Citroen ZX

zan

Hai all,

need some opinion...

what do u think of Citroen ZX? I am thinking of buying one due to the low prices and demand, but high supply.

talk about the good factors...well its about same size as Satria but it has 129bhp 1.9 EFI engine or 132bhp 2.0 EFI. it was European Car of The Year 1993, good looking, practical with good handling passive rear steering and 4 wheel disc brakes.

I can bear its high fuel consumption..about 25mpg on normal drive (err, actually my company bears the cost)

but i need to know what to look at when buying Citroen ZX. anybody have bad experience owning one? is it worth spending RM10K on a 10 years old car olike this? i prefer the ZX than the Renault 19. As ZX has normal suspension system unlike the BX or Xantia with Hydractive, i believe the maintaining costs will be lower.

I could buy a 30-40K car, my problem is I cant afford the depreciation. Thus, 10K car wont depreciate much after a few years..though it will be much more difficult when re-sell time comes.

please share ur thoughts...as I would be surveying 2 units this weekend. thanxx..

how about the 16v model? more punch for slightly more price

i would love to own an Alfa, but not the boxer 1.6 or 1.7. my favourite would be the 145 Cloverleaf, 146ti or 155 2.0 16V twin spark 'S', all in the range of RM40-50K.
i worry about the depreciation, cannot cope with that. boxer engine is nice to drive, but during idle it is somehow shaky. timing belt need replacement every 30,000Km. worst thing is that Milan Auto had been closed down due to bancruptcy i think, new franchise holder will be a company from Sime Darby group.

16V ZX is the best, with 155bhp and understated looks. its about 23,000 in market average and sadly will lose a lot in 2-3 years.

i need opinions on whether the car has serious problem like ovrheating, brakes, electrical..things like that.. thanx for responding.

zan said:
i would love to own an Alfa, but not the boxer 1.6 or 1.7. my favourite would be the 145 Cloverleaf, 146ti or 155 2.0 16V twin spark 'S', all in the range of RM40-50K.
i worry about the depreciation, cannot cope with that. boxer engine is nice to drive, but during idle it is somehow shaky. timing belt need replacement every 30,000Km. worst thing is that Milan Auto had been closed down due to bancruptcy i think, new franchise holder will be a company from Sime Darby group.

16V ZX is the best, with 155bhp and understated looks. its about 23,000 in market average and sadly will lose a lot in 2-3 years.

i need opinions on whether the car has serious problem like ovrheating, brakes, electrical..things like that.. thanx for responding.

Hi there..
I drive a ZX 16V...u don't have to worry much about maintaining a citroen nowdays..there are a lot of independent wshops out there that can take care of a citroen...
Yup,get a 16V...it has more power,ABS,Airbag bla..bla...
For more info,logon to www.mycitroen.org..
hope to see u there....

Yup..alfa 145QV and 146 Ti is another good choice

zan,

i'm driving the QV now,......from the list u mentioned, it's obvious u like the TS engine huh?

u can definitely find the QV, Ti and 155 2.0 below 40k, i did!

dun worry bout depreciation....the 1st 2-3 yrs of the car's life will be the worst, after that it follows the same trend as other cars. besides, since when buying car will give u good return??? at the current market, the only car isee that holds its value pretty well is the minicooper S. so relax, buy the car and enjoy..

hai 145fan.

i used to work with Milan Auto back in 1996/97.

i fell in love with Alfa cars (the modern ones) ever since. breadvan 145 is my favourite he he especially the QV..boy do i really envy you!

best of alfa cars must be the GTV...with its leech like handling. i have many other commitments, cant spend a lot on cars. i am eyeing for ZX about 10K..dunno how it wud depreciate though..ha ha ha ha ha

zan,

spend a bit more la....for ~20-25k, you can have the 16v facelift ones, nicer face.

but if u stick to your set budget, can get the early model ones (not 16v la)...what depreciation u r talking about????....i'd say very2 negligible hehe

tested a few 1.9 ZX in the past 2 weeks.

its seems that ZX has serious aircond problems. other than that, knocking noise from rear suspension and the last i tested had funny noise from the driveshaft (dunno how to describe)..is it true?
the last car also had its oil temp gauge shoot max all time. what can be the problem?

is this a common problem to ZX? if it is, then i would need to look for some other cars.

i cant afford to buy a 60K car and lose 20K over a period of 5 years. same thing will happen if i buy a 25K ZX 16V (yummy!) but lose 15K over 4 years. its a simple math, u buy cheap and you dont lose a lot. its harder to sell the car then but its a different matter. for a 11 years old car, there's no way u can buy a 130bhp car at about 12K.

i'm increasing my budget, this weekend i will test one 2.0M 95 model. hopefully everything wil be ok. and also i will be visiting car auction at Subang...they have 7 or 8 ZXs...incl one 16V. he he

p/s hoping to buy the 16V for 8-10K. :D

sure or not cant find 130 bhp car for 12k....i can bet u RM100 i can fin done for u

Hi Zan,

I own a ZX 2.0 8V for almost 2 years now and a Proton Wira 1.6 before. What I can say is the maintenance cost is almost the same as long as you go to the right place.

It's normal to loose lot of RM if u buy a car coz its depreciate. If u really care about loosing money then may be you should find a RM1K to RM3K and at the end of 3 years it will be fully depreciated... Then you will loose nothing.

Its a bargain to buy an auction car at auction centre but dont forget on the repair cost after you got the car.

If you are looking for a ZX find a well taken care one, better to bring a mechanic with you to check the car.

Happy hunting.