Flush gearbox... good workmanship

yup i enjoy diy nowadays. Its really not so hard, just need the right tools a copy of your manual and off you go. I change out my engine oil the other day and it was easy. Did my differential fluid and transmission fluid the other day not as easy because you need to pump the fluids up into the reservoir. You can buy a simple pump at ACE for less then 50 bucks. Hope this helps. Dont worry so much bout crunch washers/washers etc just start your project in te morning and if you need anything you can run to the hardware shop and buy the parts. hope this helps.

dave

the price depend the capacity of ur gearbox,the cleanliness of the gearbox,im using mira L5 auto gearbox,2 liter in capacity,but they used 8 liter of flushing oil to make it clean again,then they add the 2 liter needed to run the gearbox..im using fuchs auto oil...very good oil n very expensive...bigger car might need more than 8 liter of flushing to make it clean again...how to make sure u r not rip off then u have to observe n monitor them during the flushing period....that's all....if they flush without opening the gearbox propably there wont be anything bad will happen coz they r not tampering with the mechanism,they r only circulating the oil,unless they open everything n flush it then u face problem if they put it back n the gearbox damage...

Originally posted by BlackSamurai@Jan 25 2005, 10:23
JINEIL2EN,
how about 29th or 30th Jan? 10am? scared that time workshop busy
2pm-2.30pm lah...coz i working untill 1pm...ehehehe :lol:

Blacksamurai, PM ur contact to me lah.......

UGPM..

btw, how much is the flushing and do they accept credit card?
2:30PM saturday shall be good :lol:

any zthian wanna join us? get group discount. :lol:

until now nobody answered this question.. how much for flushing & changing manual gear oil? sgti to be exact? tq :)

For your reference

Optima
http://www.streetdirectory.com.sg/kl/kl_mapsize2.cgi?x=418691&y=346685&level=5&star=

Never been there. But stayed around that area. Cheers..

Originally posted by beatnik@Jan 26 2005, 08:43
until now nobody answered this question.. how much for flushing & changing manual gear oil? sgti to be exact? tq :)
soli, i'm not very sure....but mostly they calculate in how many liter's oil they use for flush & change....exp, ur gear box is 4 liter, & they need 6 liter to flush & change, so, if 1 liter =rm20, so 6 liter X rm20 =rm120 loh..... :)

but normally if the capacity is 4 liter,most of the shop use up to 12 liter of oil to flush n make it clean again,let say 8 liter to flush n clean and 4 liter to top up the oil...therefore u end up close to rm200...

flush & change is at the same time........
how many kiter they use, is mostly depends on how dirty ur ngine r.....
i saw 1 Perdana V6, flush almost 20L but the oil is still dirty, coz that car is over 50k didn't change the ATF & the owner is lack of car care knowledge.....

my car is 4L, but i flush & change is 6L nia.... :)

wahlaueh.. like this no need to flush la.. i tot manual gearbox no need to use so many oils.. do they use some kind of flushing additives? or is it just like flushing toilet?

if u wan full package like Wynn's, they will add som additives to flush out all the dirt, then after that they will change a new oil into it....sure clean, but xpensive.....
& normal flushing is get ur gearbox's pipe, connect w/ flushing mechine, then the mechine will automaticly change the oil & flushing.....

correct me if i'm wrong....

btw does anybody know where to get Valvoline 80w-90 tranny oil?
what about Eneos GL-5 80w-90 oil, RM50 for 4l.. looks like a good buy.. any comments?