit hard to step on... his lutut ada goyang i think...

huhuhuhuhu...not retired ka?good,if else no more person that i want to refer..hehehehehehe.Bro,what kind of brake pump is good?Some say v6 brake pump!!

brake pump???

the bigger the pump the best braking u have.. but depent on ur tyre also..

the best braking system that i like is abs.. but unluckyly huhuhu... but i still want to try put ABS braking system on my car..

bro lan D i want to swap my 5th gear with u can arr??? im tired la on highway.. can it be easyly done?? hgeheeheheh

why bother to change the brake systems when u actually havent fully utilised what has been already proven to be good in your car?
anything big is good but if use lousy material of pads, it goes back to square one. its like having an 800hp turbine in the car but u are only utilising 150hp of the turbine only.
but then again, if u have a thick pocket, go for it.

flatlander,
how's your braking power with bigger disc? should be much better right? make sure u use a good brakepad. then u will feel the true potential of the brakes.

swap my 5th gear? u want to swap? we swap the whole gearbox. u can take the lsd if u want...hehehe....

if dugong gets its previous gbox setup (90kmh 3k rpm 5th gear).... aiyoooo sure it'll rock jelutong hway lor...

Dugong?
still rocks!!!!Owner also rockers.Like to jam rock songz...hehehehehe.Bile mau jam.Tringin want to follow la brother...

wah !!!! such a deep experience and knowledge oh....long way to go for me ......
but, thanks to brother Lan and sifu here .

but, now i had have set my boost to 0.9 bar with vf 10 turbine. then the fuel pressure is around 4.2psi, with standard 180 injector, and standard fuel pump.....(cos no money to change it)

sifu sifu here, i wan to know that is this setting have anyting wrong to my car..?
what is the best setting for my engine now due to now i don have money to change fuel pump and injectors yet......(but will try to change both item soon), can teach me the best setting for temporary for my engine ?

pls give me advise lagi ........thanks .....all the best

Lan Dugong said:
swap my 5th gear? u want to swap? we swap the whole gearbox. u can take the lsd if u want...hehehe....

walawweeeeeyyy hheheheh.... the whole GB arrr?? aiseh.. lot of work to do.. huhuuhuh

b8t_ford said:
wah !!!! such a deep experience and knowledge oh....long way to go for me ......

but, now i had have set my boost to 0.9 bar with vf 10 turbine. then the fuel pressure is around 4.2psi, with standard 180 injector, and standard fuel pump.....(cos no money to change it)

sifu sifu here, i wan to know that is this setting have anyting wrong to my car..?
what is the best setting for my engine now due to now i don have money to change fuel pump and injectors yet......(but will try to change both item soon), can teach me the best setting for temporary for my engine ?

the best setting is lower ur boost n let ur car run safe first until u get a better fuel pump. this is to avoid ur car create more serious problem due to lean fuel.

flatlander525 said:
walawweeeeeyyy hheheheh.... the whole GB arrr?? aiseh.. lot of work to do.. huhuuhuh

hehehehe.....flatlander, just be more patient, ignore the high revs engine sound when u are cruising at hiways. u will get use to it. more over, i dont think u have problems with fuel consumptions with your good piggyback. dont sacrifice the gearbox flatlander. its a good gearbox.

b8t_ford said:

been there, done that....tried vf10 with the bpt injectors with 45psi fuel pressure, good fuel pump plus one extra injector using custom AIC bought at Kimseng motors...result at 0.8bar, egt when up crazily more then 900'c at 3rd gear.