End of Manual Transmission?

Drove a low end BMW with that brilliant 8 speed ZF. Sorry, manual gearboxes can be laid to rest now. Just like the mighty Nokia.

But if I want a toy... definitely a Lotus Elise with a stick. If I'm buying a car I'll have one of those 8 speed ZF.

Drove a low end BMW with that brilliant 8 speed ZF. Sorry, manual gearboxes can be laid to rest now. Just like the mighty Nokia.

But if I want a toy... definitely a Lotus Elise with a stick. If I'm buying a car I'll have one of those 8 speed ZF.

A friend of mine who drove Waja manual test driven another friend's F30 320i with 8 speed ZF. He told me that the car is good but his Waja manual and my car is more engaging and fun to drive because they are manual. He said the F30 is not so exciting.

Manual 'kaki' will always prefer manual, no matter what... :driver:

A friend of mine who drove Waja manual test driven another friend's F30 320i with 8 speed ZF. He told me that the car is good but his Waja manual and my car is more engaging and fun to drive because they are manual. He said the F30 is not so exciting.

The gearbox is brilliant for normal driving. Smoothness, and the kick down is fast and responsive. The rpm matching between the box and the lowly engine's power curve is just at the right spot.

Didn't say it was fun. Lol.

Hahaha, don't think I will prefer a manual during federal highway after office hour jam! Don't mind a manual on open roads and twisties.

Soon, cars will drive us around (Tesla autopilot?) and we will lose more exercise for our brain and body coordination. :stupid:

I think auto pilot cars will not be too soon, at least to become affordable for mid level income people. Plus it's not just the cars but also the infrastructure and the traffic laws to accommodate such cars. By the time we arrive there, that will be a boring time but maybe I'm also already getting too old to enjoy a drive already.

got auto parking dy :smokin:

Yup, but depends also. Like bro. ixeo mentioned, open winding road will be nice, but cruising on highway or in a jam, auto better.....lol

Depends on what manual, hahahaha. If Kancil manual, it doesn't really feel much like a manual. Everything is just small and light. :rofl:

The gearbox is brilliant for normal driving. Smoothness, and the kick down is fast and responsive. The rpm matching between the box and the lowly engine's power curve is just at the right spot.

Didn't say it was fun. Lol.

Hahaha, don't think I will prefer a manual during federal highway after office hour jam! Don't mind a manual on open roads and twisties.

Your comments about the fast response of the gearbox is same with my friend who owns the F30. He did said that the shift times and response of the gearbox is very quick which he thinks is not that far away from double clutch gearbox. However, since it is a torque converter at the end, it still saps more power than double clutch or semi auto gearbox with automated clutch.

As for fun factor, even I din't feel much in the F30. The owner and the other friend agrees after going for a drive in my Wira. They said that although my car is slower than the F30, it feels more exciting because the engine sound is louder and during shifts, they can feel the power kicking in after each shift compared to the smooth shifting in F30 where power delivery is linear. Noise insulation is also much better in F30 so, they can't really feel anything or hear much of the engine sound.

Yup, but depends also. Like bro. ixeo mentioned, open winding road will be nice, but cruising on highway or in a jam, auto better.....lol

Depends on where you drive. If like on my place, should be okay for now. 10 years later, I can't say because traffic in Ipoh is getting heavier in recent years.

For you, Ipoh outskirt ok mah. Tg. Tualang, Batu Gajah, Bota, Parit have nice roads.....:driver:

Yeah, it's a real torture going through traffic jam on a daily basis in a manual car. :banghead: Nowadays whenever I go to KL I will never drive my old civic.

For you, Ipoh outskirt ok mah. Tg. Tualang, Batu Gajah, Bota, Parit have nice roads.....:driver:

Yeah. Or from Kampar to Tapah also nice to drive. Last month tried a mountain road from Chenderiang to Tapah. Very tight corners but too bad middle of the road got reflectors so it is bumpy when I drive over them.

Roads around Seri Iskandar, Bruas, Manong & Teluk Intan are also nice to drive.

Near Seri Iskandar to Kampung Bali then to Tg. Tualang is a fun road to drive. Bruas, Manong and Teluk Intan haven't been to those place before. :biggrin:

Yeah. Or from Kampar to Tapah also nice to drive. Last month tried a mountain road from Chenderiang to Tapah. Very tight corners but too bad middle of the road got reflectors so it is bumpy when I drive over them.

Near Seri Iskandar to Kampung Bali then to Tg. Tualang is a fun road to drive. Bruas, Manong and Teluk Intan haven't been to those place before. :biggrin:

Weiii...penang got balik pulau/long boi, sungai lembu. 2 only ? or i still under coconut shell. :hmmmm:

island got more flatland except balik pulau road. Hill side road from Relau to Air itam, quite steep too. If less car quite nice to boost a long the road. lol...
Sungai lembu in mainland, nice winding road but a lot of sand lorry passing by. Potong stim.

Weiii...penang got balik pulau/long boi, sungai lembu. 2 only ? or i still under coconut shell. :hmmmm:

go further down abit..naik cameron eat strawberry ice cream then go back down...hahaha

any has experience touge in modern auto gbox/semi auto?:driver: