Common problems

Greetings to all MLOs. My dad is planning to buy a 2nd hand car. He is choosing between the EVO and the Impreza.

I get some feedback that the EJ20 engine is not mechs friendly and parts are quite hard to get in Malaysia. Common problem for the EJ is the MAF sensor and the ISC or something like that.

What are the common problems that EVOs faces ? i need more info on these so that i can explain to my father what is the pros and cons of the 4G and EJ before he chooses 1.

My father travels a lot and intend to use the car as a daily car so what sections of the car should i tell him to pay more attention to ? eg. Turbo unit, cooling system ?..

Thank you

Everything you want to know about what fecks up in an Evo is available here:
http://www.lancerregister.com/faqindex.php

More info about Evo buying and ownership can be found here:
http://www.lancerregister.com/art_evobuyersguide.php

If your father travels a lot and plans to use an Evo as a daily driver, ask him to pay special attention to the fueling system and the fuel gauge, as he'll be spending most of his time at petrol stations ;-)

Titan,

Welcome...frenly advice though, not practicle to travel a lot (mobile job) daily on
4G63T...fuel consumption very high and also, wear n tear of evo is expensive !

As for Evo's problem, there are non specific though. Is a good car overall ! :)

Cannonfdder, those evos problem seems to be those in UK. How about those in Malaysia ? do they suffer the same problem ?

:secret: All Lancer Evolutions, from I to IX, were built in the Mizushima plant :secret:

4G63T...fuel consumption very high and also, wear n tear of evo is expensive !

just ask your father to prepare pump petrol every 3 day if he travel alot. 1 full tank can go around 250

canonfodder, stock standard also FC very high ?

Absolutely stock, even if you drive like a grandmother and rarely get stuck in jams, it's about 9km/L.

If you stray into boost every now and then, it drops to 7-8km/L.

If you go around boosting like crazy, it goes to 5-6km/L.

Fuel consumption is actually acceptable if you consider the Evo as a high-performance vehicle (300bhp, 400Nm), which is what it is. You'll only find the Evo's consumption heavy if you consider at the Evo as a regular Japanese sedan, which is what it looks like. What really highlights this issue is the small fuel tank (48L).

It's really no different if you're also looking at a Rex, the consumption is not much better. Neither is a Skyline nor a Supra, or any other Jap performance car. It takes a certain amount of fuel to be able to make that kind of power.

The most common problem is ~~~ U go everywhere oso manyak takut no good n suitable place for parking... Must get a very safe place (best is visible) to park ur car... LoLzzzzzzzzz.... Am i right fellow Evos owners....

:_:

Stormvolution 9 said:
The most common problem is ~~~ U go everywhere oso manyak takut no good n suitable place for parking... Must get a very safe place (best is visible) to park ur car... LoLzzzzzzzzz.... Am i right fellow Evos owners....

:_:
totally agree with S9....compare to a REX bad boys always eyes for evo's.....
Not goin to say anything bout fuel or maint.. as you're asking on common problems and everyone who tends to buy a turbocharge cars should know bout the FC.
So far so good for me........oh i know a common problem
BREMBO brake squeek ha haaaaa agree ??

Very reliable on long distance, if can change to alu radiator....

Lanevo so you mean Evo is more prone to car theft compare to the REX.

i think for EVO 4,5 & 6 have a common problem, especially EVO 6, the front LSD Gear Box, as the original bolt is not strong enuf. http://www.lancerregister.com/faq_f05.php
But it can b4 slove easily, just change the bolt which cost u less than RM10 excluding the labour cost.

common problem for evo owners....

- BEH TAHAN! ALWAYS MAU TEST DRAG!!

especially for 1 evo owner i know...

JOHNATHAN!!!!!!!!!!!

HAU-POH-SAU-MM-DOU-KWA!

mauhahahaha

*cabut*

BLaCkHoWLiNG said:
common problem for evo owners....

- BEH TAHAN! ALWAYS MAU TEST DRAG!!

especially for 1 evo owner i know...

JOHNATHAN!!!!!!!!!!!

HAU-POH-SAU-MM-DOU-KWA!

mauhahahaha

*cabut*

4WD mah only can test drag lah.....cannot test wif Supra top speed.....
ha haaaaaa