Evo 3 Gearbox help!!

GTi_EVOIII

Hi all sifus in here,

I have a problem with my evo 3 gearbox. When i decelerate, i can hear loud rattling noise from my gearbox. What is the source of it? Worn out gears? Can i service it to eradicate the noise?

If i need to change it, can anyone give me the model/serial number of an evo 3 gearbox. if i'm not mistaken it is W5M33 XXXX?

Why the final drive for evo 3 gearbox is said to be higher when it is 5.3 compared to evo 1 n 2 which is 5.4. I thought higher number means the ratio is higher as in the case of honda for example 4.7 is higher than 4.4

Lastly, if i replace my evo3 gearbox with an eclipse 2wd gearbox, would it help my acceleration or it will suffers. What is the pros and cons of having this gearbox compare with evo3 gearbox?

Thanks in advance.

bro i duno what cud be ur problem
but if u plan to go for eclipse 2wd gearbox why dont u go for wira diesel 2wd 2litre gearbox.. with an e3 in ur engine bay the top end u can achieve with it will be damn awesome.. im using it with a gsr engine and really satisfied with it even though its not responsive on low gears

Oh, ic, thanks for the input. Just went to M L chop shop at puchong. Initially, they told me that they have in stock evo 3 gearbox. If i really want it, they will take it out from the store for me to buy ( not to see/verify) However, to confirm again it if is a genuine evo 3 gearbox b4 buying, that fellow turnaround and said all their gearboxes are evo 1. Sigh, very good customer service. Nvm, the point is, diff to look for items in klang valley nowadays.

Back to gearbox for my car, i prefer acceleration rather than top end. Currently the top speed of 240 km/h is good enough for me i think.

Write your reply...