Engine transplant..

Fox311

Hi guys.. i'm from singapore.. and i drive a Lancer04 4G18 SOHC..

Lately when i have been surfing your forums, i noticed that most of you are able to do an engine transplant in yr car..

I am also interested in putting a 1.8l 4G93 SOHC into my lancer but there's a problem.. Singapore laws are strict.. changing the size of yr engine can get you into real trouble.. If i am going to do this.. i need to everthing look like its stock.

So i am wondering is there a way to achieve a 1.8l 4G93 SOHC which looks exactly like my stock 4G18..(Does a 4G93 looks exactly like a 4G18)

If this is possible what other considerations should i know..(Gear box issues, Mountings for the engine, wiring for engine, etc)

Lastly how much will a job like this costs?

Thank you.. hope to hear from you all soon..

the inspection i have a way to get thru it with flying colors.. its just the normal driving around.. and i get pulled over to check my bonnet... thats what i'm afraid of..

nope.. the 4g93 engine is more packed when stuffed in ur engine bay.. 4g18 engine will most likely have lots of spaces here n there if compared

hmm.. Is there a way to combine the upper part of a 4G18 block and the lower block of a 4G93... will it work... or will it not fit.. i've heard of someone telling me this.. just wanna confirm is it true?

u can transplant...but make sure the outer looks of the car is not ah beng and looks stock standard or else authorities will kacau...i know someone did...upgraded car to 1.6 from 1.3 and using 1.3 roadtax...no kacau even when passing by road block...a real sleeper...

Fox311 said:
hmm.. Is there a way to combine the upper part of a 4G18 block and the lower block of a 4G93... will it work... or will it not fit.. i've heard of someone telling me this.. just wanna confirm is it true?

nope..it wont fit! only 4g9X series can mix and match wif its own family..
example : 4g92 head + 4g93 block = possible..

and 4g13 head + 4g15 block..also possible...

ok...thanks alot guys for the feedback...

So if i'm deciding to do an engine transplant to a 4G93 SOHC... i must get a half cut right? Because the wirings, engine mounting, gearbox will all need to be changed right...

anything else must i look into..?

r u sure u dont want a dohc instead?

i think u should revise ur suspension too n brakes too..

so where can we get the 4g93 sohc half cut? so far i heard many workshops in JB cannot get it.
anyone can advise the price of getting one as well?