Did my first DIY sanding and polishing of headlamp for a friend. Posted here because of DIY and not in Auto Detailing because that one is sifu area....
This lamp was in really bad state, so he remove and send to my house and ask to attempt reconditioning it for him.
He mentioned he has already sent to accessory shop for polishing but they could not do it.
Here is how the condition when it came....

Close up

Even closer

There is a layer of melted plastic on top, that is why the accessory shop could not polish it off
This needed extreme measures to recondition.
Grit 100 sandpaper to remove the top melted layer, then grit 500 to remove grit 100 sandpaper mark, then 800 to 1500 and lastly to 2000 grit to get smooth surface before polishing.
Wet sanding

After 500 grit sanding

Trial on one side see how it goes

Not bad....
Before

After

You will still see some water marks. Apparently these are on the inside because these headlamps were cut open before to fit projector laps
Before

Finished Project....

Thanks for viewing.....
Oh! Not pro, so using OTC product only....This.....

This OTC product can be bought in Hypermarkets like Tesco, Aeon BIG and so on.
By hand need more elbow grease. I had help by borrowing my friend's rotary for the last part..
Did my first DIY sanding and polishing of headlamp for a friend. Posted here because of DIY and not in Auto Detailing because that one is sifu area....
This lamp was in really bad state, so he remove and send to my house and ask to attempt reconditioning it for him.
He mentioned he has already sent to accessory shop for polishing but they could not do it.
Here is how the condition when it came....

Close up

Even closer

There is a layer of melted plastic on top, that is why the accessory shop could not polish it off
This needed extreme measures to recondition.
Grit 100 sandpaper to remove the top melted layer, then grit 500 to remove grit 100 sandpaper mark, then 800 to 1500 and lastly to 2000 grit to get smooth surface before polishing.
Wet sanding

After 500 grit sanding

Trial on one side see how it goes

Not bad....
Before

After

You will still see some water marks. Apparently these are on the inside because these headlamps were cut open before to fit projector laps
Before

Finished Project....

Thanks for viewing.....
Oh! Not pro, so using OTC product only....This.....

This OTC product can be bought in Hypermarkets like Tesco, Aeon BIG and so on.
By hand need more elbow grease. I had help by borrowing my friend's rotary for the last part..