Cefiro Club

ongteckweng said:
bro pater...no prob..glad another a32 buddy here...
for tyres..none can beat klang's prices...especially Hing Leong along Jln Kapar. one of the cheapest in Malaysia!! :biggrin:

depends what u want and ur budget...i think for standard size, price range from rm250 to over rm350...

as for ur mileage...best its to check ur service book...or TC if they have any of ur car's record...without the service book...it is likely ur car's mileage has been tempered...its easy for reduced the numbers...saw those buggers did it b4...

probably go for full service @ TC...they r the experts....if u want a piece of mind..go ther every 10,000 intervals...for engine oil + filters...any mech can do it for u...

thanks again fr ur information, between, which brand is suit to feilo? continental? michelin? silverstone kruser any recommend? i wan silent plus stable only.

i have read the previos forum, n i find out 1 thing, wats the meaning of 'reset the gear box' or setting the gear box in rm94 dollar in tan chong? coz i scare the gear box later got problem, i need spent over 15k re replace. so could i know how can i protect n maintain the gear box?

n u r right this time, this car dont have service book, my god! somemore the steeling is got a light vibrate when the engine is start? is tat means i need prepare 1k fr replace all of the engine mounting?
all sifu here pls help......

ongteckweng said:
yes...my friend has few sets...hehehe...even new 1 from Japan!..

ok...does he have 1"? I installed the 1.5" today, but it appears to be a tad too wide. One side is exactly flush...but the other side is just a little too far out. The fenders are about 0.25" difference.

Another thing I could do is "deform" or knock-out the wheel arches a little bit. I'm a little more inclined to do this as the 1.5" spacers improved body roll significantly.

ongteckweng said:
im pretty sure its diff set of wiring...coz i have everything installed from the halfcut....but im not 100% sure its the same with our current or not...probably its diff...

if ur friend its selling parts...i need few stuffs...but depends how much he wanna sells la...i need the electric antenna...front bonnet absorbers...door panels if it is black in colour (mine have cuts on some of it)....crystal h/lamp...rear passenger door's vacum rubber(on the body)...:biggrin:...but how r we goin to get those stuffs? hehehe...

actually, for "consumable" parts like rubber, bonnet absorbers, it may be better to get new.

But here's the deal I've been offered. The car is scrapped at the end of the year. For a few grand in Sg, the "body" does not have to end up in the scrap yards. Instead, we can have it as a parts car. The condition is that :

a) It has to be retrieved before it's road tax expires.
b) It never comes back to Sg
c) It is taken apart as soon as it arrives in KL

I am thinking about it, but I don't have space to store the parts. After the parts are retrieved, the bare chasis can be scrapped. I've not negotiated the price, but if a few of us need parts...this is a very cheap option.

His car is metallic green, btw...and how did you get cuts on your doors?

patersonia said:
thanks again fr ur information, between, which brand is suit to feilo? continental? michelin? silverstone kruser any recommend? i wan silent plus stable only.

i have read the previos forum, n i find out 1 thing, wats the meaning of 'reset the gear box' or setting the gear box in rm94 dollar in tan chong? coz i scare the gear box later got problem, i need spent over 15k re replace. so could i know how can i protect n maintain the gear box?

n u r right this time, this car dont have service book, my god! somemore the steeling is got a light vibrate when the engine is start? is tat means i need prepare 1k fr replace all of the engine mounting?
all sifu here pls help......

I use Bridgestones myself...the new ones just launched. They're very quiet and have very good grip.

15k for a gearbox??? Do you drive a 2l or 3l vehicle? For 2l vehicles, I can get gearboxes from Sg for about 1k...and my friend in Sg will send it up by lorry.

And I believe that it may be time to check your mountings... :smile:

My Celica

Just got my photobucket account set up...so testing... :smile:

r0300087.jpg

r0300083.jpg

R0300084.jpg

r0300085.jpg

R0300302.jpg

r0300301.jpg

I miss the car...but I have to admit...it needed a lot of care. There are 2 I know of for sale in Malaysia. Around RM55k-60k. But will require at least 30k to fix up. Economically, an R32 Skyline would probably perform better on the road, and be easier... :sad_smile:

defcon1 said:
I use Bridgestones myself...the new ones just launched. They're very quiet and have very good grip.

15k for a gearbox??? Do you drive a 2l or 3l vehicle? For 2l vehicles, I can get gearboxes from Sg for about 1k...and my friend in Sg will send it up by lorry.

