Cefiro (A33) - Stability issue

dream.tent said:
Now this camry a qualify "kuku". If slow, just let ppl potong la....why la give ppl hard time?!!?!
For me, I'll over take and plus "honk honk" somemore....(reserved the bird sign for now)

:) if without this kuku, i wont know the ability of my lazyboy which is that lazy as i first thought initially..... :p

but really need to save up for a nice set of absorber.... cos whenever hit a bump, i can feel the rear part will swing up and down.... do i need to change the spring as well??

thanks....

Swing up and down? maybe not just a weak absorbers. Can be "KO" liao. Try to do simple test and see if the absorbers acting ok.
Push the rear of your car down and release it. observe the bounce! if it goes up and down freely, the absorber's dead.

Is it ok to change the springs for a lower and firmer ride but keeping the stock absorbers? Will there be any problems?

yes u can MancCell..but u will regret it for sure coz ur stock abs wont last long n u will get very bumpy ride. stock abs r long stroke. so by using lowering spring, the abs will lose its function.

Thanks for the info ongteckweng. So the best option is to change the springs and absorbers as a matched pair to avoid the bumpy ride?

Some thoughts... to get a lower ride, I need shorter springs. If the springs are shorter, they have to be harder/firmer to stop bottoming out. With harder springs, I need an absorber with "more" damping to avoid the bumpy ride.

Is that right?

technically u r right Manccell..but its hard to get best of both world unless u r willing to spend a fortune in this area. by lowering the car, comfort will be sacrifice. dependin on how low u wanna go.

eibach pro kit provide some lowering of 30mm without affectin much on comfort but u might not notice the height so much. im using kg/mm which lowered my car 40mm ( thats what i want) so the comfort is not there for a car like cefiro. for me, i love low rides so i dont mind the bumpy rides. still young mah...hahaha

u can try adjustables but its hard to get Japan made here. so the next best option is custom made. heard Titan is good but its kinda pricey. heard they can custom almost every spec u can name on...hehehe

Hmmmm. I may look into the eibach option. Don't want too low and don't want to loose too much of the comfort. I like the comfy ride.

STARTER OK .. Now Penang... thru & fore !!!

sorry guys for the late reply. i just got back from penang on a 1 day trip. up & down.

OK my car in sg. wang. parking cost around RM28 for a full day. The starter cost around RM290++ & workmanship cost around RM160++ (off-site, higher price). He manage to change the starter after removing the air duct & some other stuff.

not to worry about darkness. 4th floor sg. wang plaza is well lit with alot of lights. anyway he went over to sg. wang around 12pm to change my starter. luckily didn't tow my car away.

oh yeah. this guy's workshop is near to my house, so he drove my baby back to his workshop & i go over & pick up. easy & simple.

So today i was happily driving my baby up to Penang without any problems. Thank God. On the way to Penang was driving around 130 - 140Km/H until was flash from on-coming cars to KL indicating ROAD BLOCK at the front. So slow down to 110KM/H & be good good boy first. my passenger was complaining that 110km/h is too slow for a Cefiro. Feel like going 70Km/H when driving a WIRA.

Reach road block ... luckily didn't kena. Polis just wave BYE BYE to me. hehehehe

On the way back around 6 something. No more ROAD BLOCK. wat else .. test lar.... step on the accelerator all the way & i'm flying at 190km/h. Max i could go was 210km/h. gas cost me RM60, which i fill up from Juru & last me till Duta toll.

Constantly i was driving around 150Km/h. quite good milage i could say at that kinda speed..... oh yeah, i didn't use POWER mode. Just normal ....

my air filter was making hell of a noise when RPM reaches 4K & above.. & i love it !!!!

too bad my ride is a little floaty.... have to change my shocks .... ASAP...

hey any of u guys tried stepping on the brakes & yr steering wheel just vibrates ... feel like ABS or disc rotor r not balance... need to skim them .. wat u guys think?

>>>>

I feel it all the time. when breaking from 160km/h to 10km/h (pay toll)
I think it's not the rotor not balance....even with the current diameter, I think my rotor still too small for the weight of the car. It can barely hold. Somehow, A33 comes with 2 pot caliper only, not 4 like my previous Galant.

Actually my plan after getting my 18" rim is to upgrade my rotor and caliper. Thinking of AP. But I think still long way for me.....Focus on saving money for my 18" now.

guys...check ur disc brek for for uneven surface. its a pretty common prob for feilo. this is due to the fact that the car is heavy up front and constant breking cause the disc to thin a lot faster than normal car. had the prob 2 but once skim the disc, the prob is gone. best think to do is to convert 4 pot up front using Fairlady or R32 brek system. usually cost around rm600 not including installation.
dream, 2nd hand Jap 18" + new tires will cost more than 5k!!! try gettin used tyres...some r as good as new...if u need contact, just call me...hehehe

Yeah, I also experience a slight vibration through the steering wheel during braking. Not much, but it is there.

well mine i could feel it if i apply brake at 100kmh. but it will be more severe if i apply brake at 140kmh.

will get it check out this weekend.

its simple to check it. just touch the disc. if u can feel thats a gap between the steel n polished surface, its time to skim it. however, u can only do it twice.

will check out the abs later....

however, i didnt feel any vibration.... only feel that i need to press the brake pedal very hard in order to stop the car.... :p

may need to flush your brake fluid, happen to me before, have to press twice to get the car stop, the first press feel spongy.

Lawcc said:
may need to flush your brake fluid, happen to me before, have to press twice to get the car stop, the first press feel spongy.

Law is rite. I've got this problem with my Galant before. I flush it dry and then put in fresh dot 4 and the mech make sure no air trap in the hoses...wasted half a bottle of my dot 4 doing this. But after that, slam! break on the spot!