Daily or Weekend Coupe? & Maintenance

Daniel Lee

Is your Coupe a Daily car or a Weekend car?
How do you maintain your car at tip top condition?
(eg, How frequent you wash your Coupe?
At what mileage you change your Coupe lubricant?
What type of lubricant you use on your Coupe?
How and what you check on your Coupe during every morning?
Battery? Timing Belt? Tyres?)
:_:

Type: weekend car
Maintenance:
Car cover (the actualy objective is to wash less :biggrin:),
washing frequency? never fix it, do it whenever is necessary,
NEVER-EVER Change Engine oil more than 4 months OR more than mileage travel indicated,
Send for 3 layers polish + wax (sometime 6 months/8 months),
Wednesday - short ride, Weekend - "some little" boost to do exercise :biggrin:,
Do not rev high until my engine temperature reach normal
and the list goes on.... ( I believe Ace having much more longer list, hahaha )

Lubricant: Tried
1. Shell Helix Fully Synthetic
2. Shell Helix Semi Synthetic
3. Castrol Semi Synthetic (Current) feel better than SHELL

Wanna try: Motul
Lubricant change, less than 4 months or
Fully synthetic - 10,000KM
Semi synthetic - 7,000KM (some say 6,000KM :biggrin:)

Others:
I don't do checking (very bad, :biggrin:), but I use the digital air pump at SHELL (it adjust your tire air pressure, not just pump in) before I take for weekend ride and I'll be very keh-po-chi when my car in workshop, so not every mech like me. :laugh:

I try to fix problem as soon as I discover it, but at the same time, many mod idea flying in head, with limited budget, things need to be controlled, if not never get marry :laugh:

Guideline, I found it useful for beginner, share with you all.
http://www.samarins.com/maintenance/engmain.html

and if you have new engine/ new car
http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm

PS: Engine oil is 1 thing I never torelate.
PS: Therer are many maintenance tip over the web, need to search for it, maybe we can share it here. :biggrin:

Q:Is your Coupe a Daily car or a Weekend car?
A: Daily Ride.

Q:How do you maintain your car at tip top condition?
(eg, How frequent you wash your Coupe?
A: Once a week.

Q: At what mileage you change your Coupe lubricant?
A: 6 - 7,000km (Using semi-synthetic oil)

Q:What type of lubricant you use on your Coupe?
A: Shell Hilux Plus

Q: How and what you check on your Coupe during every morning?
Battery? Timing Belt? Tyres?)
A: Battery. Using No-refill type. Hence, no need to check.
Timing Belt - Can't see with naked eye. Will refer to manual, to change every 60,000km.
Tyres - Pump in 230Nm Front, 225Nm Back. A bit bumpy but will definitely reduce FC.

**PS..
I am hearing noise when revving 3,000RPM above for a while (around 4-5 seconds) ...once gear changed then ok...Any tips? Could it be timing belt problem?

My Coupe is a daily ride.
Use to wash my car once a month.
I'm using Shell Helix Super engine oil and changing is done every 4,500 km.
Battery, engine oil, coolant and tyres pressure will be check every once a month.

BS, the castrol semi-synthetic oil can last for how many km before the next oil change?

I'm thinking of changing to semi-synthetic oil. Currently using mineral based oil, Shell Helix Super and my car had clocked 162,000 km.
Will it be appropriate for me to change to semi-synthetic after my car had clocked 162k km?
Will there be any oil leak?
Any good fully and semi-synthetic engine oil to recommend?

Daniel,

Fully synthetic - 10,000 KM
Semi synthetic - 6,000 KM - 7,000 KM, the mech tell me to change next 7,000KM, but usually i change it before it hit 7,000 KM.

if oil leak at the engine cover, that's Gasket issue, not because of engine oil.

