Complete 13b engine price

delimaputih

Hi there folks :)

I don't have any mazda at the moment but i do have a 1965 vw beetle that is anxious about getting a new rotary heart rather than a flat four...

So i'm begging for you guys to help me out if this project pulls through though...
First things first...how much would a decent, if not an excellent conditioned 13b engine would cost in the chop shops nowadays?

and would that cost covers the complete setup including the gearbox, wiring, and what nots? heheh

still need loads to know...anyway, thanks in advance for any replys from sifus and sensei here ya :)

usually, an OKAY OKAY engine would cost your wallet around 3K to 4 K.. depending millage on the engine.
yes it should include the gear box together as a set. wirings, hmmm that's the part.. i don't think so...

if u want with wires brakes etc... then half cut is your choice... that will cost you around 7 to 8 K depending on the condition.

serious i was wondering are you pulling ur car into a FR instead of the stock RR ?
air cooled engine VS water cooled engine, location for radiator is to be questioned.

i would say to stuff in a porsche engine is easier than putting rotary in it :)
faster as well :)

If the front has enuf space, get an FC engine (13BT) or halfcut. Cost u abt RM3k with transmission + engine moulding etc. It is the cheapest way to mod on ur beetle. But the modification on axle will cost u a lot. Will it be reliable? how long it going to last??
Like Alchemis mentioned, u need to sort out the location of the radiator and condeser etc. Not too sure the front bay will allow u to do that...

thanks for the input guys...had the idea when i stumble upon this dude called zenjoe who had a 12A in the bug...pretty cool one. Then i heard rumours on a local guy in Batu Pahat who had the 13bt in the bug with the bug's stock 1.6 gearbox. That is one ride you can see doing wheelie at the traffic lights! heheh he had his own R&D to joint the RE engine to the gearbox with a custom thingamajig. It took him 3 burst gearbox to get it right like it is now...

so that's why, i'm so gatal with the idea. And considering the parts, it's a lot easier than of those from porsche ;)

here's the link of zenjoe's rotarybug http://www.geocities.com/zenjoe/vw.html

Now we are seeing more RE being used in different platforms.
FF anyone?