Coolant for BT

• Thread starter sincere1
  • Start date
  • Replies 16
  • Views 2K
S

sincere1

what kind of coolant for BT (hard drive)

there are 2 kinds coolant at market
(1) 4L direct pour and use. Do not need to dilute with water
(2) 1-2L need to dilute with water
- normal ratio 1:1 (1L water & 1L coolant)
- 33% as per attached photo (what's mean 33%? to mix with 67% water ?)
some is indicated as 80% ????

any suggestion?

Noted: i used before the toyota brand coolant but it last only for 3 months..it became brown color, when new the color is red

(1)
coolanttopfuel.jpg

(2)
coolant.jpg

sincere1 said:
Noted: i used before the toyota brand coolant but it last only for 3 months..it became brown color, when new the color is red

most probably the coolant is not original. Original coolant will remain reddish even after a year (provided you dun have to top up ur radiator often or very very dirty inside lar..)

how to check for original is soak ur finger in the coolant, and take it out. if u feel it's becoming warmer, tat is original.

the fake one use red powder in the coolant to make it lookalike. Note that the bottle is no different between the two. when u dip ur finger in and take it out, it feels just like normal cool water.

can it be said that the original one is oily feel...?

What is my next coolant type, as first thread mentioned
(1) coolant
(2) coolant + water

nope. it's not oily.

never use those fancy coolant before.. so.. dunno wat's the diff..hehe..

oily? gasket blow? mine just kena....radiator fan mati :sad_smile:

sincere1 said:
what kind of coolant for BT (hard drive)

there are 2 kinds coolant at market
(1) 4L direct pour and use. Do not need to dilute with water
(2) 1-2L need to dilute with water
- normal ratio 1:1 (1L water & 1L coolant)
- 33% as per attached photo (what's mean 33%? to mix with 67% water ?)
some is indicated as 80% ????

any suggestion?

Bro... I used about 1/2 year already also no changing colour.
The changing colour is maybe is:
1. Not original
2. Are your radiator got many "shen xiu" (in english dunno how to spell)
3. When u put this coolant did you flush it? I worry got other coolent combined with it.

changed the toyota coolant together with a new radiator top cover, and the claimed with flushing service, cost me RM200

2 possibility that
(1) fake coolant used
(2) the radiator is rusting

therefore, i need to get the rust off by blushing, refill with new coolant..., right?
but what kind of coolant to be used...or find the water wetter insteads of coolant ?

sincere1 said:
changed the toyota coolant together with a new radiator top cover, and the claimed with flushing service, cost me RM200

2 possibility that
(1) fake coolant used
(2) the radiator is rusting

therefore, i need to get the rust off by blushing, refill with new coolant..., right?
but what kind of coolant to be used...or find the water wetter insteads of coolant ?

If can... better lor...

BTW the charges very expensive lor..

Hi sincere1. For radiator cleaning, they would take out your radiator and do chemical flushing and pressure test for leaks.

Like mine take it out chemical flush, welding, incoming and outgoing water hose & toyota coolant, RM250. This one my mechanic do for me, if not he charges almost RM300 for it. We take the radiator to a specialist. So yours sound reasonable.

If you coolant for any reason turned brown, it is possibly engine oil contamination. Meaning gasket is bad. I used it and its still clear red in color.

I suggest you use the coolant + water, rather than that 4 liter (expensive RM150!!) variety. Race cars use that combo. Even TRD sells add in coolant. Better use the cash for better engine oil.

how much does toyota original coolant cost ar? i bought mine rm20++ (forget how much, i think 26 something) for 1 liter bottle need delute 1:1 with water. bring home din bother to delute it to the proper ratio, just 1 bottle tuang inside the radiator and fill it up with water.

i'm using my old ke70 radiator, last time overheat all the time because 20v is hotter, but after using the toyota's, it never overheat even once. already half a year, i did add in more water as it dries off slowly over the time, but still the color is the same as the day i bought it and my car still doesn't have any temperature problem on normal driving (never push hard long enough to see what's the difference, but at least i know i won't get overheat in the traffic jam anymore like last time.

what is the 20v temperature under normal drive and hard drvie condition..?

mine the temperature indicator hands to 8 o'clock in normal driving and
it hands to 9 o'clock when hard drive (rpm maintained at 6-8k for 20 to 30 mins)

oh..my water temp meter is different from you...i see one before , from left to right, mine is bottom to top...

netmatrix said:
Hi sincere1. For radiator cleaning, they would take out your radiator and do chemical flushing and pressure test for leaks.

Like mine take it out chemical flush, welding, incoming and outgoing water hose & toyota coolant, RM250. This one my mechanic do for me, if not he charges almost RM300 for it. We take the radiator to a specialist. So yours sound reasonable.

If you coolant for any reason turned brown, it is possibly engine oil contamination. Meaning gasket is bad. I used it and its still clear red in color.

I suggest you use the coolant + water, rather than that 4 liter (expensive RM150!!) variety. Race cars use that combo. Even TRD sells add in coolant. Better use the cash for better engine oil.

I 2nd this...

ok...this is the water temp condition..
normal drive in morning with light traffic
is it normal ?
However, it will raised to half when hard drive !!!

one SC owner told me his temp usually hands to 7o'clock, just raise from bottom end when raining day...!!!

watertemp.jpg