F#$% its my turn

acbc said:
Which idiot will switch on a laptop and leave it running in the car? If standby, the power is off as well. Don't believe it? You take a multimeter and test the USB and PS/2 ports. No voltage activity during standby or hibernation.

So what's your point? Even if the PS/2 or USB port has power it still doesn't emit any RF signal which can be detected. Even IF the laptop does, do you guys think the signal can pass through your metal boot and car body? If you think so, try hiding in the boot and using a handphone see whether you can get a signal or not.

Most likely somebody was following your moves when you left the car. Waiting for you to move so far away that even if you run or ride a bicycle, you won't be able to catch them.

How about this...let's get some reasonably looking Wira, dump in a notebook, PDA and expensive phone semi-visibly and go hide somewhere. Moment you see some dude whacking your car, we go break all his bones.

EEPROM or the rest of chips are different than CMOS (a battery)... I do think its quite possible for such a metal-oxide detecting device to exist (radiation from metal oxide or something?).
Some did report that the laptops were taken from concealed places of their cars. Not very likely to have someone willing to follow you from work all the way to a local mamak store before taking action right... what if you suddenly entered a place with security?

Zeroed said:
EEPROM or the rest of chips are different than CMOS (a battery)... I do think its quite possible for such a metal-oxide detecting device to exist (radiation from metal oxide or something?).
Some did report that the laptops were taken from concealed places of their cars. Not very likely to have someone willing to follow you from work all the way to a local mamak store before taking action right... what if you suddenly entered a place with security?
The point is simple... there many hundreds of such chips inside a fuel injection car. How can a detector distinguish between a laptop and the on-board computer? If that is the case, the entire Subaru WRX will show as having 8 laptops inside.

Zeroed said:
EEPROM or the rest of chips are different than CMOS (a battery)

Just to let you know, CMOS is not a battery. CMOS stands for Complimentary Metal Oxide Semiconductor and it's a type of microchip. It's used in computers, cameras, etc.etc.

acbc : actually there is something called notebook detector ,
its the thieves eyes and brain. The device works usually then owner of laptop is careless.

jinkl said:
acbc : actually there is something called notebook detector ,
its the thieves eyes and brain. The device works usually then owner of laptop is careless.

i couldn't agree more with jinkl... lol.. in some upgraded versions.. can even detect the market value of the stuff before deciding whether they want to steal or not...

device or no device the lesson here is to be extra careful. don't take everything for granted. nowadays you couldn't know who is your friend and foe. if you want to leave your laptop in the car, leave in the boot. if not carry it wherever you go.
it's not just the laptop,but the information inside it. imagine if someone get hold of your sensitive information. you don't just lost your laptop but maybe a lot more than that. better safe than sorry!

palabanas said:
device or no device the lesson here is to be extra careful. don't take everything for granted. nowadays you couldn't know who is your friend and foe. if you want to leave your laptop in the car, leave in the boot. if not carry it wherever you go.
it's not just the laptop,but the information inside it. imagine if someone get hold of your sensitive information. you don't just lost your laptop but maybe a lot more than that. better safe than sorry!

Yup correct... its the info and data inside that matters lah.....
I will never ever leave my notebook unattended anywhere lor.....