converting awd to 2wd

LSD is beneficial to handling isn't it? Why can't auto gearboxes have LSD? Haha pls enlighten me. Apparently you know something i don't! :)

Hi bluesamurai, nice of U to drop by our new Airtreker club =)
As far as I know of, other than the fact that both boxes can be bolt-on this engine, the internals of the E9 manual 6-speed box & airtrek autobox has nothing in common. I believe the E8 & E9 lsd is separate, only fits E8 & E9 6-speed manual boxes, dun think U can even use it in E4, E5, E6, or E7 boxes. U might want to check with your mechanic or racing kakis to confirm this yea.

Here's what I did to weld lock my Airtrek turbo center diff to 2WD. Our center diff is a vicious coupling type, a kind of LSD too I guess, to manage the power between front & rear wheels. The gearset u see in the pic are the ones splitting the power to front left & right wheels. So, the center & front diff is 1 whole unit combined, not a separate box like the E8 & E9 gb.
centerdiff.jpg

Bro,google 'lsd auto gearbox' n find yahoo answer or howstuffworks.com

Ok so you mean in the auto box, there is no transfer case, but rather the front diff & centre diff is one unit?

Actually i have known for some time those 1.8GSR and 2.0 Evo hybrid projects have to do some diff welding or something to so call "lock" the differentials for FF use. I have never fully understood why and how.

Sorry guys with all the noob questions. glad you are all around to answer them.

on a separate note, thanks AvanT for sharing the differential picture. Are you running a workshop or something?

EDIT: Ok AvanT so your profession is precision engineering. I am impressed with the quality of your work.

Where are all you guys based in btw? KL?

most of us from kl.no worries.this forum is to share info n makes life better....

haha i am from all the way down south. Actually i have no idea Malaysia got so many ATRs.

So just to ascertain; correct me if i am wrong. So in FF guise, the transfer case is still there right? the front diff is in the transfer case, and that the driveshafts are fed into the transfer case. I assume they are in equal length and identical?

Our AWD transfer case is a must use component that bolts-on directly to the gearbox, doesn't matter whether we're running auto or manual gearbox, FWD or AWD. As U can see in the following pic, took down my transfer case from my car during my 2WD conversion. U gotta use it coz the front-right driveshaft comes out of the AWD transfer case.

Photo0166.jpg

once u wield the center diff,there is no undo unless change the whole gearbox.

ok and the left comes out of the gearbox? so with that, the left & right driveshafts are different lengths, like an FF car?

once u wield the center diff,there is no undo unless change the whole gearbox.

No need to change the whole gearbox bro, just replace the whole transfer case OR the center diff will do if U want to go back to AWD.

Hi all airtreker here, i am new to the club. i have been reading this thread for some time and seriously considerating to convert my ATR to FWD. I could not find anyone in down south to do it for me . Guess only Ah Wah is the guy to go to. I need some feedback from you guys any issues so far since your modification? Does the FC really go down beside better response?

BTW, i am from Sin...

Hi all airtreker here, i am new to the club. i have been reading this thread for some time and seriously considerating to convert my ATR to FWD. I could not find anyone in down south to do it for me . Guess only Ah Wah is the guy to go to. I need some feedback from you guys any issues so far since your modification? Does the FC really go down beside better response?

BTW, i am from Sin...

Welcome to our new Airtreker club bro ST.
Yes...U'll get better mileage & better response with the Airtrek after converting to 2WD =)

Thinking of converting... Izzit really save a lot petrol ar?
Can share ur experience...

Hi cytien,
I have a Evo7 5-speed manual gear box driving front wheels only, getting better acceleration and fuel economy. I can average 430-450km for 50-liters ron95 petrol.

definitely better acceleration because pulling only 2 wheels.
fc fully depends on ur foot.after conversion it still behave like an 2.0 car.

Hi guys, thanks for the reply...
50 litre 430km very geng lerr..
I light footed only achieve 360..
Looks like going visit ah-Wah soon...

Hi guys, thanks for the reply...
50 litre 430km very geng lerr..
I light footed only achieve 360..
Looks like going visit ah-Wah soon...

360km per tank is normal for a std trek. Bro Kaninbu should be able to give u an idea how far a 2wd trek with auto box can go. Mine is special case coz I'm running manual box and tuned for better fuel consumption :)

Km/L perhaps?

Rm50 - 220km

Ron 95 = 9.24km/L
Ron 97 = 12.54 km/L

I believed its 95. Very saving man.