DIY - Dismantle TB

edwin_lcw

anyone has any idea how to dimantle the TB from the engine ..... i wanna clean my TB ..... any pro ?

i thnk u need to replace gasket if u r dismantle n replace it back...

juz clean TB..u can use liquid to clean ma....dismantle the whole tb so troublesome u know....

and wat hapens if u forgot how to replace? die lo......

yup.. don't have to dismantle the throttle body.. just use carburettor cleaner spray.. costs around RM 20.. just remove air filter ram and spray directly into TB.. u may need a little more cranking to get the engine to start the 1st time.. u can do that regularly yourself, takes 5 minutes..

if u wish to take it out, normally tight down with 4 screws

pay attention to water hose, fuel line (if carb), vacum hose, n the throttle line ofcos

carefull with the gasket, so u wont hav to change it, but its very cheap if u made it urself.

wah seems very hard ..... gotta learn more first ..... well stick to the old way
anyone come up wit some pics ar ? ..... those old style TB cleaning sien oledi ..... wanna go harder ones .....

DIT project: Throttle Body Cleaning
Subject: edwin's WiSE
Engine: 4G15 (Siemens-VDO)

http://drexchan.fotopic.net/c934103.html Step-by-step information is given.

Idling speed adaptation:
1. Reset the ECU by removing the 20A fuse labeled "ECI" for a while.
2. Start the car, switch off all lights, a/c, HU.
3. idle the engine for 15 minutes or until the idling speed falls back to 800 - 900 rpm.
4. off the engine
5. turn the key to On position
6. OFF the ignition switch
7. ignite the engine, the idling speed should be at the normal rpm range in a short while.

Might experience higher idling speed for a day or two, depends on the mileage, especially at the moment the car is just stopped.

wah damn good man .... but wanna do again liao .... nearly 2 month oledi .... still looking for that gasket holder ..... other cars i did it without the gasket marker ? actually whats the use of that gasket ?

easy lah....don't have to dismantle TB. only use air intake cleaner, RM20.

1. Run engine to normal operating temperature.
2. Turn off engine.
3. Disconnect air-intake duct from throttle body.
4. Place towel or rag under butterfly throttle to collect residue
5. Spray into throat, while moving the butterfly valve back and forth, until clean.
6. Replace air-intake duct.
7. Use every 3000 miles.

save RM60 - RM100. :)

even if you take it out for throughout cleaning, you are not going to spend RM60 - RM100 mar. DIY..

Oh crap. the last DIT we did I don't recall seeing the gasket. Is this thing easily replaceable?

yes the green color gasket can be replaced easily. It will come out once the TB is dismantled from the intake manifold.

anyone can tell me satria 1.3 year 2000. after dismantle TB, cleaning then install bak. need to reset ECU??
ppl told me mine is Mitsubishi. wat mitsubishi they meant?? the ECU??
thx.

anyone can tell me satria 1.3 year 2000. after dismantle TB, cleaning then install bak. need to reset ECU??
ppl told me mine is Mitsubishi. wat mitsubishi they meant?? the ECU??
thx.

can anyone tell me??
coz i wan to understand i need or need not before DIY.

Maybe no need to reset ECU.. for Siemens-VDO, the idling will be high for a few minutes but the ECU will compensate automatically.

Removing the TB carefully won't result in torn gasket, can easily remove, clean, and put back. The TB is aluminum alloy and doesn't rust, so it's actually quite easy to clean will all sorts of solvents. Heck, I've even tried spraying diluted dishwasher and Dynamo at it. Dynamo works damn well!! You can see the black gunk just flowing right off! Then you can just hose the TB clean, wipe it, shake it to rid it of all that water and leave it under the hot sun for a while to ensure it's totally dried.

I've cleaned mine many many times by using water and dishwasher or Dynamo.. no TB damage or problems so far :wavey:

been awhile since i posted here.....:D

since you guys edi dismantle the throttle, take a stick or something like it and attach a sponge at the end, dig the sponge to some solvent and clean the intake manifold as well, your engine will love it, change those gasket (if it old) and put some high temp gum on it too, did mine and love it