Ecu chip rechip. Is it neccesary ?

freeman1314

Just want to know more about changing ECU chip before changing.
I know there's alot of chips to choose from and most have different basemap from stock and might remove rev cut and changine vtec engage point and timing.
But some says some chip which changes your vtec engage point will actually do more harm to your engine rather than increasing it's power?
Can sifus giv advice and more info about changing chip ?

to me rechip is not that good but is good for budget playing...coz those map is fix and we can't retune it.different engine different setup so is not that good lor..better get a hondata or other piggyback. my uncle b16 with toda A cam use FEEL's rechip feel alot better then stock but there is still alot of tuning can be done to unleash the engine max output..

---------- Post added at 07:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:47 PM ----------

some chip engage vtec at 4800 and some at 5600...if we engage vtec too early it will let our engine breath in too much air at that moment..causing lag on it..we can see from dyno graph if we engage it too low the torque and hp will drop instead of going up...

got cash...piggybacks...got budget...rechips...for rechips better consult users/tuners as it depends on your current mods...

for honda engine my beset recommand is hondata s300 for b series..i am using it and i feel it really nice and frendly use...

But some says some chip which changes your vtec engage point will actually do more harm to your engine rather than increasing it's power?

well dat 'some' is those who regret rechip their ecu :P
but i think , for fun ok la for remove speed cut , rev cut watsoever.
if u want a bit serious like retune the vtec timing and all, get a proper ecu. done .

during my time...ive used Feel's rechip for 1 year plus...ok ony...those who knows me shud remember my driving style...9krpm all the way...there is no day without wotting...ahahhaha...

B16A
RX7 fuel pump
Oversized throttle body
Type R header

Standard ma

Can i use rechipid ecu and vafc togather? I recently just convert my tranny to manual and change to spoon rechiped p2t ecu but will it work well with vafc or i have to take out the vafc? My car still havent sent for tuning.

I don't really understand tuned chip and copy chip. Copy chips are immitation right? What about tuned chip ?

gogo...go find bro jin..but u have to send ur whole car come PJ from sabah haha,...
bro death..u just open ur ECU cover snap a pic or few let bro jin see kao tim lor ....

• DSC04637.jpg
    DSC04637.jpg
    105.5 KB · Views: 290
ur is spoon ecu ma..

That day i went to my mec place he suggest me to use mugen obd1 rechipped he say will perform better then this spoon obd2 ecu. As far as i know hodata s300 is the best for obd1 not sure bout mugen. Any comment bro jin?