Can make it look like 2000 Beetle?

Seraph

Is it possible to upgrade the exterior looks of the old beetle to look like the new one?

Dunno why got a silly feeling of getting one of them old ones to play around with :lol:

Perhaps some fibreglass can help... but ppl will know la because New Bettle is FF and uses a water-cooled engine (very quiet).

Old Bettle uses an air-cooled engine and in RR configuration (damn noisy!).

hehe....potong some other water cool engine into it loh

RR good mah can drift hor?
thats the IN thing now right?

:lol:

wowowo.....mr seraph wanna play vw old beetle??...comecome...very fun car to play...top speed 90mph!!!...huahua...wah..if wanna make like new beetle no good la...keep the old look better....got boxer engine and RR summore...the engine sound very cun 1...:lol:

Originally posted by Seraph@Dec 15 2004, 17:13
you sealed up the rear doors? :unsure:
have you EVER seen a beetle before??

all beetles got ONLY 2 doors lorrrr.

seesh...

Originally posted by alexz+Dec 15 2004, 17:20 -->
QUOTE (alexz @ Dec 15 2004, 17:20 )
--QuoteBegin-Seraph
@Dec 15 2004, 17:13

seesh... [/b][/quote]
thanks for your GREAT info, if i knew everything i wouldn't be asking plus i personally dun like the car but someone i know do so i'm just doing abit of research

Good that you are doing researches, Seraph. The Beetle can get very expensive if you don't know the proper channels.

What else you want to know?

1. Forget converting to new. It just doesn't work. Even if u have a lot of money, better buy a new one.

*hehe* that was just something i wanna ask coz they look the same at first glance.

this model has been around for sometime, so are there new parts still in production or we're relying only on recon/chop shop parts?

gettin parts can be quite difficult now, especially good condition body parts, especially doors, bonnets, fenders....the older it is, the harder and good condition engines. If you wana get 1, find 1 with good condition body and chasis. The floorboards are not the crucial part, the chasis frame and overall body shape is. Do not go for shiny paintjobs or chrome engines. They are nothing but pure rubbish. They add nothing to the value of the car. Cheap repairs are often hidden under new paint coats.

Get someone who is familar to look with. As with any cars, especially Continental cars like VWs, Citroens, Alfas, MUST get 1 preferably with history or better enthusiast OWNER. You just cannot tell what had happened / done to the car previously. The list is too long to put here.

Good luck.

By the way, I am thinking of selling my ride. check out the car for sale.

new parts are currently still readily available, but those are limited to general parts. and they are all made in Brazil and quality is thrash.. NEw engines are available, but at RM12K for a 50bhp engine, I would just advise you to spend your money elsewhere.

hey air cooled....

cool air cooled ride you've got there hehe...love the dtm rear pipes :D

so how much you're gonna sell this mean green machine of yours again?

delima, the car in the pic belongs to EDMAN, not me. I don't have pics now. My pic does not look as shiny as EDMAN's...used to be, but not anymore.

I am looking for 14K neg.

CF hood? YES!! You can even get CF hood, engine lid, all fenders, running boards, wing, side mirrors, headlamp bracket and engine firewall and even doors. Not in Malaysia though...have to special order. I am not sure about the prices, last time i checked...US600 for the rear engine lid.

haha...thanks delimaputih..intrested in beetles eh?..haha..get 1 for urself!!...aircooled you own a beetles too?...thts good...

Originally posted by Seraph+Dec 15 2004, 21:07 -->
QUOTE (Seraph @ Dec 15 2004, 21:07 )
Originally posted by alexz@Dec 15 2004, 17:20
--QuoteBegin-Seraph
@Dec 15 2004, 17:13

seesh...

thanks for your GREAT info, if i knew everything i wouldn't be asking plus i personally dun like the car but someone i know do so i'm just doing abit of research [/b][/quote]
sorry if im a little bit harsh there...

just mayb you should try google 1st before asking...

well i can consider myself a beetle freak (aircooled) too. but right now dont have the courage (and the dosh) to play VW.

would love to have a pre 66' oval headlight version with lowered spindles at the front, disc conversion all round (but with the wide stub), fabric sunroof, ori interiors with porsche 356 stearing and shiftknobs, EMPI 15' rims and a mild big bore engine...

but that has to b a 2nd or 3rd car...

is it legal do goto workshops to get them to chop the roof and turn it into a convertable?

alex-i'm sorry for reacting too :P

ive seen a few beetles that had their roof chopped and turned into convertibles. but the workshop has to know what they are doing and add reinforcement bars into the chassis or else the car will flex like a paper.

but a beetle freak can differentiate a converted or a ori one. the doors and glass lines differ. i ve seen the ori one just once here, and its a LHD.

but now with JPJ all tightened up, donno if still poss to convert.

or else find a model with a full length fabric sunroof. its rare in m'sia too and ive seen those just once or twice.

usually ppl get a mazda 121 japan halfcut roof to get its fabric sunroof and it looks quite nice on a beetle.

My cousin owned a MX5 with soft-top for sometime, but got the nice leather top cut on by purpose. Nothing was even stolen, even her nice ICE
Thats what I am afraid of but its very nice :(

Write your reply...