cheaper ways to clean your k&n air filter

they say the sparrow ones wont have as much airflow as ohlee n is more restrictive...

also heard the material isnt as long lasting as ohlee...but then dunno la....never changed mine before as i only just got the car on xmas and mine came with it...

i really wanna change to the guppy intake and the blitz filter...

You can buy the K&N cleaner & oil online for around RM50, i bought mine about 4 years back, only used about half bottle since. I usually clean it once a year.

Lol its funny reading this thread.

Next thing people will start posting up, cheaper ways to change engine oil hahahaha. K&N's element is cotton, as I last remember. You CAN use any sort of soap to clean it, and then not re-oil it and still run it. It will work fine.

But K&N has their famous million-mile warranty on each of their filters, so im sure they had to design some way to filter out dirt while making the filter free flowing...

Its just maintainance lah at the end of the day, you take shortcuts, you get what you pay for. Same thing with our cars, throw more money maintaining it, it should work fine year after year.

But we all love taking shortcuts dont we? :proud:

yah when u say cotton, it reminds me..wont the cotton element go kembang like our clothes after being washed with soap so many times? hahaha probably the cleaning kit is made to prevent it :D

nope...its the steel mesh that hold the cotton element ma...