converting awd to 2wd

kaninbu

guys,
lately my hand start to itch,planning to convert to 2wd.removing center diff,rear diff n drive shaft will lose almost 100kg in weight.
awd is kind of heavy for city n highway use.
theoretically 2wd will have lighter acceleration n improve fc.
regarding losing grip on tarmac,i dun think is an issue bcos atr weight already heavy.
hope u guys can giv some comment.

I'll tend to be more conservative. I mentioned this before, the car is designed in a way with proper mathematical calculations based on every aspect. The AWD isn't there for nothing. So I'll stick to AWD setup.

Additionally, I also said before that I dragged with my BIL's Optima Evo IV, he lost to me all 3 times due to grip issue. Optima isn't a light car at all. :)

a good set of tire n 18inch rim shouldn't spin tat much.i need a 10sec car in a 1/4 mile

He's using 18" 225 tires. Too bad, it still spins while shifting from 2nd to 3rd. :(

wah...18 stil spin.
hmm...gotta rethink bout it edi.:smokin:

I'll tend to be more conservative. I mentioned this before, the car is designed in a way with proper mathematical calculations based on every aspect. The AWD isn't there for nothing. So I'll stick to AWD setup.

Additionally, I also said before that I dragged with my BIL's Optima Evo IV, he lost to me all 3 times due to grip issue. Optima isn't a light car at all. :)

Hi Stutz, your BIL's Optima Evo 4 must be highly modded & packing some serious horsepower.....OR he probably need some lesson on drag racing using a FWD.

If his optima Evo isn't fully loaded, I assumed he was revving the engine pretty high b4 he dumped the clutch at the starting line huh.

Or was it because the drag race U guys had, wasn't really a standard 1/4 mile distance?....hehehe

Frankly, knowing what engine RPM to hold it at matters a lot. U want the maximum power to take-off, yet must not exceed the grip your tires can provide. I'm still using the stock 16" rims & rubber, no wheel spin what so ever in my FWD setup, just gotta know how to handle it.

By the way, 18" setup wheel spin much easier than smaller setup. Smaller rims size mounts higher profile rubber, the tires actually flex and deformed for a split second, causing slight delay response & provide additional grip at launching.

avant,have u ever floor the pedal on 1st or 2nd gear?does ur tire scream like a lady?

Bro Advant, his car isn't modified. Just simple bolt on like open pod, exhaust and intercooler pipes. Everything else is stock. It'll be too much for the tire to take 140hp each side.

I've tried driven it before with gentle and aggressive manner. Even with gentle control and gradually flooring it, it's still too much for the front wheels to take. Probably I'm just a lousy driver.

On the drag, I really dunno at what rpm he takes off. Anyway, theorical limit for front drive car is 220hp anything more will be too difficult to handle. That's why fd2r is around 210hp n many other stock ff cars. I heard this statement from Jeremy Clarkson.

avant,have u ever floor the pedal on 1st or 2nd gear?does ur tire scream like a lady?

Yea...yea....I did a lot of that during my younger days....hehee.
Didn't know much about cars back then, teenager, new driving license, burnt 2 set of clutches in 1-year, killed 1 gearbox the following year, those were the crazi days. Thinking back, really silly driving like that, having tires screaming for traction, but car moving ahead so slow.

Why would U want to floor the pedal on 1st? unless U want to wheel spin the tires intentionally rite.

1 year 2 set of clutches,u drag racing ar?
after 2wd,how bout fc,improved?

wah,u must been driving a more faster car until a point u feel ur trek slow rite?

haha.. no la... my other car is slower. Well, soon my other car will be FASTER! :P