Engine swap

eugenekeith

hi to all sifus ,
just wanna know that do Honda Civic 1.7 version able to transplant a B18cR engine in ?
if any sifus know whr can do it , hope sifus can provide more info on this dream project of mine .
thanks alot :wavey:

Mostly ppl dump in K series engine..Yet to see B series in Civic ES..Y dun u just plonk in the dc5r engine?

b18c-r h/cut is not cheap either, 11-12k..k20a h/cut whr got dat exp?..

http://www.mudah.my/Samurai+honda+dc5+type+r+half+cut+offer-14320244.htm

http://www.mudah.my/Honda+dc5+k20a+type+r+half+cut+for+civic+es-12195862.htm?last=1

---------- Post added at 04:10 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:08 PM ----------

http://www.mudah.my/DC5+halfcut-14541371.htm

b18c-r h/cut is not cheap either, 11-12k..k20a h/cut whr got dat exp?..

http://www.mudah.my/Samurai+honda+dc5+type+r+half+cut+offer-14320244.htm

http://www.mudah.my/Honda+dc5+k20a+type+r+half+cut+for+civic+es-12195862.htm?last=1

---------- Post added at 04:10 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:08 PM ----------

http://www.mudah.my/DC5+halfcut-14541371.htm

wow , thanks ehdrian .
according to JPJ rules , is it possible to jump from 1.7 to 2.0 ?

the limit is 20-25%, if u want to know more then u shud ask runner..still 1.7 to 2.0 is less than 20% increment, so i guess it shud be alright..maybe u can join civic ES forum and ask the bros there..

http://www.myteames.com/forum/

If you have the time to do it yourself, you don't need a runner at all. It is very easy to do it. Especially if its a displacement increase of less than 25%

http://www.myviturbo.com/2012/01/how-to-endorse-your-change-of-engine-with-jpj-puspakom-inspection/

yes, agree the procedure was simple as long as u can take 2-3 days leave.
a friend of mine has done conversion from 1.6 to 2.0 and is legally on the road. thus, i suppose 1.7 to 2.0 is not an issue if ur concern is on the cc upgrade permission.

Another thing is engine mounting cannot be modified, right? Legal way that is......

ya , as what sifu vr2turbo said , engine mounting will be an issue for the approval right ? and heard that jpj are much more strict for engine approval nowadays compare to the old days . :banghead:

u can get a mounting kit from hasport (if im not wrong, i know they carry the kit for K20 into EK/EG chassis) AND i've seen a b16a into an ES before. illegal but owner has balls of steel.

best engine for an ES is undoubtedly k20a. dont waste time and money on b-series into an ES chassis. u'll only give urself headache and trouble.

ya , as what sifu vr2turbo said , engine mounting will be an issue for the approval right ? and heard that jpj are much more strict for engine approval nowadays compare to the old days . :banghead:

A lot of chop shop and engine swap happening, that is why JPJ tighten the procedure.
Last time when I did years ago, just have to approach JPJ with the purchase engine papers, registration card, fill in form and immediately they alter and chop the registration card.

K20A bro because the K20A is a much newer engine and that means that you will get more value for your money.b18's mostly are 10-17 years old....good luck with your project..spare at least 20k for the engine and installation..:biggrin:

Depending on what engine went in, if the power increase is a lot, please mod the suspension and brakes too......

so true bro,too many ahbengs put 1000bhp engines in their civics but leave out the brakes and the suspension system...power without control is Nothing..hehe..have to take in mind that a K20A is going to be much heavier than the stock 1.7..the front is going to be much heavier, understeer and torque steer might be an issue when the suspension is not sorted out, and im pretty sure the 1.7 es does not have rear disc break right...just my 2 cents :driver: keep calm and chive on!

how abt keeping dat amount for conversion n sell ur current ES for a DC5 or a FD2R.... RM20k more than enuf for the downpayment....
just a suggestion thou...

After down payment got to continue monthly installments woh? but shiok factor is there........