I think SHELL provide a very good website for you to choose the proper engine oil
http://www.shell.com/home/PlainPageServlet?FC=/my-en/tailored/shell_for_motorists/oils_lubricants/helix_new/app_choose_ga_0312.html

Mine now 6,000km and oil black liao.
Btw, I think my engine vibration (above 3,000rpm) could be due to engine mounting problem...any opinions guyz??? Dun wanna kena potong again...

BlackSamurai said:
Daniel,

Fully synthetic - 10,000 KM
Semi synthetic - 6,000 KM - 7,000 KM, the mech tell me to change next 7,000KM, but usually i change it before it hit 7,000 KM.

if oil leak at the engine cover, that's Gasket issue, not because of engine oil.

I think SHELL provide a very good website for you to choose the proper engine oil
http://www.shell.com/home/PlainPageServlet?FC=/my-en/tailored/shell_for_motorists/oils_lubricants/helix_new/app_choose_ga_0312.html

BS, thanks for the info...

Type: weekend and long distant car.

Maintenance:
Covered with car cloth as well objective just like BS :biggrin:
Will wash it whenever it is dirty
Will change engine oil once the oil is black and not more that 4mths interval
Wax it when ever is free usually at least 2 week once.
Will check whatever reachable by hand or eye. Such as, hose pipe, wiring connection, coolant, water level, oil, any leakage on the engine, car body check, suspention , tyre check, undercarrige check, fuel pressure (Install with SARD FPR). Exhaust sound check (any leakage) and finally all bulb.

Lubricant: Tested and tried
1. Motul 300V (the best but suck at pricing)
2. Castorl RS
3. Mobil 1
4. Motul 300 Gear (also the best for gear oil)

Other:
Tire pump with nitrogen so...don't have to check. only send it to the shop to monitor the pressure once a month. :_:

Wah, all the Coupe owners here are so caring towards their rides!!!.......:_:

Daniel, Ace is king of Coupe maintenance, I can't fight with him.

+ I don't have the motor to do my Waxing
+ I seldom clean my engine bay
+ I don't bypass hot air. :laugh:

hei.. not only me lah..
There are others who is as caring as me leh..
I just do it when ever I have time slot, not compulsory.

BlackSamurai said:
Daniel, Ace is king of Coupe maintenance, I can't fight with him.

+ I don't have the motor to do my Waxing
+ I seldom clean my engine bay
+ I don't bypass hot air. :laugh:

Ace, borrow me the waxing machine.......kekekeke......:_:

Dartango
i get my stupid mounting
the front part mounting onli for RM 90 one piece
back mounting dunno how much?
original from hyundai

Daniel, if you willing to drive all the way. No prob! lending you the machine heh :)

Ace, I will go to Sintok, Kedah in November. Can stop by at Penang and wax my car then head to Sintok again......hahaha.......
BS, wanna join me???:_:

wengfhai_5889 said:
Dartango
i get my stupid mounting
the front part mounting onli for RM 90 one piece
back mounting dunno how much?
original from hyundai
wengfhai, what happen to your engine mouting? engine vibrate?

you rev too much until the mounting all koyak? LOL

daniel, where is sintok? i know sentul. :biggrin:
now my project schedule jam pack. let me know, if i can join, i will go, visit Ace also. but better dun put too high hope on me. My project schedule change all the time, one call will determine my weekend time.

BlackSamurai said:
daniel, where is sintok? i know sentul. :biggrin:
now my project schedule jam pack. let me know, if i can join, i will go, visit Ace also. but better dun put too high hope on me. My project schedule change all the time, one call will determine my weekend time.

BS, Sintok is near to the boarder of Thailand and Kedah.
Just the exit before the famous end of the North-South highway (Bukit Kayu Hitam).
I will inform you a week before hand in November.
We can go and borrow Ace waxing machine to wax our car.........kekekekeke............:_:

wah...you guys are welcome. Got to warn you guys first. I'm using a bosch drill machine that can be converted into waxing type. Not those mainly for waxing only. :)