And I believe that it may be time to check your mountings... :smile:

thanks again fr the respond.
bridgestones? kruser is it? tats a good tyres :) can i know how many mounting inside the 3.0l engine? any ppl bring their cefiro in tanchong to reset their gear box? thanks help.

patersonia said:
thanks again fr the respond.
bridgestones? kruser is it? tats a good tyres :) can i know how many mounting inside the 3.0l engine? any ppl bring their cefiro in tanchong to reset their gear box? thanks help.

Hi Peter

The tyres I have been using for the past month are Brigestone Turanzas. I understand that the innovation in this tyre is that the threaded layer is composed of two layers of different hardness/densities so that it maintains it's smoothness and quietness even as the tyre wears down. Since this is my first set, I can't vouch for Bridgestone's claim but I have been quite impressed by their performance so far. Mine cost RM 390 per tyre...size 215/55/16 I think.

Now...mountings. Like all engines, there should be 4 mountings...left, right, front and gearbox. I would check the gearbox mounting first as the 3l's takeoff does put a lot of strain on it. Also do the following :

a) Put the car in idle and touch the steering. Is there vibration? How much?
b) From stationary, normal take-off. Do you get a kick in the pants?
c) From 30 kmh, power up normally. Do you get a kick in the pants?

For your gearbox, if it is still smooth on the upshift and especially, the downshift, there is nothing wrong. And gearboxes do not have to be reset...at least ours does not. The newer vehicles like the current generation Mercedes come with advanced ECU controlled gearboxes that have their own sub-ECU and may need to be reset. Just take the car down to your mech and change the oil... :smile:

ongteckweng said:
oh yeah...found out the price for the Y-pipe...RM400/piece for mandrel bent...any quote from ur side?

RM400 seems to be a decent price. I assume that the design includes the flexible joint? No quote on my side yet. I forgot that today was a public holiday and everyone is closed... :sad_smile:

defcon1 said:
Hi Peter

The tyres I have been using for the past month are Brigestone Turanzas. I understand that the innovation in this tyre is that the threaded layer is composed of two layers of different hardness/densities so that it maintains it's smoothness and quietness even as the tyre wears down. Since this is my first set, I can't vouch for Bridgestone's claim but I have been quite impressed by their performance so far. Mine cost RM 390 per tyre...size 215/55/16 I think.

Now...mountings. Like all engines, there should be 4 mountings...left, right, front and gearbox. I would check the gearbox mounting first as the 3l's takeoff does put a lot of strain on it. Also do the following :

a) Put the car in idle and touch the steering. Is there vibration? How much?
b) From stationary, normal take-off. Do you get a kick in the pants?
c) From 30 kmh, power up normally. Do you get a kick in the pants?

For your gearbox, if it is still smooth on the upshift and especially, the downshift, there is nothing wrong. And gearboxes do not have to be reset...at least ours does not. The newer vehicles like the current generation Mercedes come with advanced ECU controlled gearboxes that have their own sub-ECU and may need to be reset. Just take the car down to your mech and change the oil... :smile:

thanks fr ur information, lucky on ur feilo since u r use 16' tyre, sure ur car r very stable when u drive very fast. i also have just change my tyres today, replace to the same tyre as previous one, michelin energy xmv8 205/65/15 15' 2 pcs cost me 540 (05' make) i just replace the front 1 since already botak.

bt bad news fr me is they told me tat the driver's side of bearing is broken, need to replace, if no will be quite dangerous.

actually im really no tat expert on car plus all the maintainace, so i hope all the sifus here can try to give me some advise, should i replace it on tanchong service (just check the price 255 on each bearing plus label charge is 55 dollar(total is rm310.00 fr replace the bearing). or i should ask the outside foreman to help me.

last thing? where u guys get the nissan original spare part? any good recommend on the shop which selling nissan spare part?

all the sifu, pls help.....

patersonia said:
thanks fr ur information, lucky on ur feilo since u r use 16' tyre, sure ur car r very stable when u drive very fast. i also have just change my tyres today, replace to the same tyre as previous one, michelin energy xmv8 205/65/15 15' 2 pcs cost me 540 (05' make) i just replace the front 1 since already botak.

You have 2 simple options to improve stability. Either use wider tyres, or space out your wheels with GOOD spacers like in the photo below...or both. I spaced out my rear wheels and there is already a lot of difference. Car is absolutely stable, with limited body roll.

spacers.jpg

bt bad news fr me is they told me tat the driver's side of bearing is broken, need to replace, if no will be quite dangerous.

Wheel bearing? Wheel humming, sounds like an aeroplane? Get your mech to fix it immediately. No need to go to Nissan. Wheel bearing is an easy thing to do.

actually im really no tat expert on car plus all the maintainace, so i hope all the sifus here can try to give me some advise, should i replace it on tanchong service (just check the price 255 on each bearing plus label charge is 55 dollar(total is rm310.00 fr replace the bearing). or i should ask the outside foreman to help me.

