Component Inquiry

chejeff

Hi everybody,

1: Component with Mid-Bass Speaker
2: Component with Woofer

Q1: Can anyone explain what is the diff between this two?

Planning to buy:-

FOCAL POLYGLASS 165V2

6 1/2" COMPONENT SYSTEM
Woofer: 165mm.

Voice Coil: 25mm.

Magnet: 72mm.

Tweeter: Tioxyd TN 47.

Crossover: 2-way 12dB/octave (with adjustable tweeter level).

Q2 : Is this a good SPEAKER? (of is this even a speaker?)

Q3: Do i need to buy another component speaker after i install this?

Q4: Is RM500 a reasonable price for a New unit?

Q5: Any recommendation if i would like to pair it with Pioneer DEH-P7750MP HU? (Budget arounf RM500 for decent component)

All sifu Advice is very appreciated

Thanks in advance

Dude, mid-bass in terms of components is generally the same thing as woofer. In a simple 2-way component set (ie-tweeters and woofer), people just refer to it as midbass or woofer. In the more high-tech 3-way ones, there's tweeter, midbass AND woofer.

If that Focal you're buying is an original non-fake one, it's a good component. But you gotta test it to know whether you like it or not. As a general rule, use an amp to power these components. Your HU can power it but I think it's power RMS rating is something like 20watts.. which is not enough to fully utilize any component system.

So connect it like : P7550MP---(RCA cable)---> Amp ----(Speaker cable)--> Components

chejeff said:
Hi everybody,

1: Component with Mid-Bass Speaker
2: Component with Woofer

Q1: Can anyone explain what is the diff between this two?

Planning to buy:-

FOCAL POLYGLASS 165V2

6 1/2" COMPONENT SYSTEM
Woofer: 165mm.

Voice Coil: 25mm.

Magnet: 72mm.

Tweeter: Tioxyd TN 47.

Crossover: 2-way 12dB/octave (with adjustable tweeter level).

Q2 : Is this a good SPEAKER? (of is this even a speaker?)

Q3: Do i need to buy another component speaker after i install this?

Q4: Is RM500 a reasonable price for a New unit?

Q5: Any recommendation if i would like to pair it with Pioneer DEH-P7750MP HU? (Budget arounf RM500 for decent component)

All sifu Advice is very appreciated

Thanks in advance
which shop u went??
no way u can get a new focal polyglass 165v2 for Rm500, juz no way
high percentage its a fake item. the geniune polyglass series will cost u RM1k n above

kindly please check with audio active regarding the authorised dealer.

i know that the original price for the focal component cost more than RM1K. How could i tell if it is original or fake?

chejeff said:
i know that the original price for the focal component cost more than RM1K. How could i tell if it is original or fake?

It sounds like crap. Get them to give you a demo or money back if it does sound crap.