Clutch replacement

SurboNight

Hi,I have a Q here:-My car have clocked 120k and I want to know what is the exactly price range for the clutch replacement eg:pressure plate,clutch plate,bearing etc.TQ in advance:regular_smile:

ur mileage does not exactly effect ur clutch.
its how u use ur clutch.whether its worn out or not.

prices ranges frm diff brands.

what car model u use leh !
Every car manufacturer part price is different ...

Hi there!
Sorry Surbo for using your thread but I figure this goes here too.

How do you determine if your clutch is worn out? Any DIY test?

Thanks!

its called clutch slip,
abnormal daily driven when ur RPM are high but ur car like turtle
"engine sound like thunder, go like snail"

wait other sifu to reply, I just explaining in a simple term

Hmm...so basically high RPM but low speed/no pickup lah?
Heh,I've been thinking of changing to a heavy-duty clutch for quite a while now. My fren is using it and it has more bite when changing gears. Nicer feel compared to the stock 1.5 clutch set.
If I were to change,do I need to replace the whole set or just the plate and the cable? Any brands reccomended?

okay...u have to know the basics here 1st.

a clutch is used to clamp the flywheel.the clutch slips because its worn out...it cant clamp the flywheel.

its will slip when u rev ur car beyond a certain point...determained by how much the clutch is worn out.

chaning to a heavy duty clutch will be a waste of money if ur car is standard and there's not much heavy modding done.as i said...use the basics and u'll know y..

it my feel nicer to change...but its a waste of money./

If clutch didn't slip then no need to change la. My new car (1 year) just changed my clutch, it slipped so much... But the root cause id due to oil leaking, the foreman change my clutch anyway, so it slip again now... Gonna spend another $150 to fix it.

Oh ya, I spent $330 to change the whole set for wira 1.5

aiyoh...i sadly think he cheated u.sorry to say that.

if it was the leakage..he shud have repaired the leak.he can change the clutch 1000times and it wont solve the prob.

Wow...There's something new I learned today! :p

Hmm...so unless there's tell tale signs of clutch slip I shouldn't change to a heavy duty clutch right? How about to a higher cc clutch, say a 1.6 clutch? Would that be the same? It won't offer more 'bite' would it?

Thanks for the advise sifu...or I would have wasted qutie a lum sum investing in something I don't need...YET! :p