Outside foreman can do it just fine...and cheaper. There is no requirement to get a Tan Chong labelled wheel bearing. You only pay more for their sticker. There is no secret in bearing manufacture, and any good Japanese manufacturer can make them perfectly and with good quality. After all, do you think Nissan has a bearing factory?

last thing? where u guys get the nissan original spare part? any good recommend on the shop which selling nissan spare part?

all the sifu, pls help.....

Nissan spare parts can order from any spare part shop. Your mechanic should have no problems getting original parts. BUT if you are looking for "potong kereta' parts...parts that don't wear out or can be re-con...then here, we can help. But need to know what parts you need.

defcon1 said:
You have 2 simple options to improve stability. Either use wider tyres, or space out your wheels with GOOD spacers like in the photo below...or both. I spaced out my rear wheels and there is already a lot of difference. Car is absolutely stable, with limited body roll.

spacers.jpg

Wheel bearing? Wheel humming, sounds like an aeroplane? Get your mech to fix it immediately. No need to go to Nissan. Wheel bearing is an easy thing to do.

Outside foreman can do it just fine...and cheaper. There is no requirement to get a Tan Chong labelled wheel bearing. You only pay more for their sticker. There is no secret in bearing manufacture, and any good Japanese manufacturer can make them perfectly and with good quality. After all, do you think Nissan has a bearing factory?

Nissan spare parts can order from any spare part shop. Your mechanic should have no problems getting original parts. BUT if you are looking for "potong kereta' parts...parts that don't wear out or can be re-con...then here, we can help. But need to know what parts you need.

thanks a lot, im really appreciate the information which provide by u, thanks again. between, when is the TT, pls let know thanks.

i just check the wheel bearing in 1 spare part shop, cost me rm68 dollar, the guy told me is import from japan. bt tan chong service price is rm255, i know the price got distance, bt will b tat far away? anyone can help? the wheel bearing....

patersonia said:
i just check the wheel bearing in 1 spare part shop, cost me rm68 dollar, the guy told me is import from japan. bt tan chong service price is rm255, i know the price got distance, bt will b tat far away? anyone can help? the wheel bearing....

Get the best quality you can get. Price sounds about right for a wheel bearing. What brand?

If in doubt, refer to your mechanic. He should know which bearings are better and which are not so good.

I know a lot of local mech just use SKF...made in Malaysia for international market.

I Want!

Starting a new thread called "I WANT!"... :laugh:

Let your imagination roam and let's see what TRULY dwells in the hearts of us Feilos... :laugh:

And for my first entry...

BidSadler20Turbo.jpg

I WANT!!!

wah, how come ur engine is so far different compare wth my original engine? how much u have been spent on it, the engine just like super vip style, similar as diplomat user

patersonia said:
wah, how come ur engine is so far different compare wth my original engine? how much u have been spent on it, the engine just like super vip style, similar as diplomat user

Actually...that's not my engine... :_:

My engine probably looks exactly like yours...for now...

That's what I WANT my engine to look like... :smile:

defcon1 said:
Actually...that's not my engine... :_:

My engine probably looks exactly like yours...for now...

That's what I WANT my engine to look like... :smile:

hmm....ic.....good on it, just like a very hightech engine....u got any msn address? mind to add me in ur msn address, then we can have a quick chat. my address is [email protected]

defcon1 said:
Starting a new thread called "I WANT!"... :laugh:

Let your imagination roam and let's see what TRULY dwells in the hearts of us Feilos... :laugh:

And for my first entry...

BidSadler20Turbo.jpg

I WANT!!!

And this is what will make it happen...design of piping requirements...

pipes.jpg

Custom made set looks like this before installation...

supai20pfi.jpg

...too easy... at 6 psi (which our engines can take easily...upper limit about 10 psi)...and additional 56% of power...RRRAAAAAWWWWHHHHH!!

...ok...I admit it...I'm bored today... :laugh:

i've just changed both sides of my wheel bearings. according to my friend (spare part dealer) TC doesn't produce or have A32 wheel bearings anymore .. mostly A33 ... so when fitted to my car there was a 2mm or 3 mm gap which causes the ABS light to go off .. so got to send it to an engineering shop to modify .. took almost 1 day to sort it out

cgui said:
i've just changed both sides of my wheel bearings. according to my friend (spare part dealer) TC doesn't produce or have A32 wheel bearings anymore .. mostly A33 ... so when fitted to my car there was a 2mm or 3 mm gap which causes the ABS light to go off .. so got to send it to an engineering shop to modify .. took almost 1 day to sort it out

And that is one more reason why aftermarket or generic is better. Generic should not have probs finding size.