Combining engine oil for storage?

tjwoon

Hi, I couldn't find any info by searching, so it is time for me to show off some noobiness :D

I have a few mostly empty jugs of engine oil. Same brand and same grade. Can I just pour them all into one jug? I guess different batches may be slightly different, but all should be within tolerance right?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mixing different brand engine oils may cause the additives to incompatible and might damage your engine. But if its for storage alone, it should not be a problem.

Great, thanks for the replies :-) Looks like I can throw away some empty bottles :D

Interesting note on the additives. I will not mix different brands! Storage will become usage after a few months, of course :p

I think it depends on how you store the older oil. If left open or exposed too much then you might have some oxidation. Mixing the oil with newer oil kinda just degrades the quality. It's not a big deal but I wouldn't use a mixed up oil for OCI 10k or something like you'd normally do. I'd reduce the OCI by 3-4k km.

Just make sure the oil is of same grade. Mineral + mineral, Semi Syn + Semi Syn, 10W30 + 10W30 and seal it tight then avoid exposing it to sunlight. When you accumulate enough to make one service, use it for engine flush. Keep the OCI within 3k km and revvvvvvv kaw kaw and enjoy the rideeeeee

Hi, I couldn't find any info by searching, so it is time for me to show off some noobiness :D

I have a few mostly empty jugs of engine oil. Same brand and same grade. Can I just pour them all into one jug? I guess different batches may be slightly different, but all should be within tolerance right?

Since using same brand and same grade you should use the balance oil first, then you accumulate the oil in one bottle only. Like for me, my wife's SUV requires 5L, so first round one bottle 4L plus 1L I have 3L balance. Next change I use the 3L plus 2L so have 2L balance and so on....

---------- Post added at 09:56 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:44 AM ----------

Mixing different brand engine oils may cause the additives to incompatible and might damage your engine. But if its for storage alone, it should not be a problem.

That is what I heard also, but true or not? Many people service their car at workshop, then when at petrol station some do top up on their engine oil. I am sure they are of different grade, brand, viscosity etc. If yes, then many engine will be damaged.
Even for the above case, changing oil brand during OCI will also affect, because not all oil is drained out, sure to have a little balance.
Back then, I was testing engine oil, so was changing viscosity, brand etc., on almost every oil change. I have even tried diesel engine oil, I have mixed 3 different brands (oil balance) and my VR still running after more than 10 years.
But mixing oil to use, please do at your own risk.....:biggrin:

Mixing additives damage engine? No it won't la. It might not work as efficiently but that's about all. Unless you so lucky additive1 + additive2 = some corrosive combination. But that's highly unlikely.

That sounds reassuring :D

Good procedure for using up leftover oils first. Thanks :)

meh...ive mixed engine oils like mad... diff brand... diff grade bla bla bla... a bottle of multiple brands and grades....stored over a period of 2-3 months...used in in my ex-kelisa...drove long distances (KL-JB-KL) at 140-160km/h...never had issues oso...did it for years...the engine didnt even have the common leaks that kelisa/kenari engines had. changed every 5k km though.

why so mixed? coz i tried multiple oils... and the oils were 4L bottles... kelisa only uses 3L.

meh...ive mixed engine oils like mad... diff brand... diff grade bla bla bla... a bottle of multiple brands and grades....stored over a period of 2-3 months...used in in my ex-kelisa...drove long distances (KL-JB-KL) at 140-160km/h...never had issues oso...did it for years...the engine didnt even have the common leaks that kelisa/kenari engines had. changed every 5k km though.

why so mixed? coz i tried multiple oils... and the oils were 4L bottles... kelisa only uses 3L.

me too, mixed diff oil brand into 1, but all mineral, used for my kancil no issues so far.

in TS case is same brand, same grade & same viscosity able to accumulate the balance oil into 1 bottle.

me too, mixed diff oil brand into 1, but all mineral, used for my kancil no issues so far.

in TS case is same brand, same grade & same viscosity able to accumulate the balance oil into 1 bottle.

Yup, told him use old oil first since same brand and model. Mine also when had oil balance all mixed together and use.....:driver:

same practice to me la...for my toyota GL 4k engine
still running ok after 5 years ++ [under my ownership]
and its life already 33 years
an oil just an oil la for 'her'...to lubricate the moving parts