DIY Voltage Stabilizer

n305er,
dude.. cant c ur pics leh...

Seabiscuit,
u make ur VS to connect at de cigarette lighter socket?

Originally posted by sam1741@Jan 26 2005, 12:35
hi everyone, sifu-sifu....

i got something to ask.....

i saw many of u using a lot a lot a lot of capacitors....
i thinking...
what if the time when those caps with smaller Farad discharge finish
then some caps with bigger Farad value still got electrict..
instead of supplying voltage to our appliance which need it
those remaining caps will also need to supply voltage to charge up those caps that are completely discharge....

right?

plz correct me if i wrong
well... u got a point there....

but de idea of using diff values is to smoothen de voltage at diff frequencies... diff value of caps have diff charging n discharge rate....

its electricity..current.. not water... :P

correct me if i'm wrong

Originally posted by Seabiscuit@Jan 26 2005, 11:57
After 2 months of searching of suitable caps. finally completed my very own VS.

All using hi-quality ELNA 16V 105c caps at diffirent Farad.
http://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/uploads/post-15-1106711206.jpg

http://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/uploads/post-15-1106711259.jpg

http://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/uploads/post-15-1106711312.jpg
ahhhh....where u got the elna?

Originally posted by khguan@Jan 26 2005, 12:39
n305er,
dude.. cant c ur pics leh...

Seabiscuit,
u make ur VS to connect at de cigarette lighter socket?
The cigarette socket thingy is just for testing purposes. The socket has an on/off switch which I can turn on and off while driving to test the different.

xtorm, haha... very very difficult to find oh. I got it from a spoilt AC/DC power distributor of factory machine.

Just tested this morning with that socket connection. Feel like the ICE sounds clearer and engine runs smoother. Wait till I connect directly to the batt. :)

Idle voltage
Before = 13.54v
After= 13.76v (note:the main purpose of VS is to stabilizing voltage instead of increasing voltage.)

Cost of DIY.
project board =RM1.60
blackbox =RM5.00
220mA resistor and LED = extremely cheap
Fuse and fuse holder = FOC
Caps = About RM3.50 each
Spent whole day soldering = priceless

wah.. urs caps r expensive.... i think i can get rm2.XX in melaka for 105C caps

de cigarette socket thing can buy wan ah.. electronic shop got sell...

seabicuit, u not worried aa ur battery will go flat when u put the LED ?

btw, i notice there is a few difference ppl using here. i notice some only solder the legs and use jumper wires and some use the solders to connect each caps. are they using different type of boards ?

dude.. putting a LED wun drain de batt much.. my VS has a LED to tell me whether de fuse is blown or not...

SeaBiscuit's PCB(printed circuit board) is not interconnected... so he has to use jumper wires to connect them....

my PCB is with lines.. so just solder on de board can liao... those thick soldering is just to increase de current flow....

notice dat my PCB got copper lines along it... so i just use jumper wires to connect all caps in parallel...

also got one LED soldered parallel to de caps....

Now I'm looking for these cables and some 30Amp Fuse.

I don't know where to find those kind of cables or the one you guys are using. Looks like expensive audio cables...

well.. its ok... one thing.. no need to use 30amp fuse..

i just use 10 amp.. no prob... in fact i bought 10A, 15A, 20A, 25A fuse each 1pc for testing.. in case de smaller rating blows up... then use higher rating wan... well looks like de other 3 fuses r collection now.. hehe

those nice cable u can use thick speaker cables... dats wat i'm using... but make sure u dun wire them wrongly... normally they will have a line marking one of de cables..

my advice is triple check on ur VS outlet cable connected correctly.. n also check very very carefully b4 installing or touching de cables to ur batt terminals... if put terbalik.. ur caps may become a bomb.. haha

I tried charge up the cap bank with 9v batt. The led lighted up and it takes few minutes to drain the cap charge to zero. This will determind that the caps are working fine or not.

The copper line you see in my pic is actually wires pulled out from industrial grade 220VAC power cable.

khguan, the cigarette plug was taken from my old multiple socket. considered junk in my toolbox. who knows one day it become very handy.

n305er, Just go cut some slightly better speaker wire can oledi. :) Just my little opinion on your project. Don't you think your PCB seems quite big that u might have problem putting into a box?

looks like we hav more n more DIY VS coming up,, :lol: cheers man~~!!

From what i observe, u all use the same type of cap (electrolytic) one,, I suppose adding in mica and others into the pcb will bring a better effect. Pls refer to the diagrame i post 2 weeks ago.

As wat u all have done, I also did the same thing. Frankly speaking, the effect of my VS nearly hard to identify or very marginal. I take the DIY Vs (voltech) as a benchmark. Although i have tried the Voltech VS for onli 20 mins, but the effect is so much diff. The first thing is the ignition, i can feel my wira just start instantly as i turn my key. The 2nd thing is the power.. i think got slight improvement ..although my butt might have felt it wrongly.

So, after doing research here n there, i think we shud add in DIFF TYOE OF CAP TO COPE DIFF FREQUENCY ,, rather than just put in diff value of cap.

Anyone agree with me???? ;)

Originally posted by ah lee@Jan 26 2005, 17:29
looks like we hav more n more DIY VS coming up,, :lol: cheers man~~!!

From what i observe, u all use the same type of cap (electrolytic) one,, I suppose adding in mica and others into the pcb will bring a better effect. Pls refer to the diagrame i post 2 weeks ago.

As wat u all have done, I also did the same thing. Frankly speaking, the effect of my VS nearly hard to identify or very marginal. I take the DIY Vs (voltech) as a benchmark. Although i have tried the Voltech VS for onli 20 mins, but the effect is so much diff. The first thing is the ignition, i can feel my wira just start instantly as i turn my key. The 2nd thing is the power.. i think got slight improvement ..although my butt might have felt it wrongly.

So, after doing research here n there, i think we shud add in DIFF TYOE OF CAP TO COPE DIFF FREQUENCY ,, rather than just put in diff value of cap.

Anyone agree with me???? ;)
I'm not sure. I'm complete idiot on electronics. Just following ppl's butt. :P Just the 16v 105 grade already difficult to find. Now you suggesting mica cap. I wanna pengsan liow lo. mind to post a pic of mica? how does it looks like?