engine 'knocking'

NoNac

hello all. i'm a little worried about the sound my engine is making recently after installing cams into it. i'm afraid it could be related to engine 'knocking' due to improper air/fuel mixture. but i'm not sure... can someone tell me how is it that we know our engines are 'knocking'?? what kinds of sound does it make and how to fix it!?!

spark knock

a knock which is recurrent and repeatable in terms of audibility. something like a sound of a moving chain

it sound like old saga accelerating after passing by a bump...
or maybe u can try to use ur 4th gear to climb hill..
then i'm pretty sure the knocking sound will there...

NoNac said:
hello all. i'm a little worried about the sound my engine is making recently after installing cams into it. i'm afraid it could be related to engine 'knocking' due to improper air/fuel mixture. but i'm not sure... can someone tell me how is it that we know our engines are 'knocking'?? what kinds of sound does it make and how to fix it!?!

Most probably your cam setup wrongly,,dial in (set) your cam again until the knocking noise gone. The sound is like szrattt,,,(electricity buzz) when you rev and the engine felt "thight". Setup your cam again using the gauge well.

FYI using aftermarket cams with wrong cam setup (miss 1 tooth) can lead to this, exhasut cam retard also can lead to this. What cams did you install ? If you using JUN cam with pulleys, the timing "lari" a bit eventhough you follow the manuals. Bcoz of the pulleys.

like mine oso got knocking... what is the max advance/retard setting for the standard cam like b16a/ctr/itr

Google "det-can"... its an old school device to detect pre-detonation and knocking.. and its cheap some more to built. Surprisingly... its working.

After that, u need a device that can pull back your ign timing... if not juz back off at dizzy.. until u cant hear any metallic disco beat.

Hope this will help to all DIY tuner out there... heh heh

more specific, search on hondatech site...

it juz a F1 earplug, hard fuel/oil hose and T fitting.

Eventhough we knew that the engine knock,,we must know how is the knock came from ? Issit from fuel lean up,,,,cam setup,,,tempereture,,,to much advance,,,low grade fuelling ??

Retard the ign timing solve the timing problem only, but it wont cure wrong cam adjustment.

thanks guys for all your reply.. the cams i'm using is exospeed 272intake and 258exhaust. it's for my d16a... yeap!! a SOHC nonvtec.. :(
my mechanic installed the cams setting it with the dial. then he tuned it to advance 2 degrees.
quick question, can you hear the knocking sound when the car is idling? is there a very distinctive sound in the engine bay when the bonnet is open... or can you only hear it clearly in the car?
thanks all sifus!

NoNac said:
thanks guys for all your reply.. the cams i'm using is exospeed 272intake and 258exhaust. it's for my d16a... yeap!! a SOHC nonvtec.. :(
my mechanic installed the cams setting it with the dial. then he tuned it to advance 2 degrees.
quick question, can you hear the knocking sound when the car is idling? is there a very distinctive sound in the engine bay when the bonnet is open... or can you only hear it clearly in the car?
thanks all sifus!

Cannot describe the sound to you bcoz you will not able to trace it:regular_smile: do refer to your mechanic.

if u r not using ridiculously loud exhaust...then its pretty clear...i mean the sound of knocking....