Can any sifu explain A31 to me?

Alvin a31

From Facebook
I'm a rookie in car stuff and planning to get a A31 coz of the RB engine.
But i hav a few questions, can any1 help me?

Q1: Wat's the difference between A31 stock RB20 & Skylines' RB engines? (specs preffered)

2: Is the stock RB20 equipped with turbo? If no, will upgrading with turbo kits make the engine overheat after long hours of driving (i heard this is common problems with turbo upgraded cars)

3: How much is the fuel consumption?

I want a powerful but durable car, coz i will be running between states often. But must balance a bit of comfort oso(dont wan2 drive until my ass bleeds, haha) Can suggest any tunings for me?

I really looking forward for pro Suggestions! i can't do this myself

for beginer suggest take h/cut everything complete set coz if anything happen on half way n u dunno about cars sure kena potong leher

A31 is non turbo car.

u mean wat model half cut?
so it means A31 stock engine is RB20DE and not RB20DET ?

A31 1st gen in Malaysia RB20E, 4 speed auto box, SOHC

the 2nd gen come with RB20DE. 5 speed auto box, DOHC

Both fuel consumption are very high cause the weight is heavy and torque is low, the 5 speed box is not reliable. lots of problem.

for conversion, you can get Skyline R32 RB20DET, you can use most of the things cause both the car share the same chassis. but interior parts you won't be able to use. you can try find A31 RB20DET 1/2 cut, is rare and the manual box is even harder to find.

Don't try turbo the NA, you risk frying your piston as turbo need low compression piston.

thx weikee

wat's the rough price for R32 h/cut? does it easy to find?
u think i can get some nice stuff out of it?

not sure now, few years back was only 2k++, maybe now is 3k++ and harder to find. is nearly 20 years car.

i see... thx alot bro. trully appreciate ur help. may i know where u're from? i'm Ipoh mali. haha.

me KL mali..

I think ipoh used to have one area with lots of chop shop, and run by few Indians. Not sure they still operate after the major fire. I used to drive all the way up to find parts and goodies.

i think i know where u mean. There not so popular anymore...
i dont hear my car loving frens talking bout getting stuff from there anymore..
Mostly going to chop shops in Menglembu area, i think run by chinese mostly. Bigger warehouse, more stocks.
I think i will start my search for the h/cut from there.

can u recommend any potential chop shops where they might hav R32 h/cuts? outside of ipoh oso no problem. coz i doubt can find it in ipoh.

BTW i hav 1 question;
throwing in the complete set means must throw in the R32 gearbox oso?

So happen to stumble upon ur question. A31 is a very nice car to drive. It has big interior and boot space. As for the engine, the stock cefiro comes with the RB20de. For me, Id suggest you get an R32 halfcut or an A31 halfcut if you can which comes with RB20DET 5 speed manual gearbox and every other parts you need. No point doing a bolt on turbo. It never lasts and you'll end up spending more money. The halfcut used to cost around 2k+ but now its about 3K+. Most of the parts that comes with the halfcut can/will be used on ur current A31. Gearbox will be from the halfcut too. Even the dashboard you could use. Horsepower wise its about 240 or so on flywheel. On wheel it varies about 140 to 180 Iv seen. A simple mod like a big intercooler, RB25 turbo, and fuel pump could easily push it to 260 or so on wheel at 1bar boost. I know this cause Iv had this before. As for the fuel consumption, I had no problems as a full tank cost me around RM80 and could travel up to 320 or so KM. About ur powerful but durable engine, I think the most important thing would be to get a good mechanic to install it for you. There are a few other options for engine choices. R33 comes with RB25 5k+?. R32gtr comes with RB26 about 10k+ and you could even opt for the S13/14/15 SR20's 6k+. Im now running an SR20 turbo engine from an S14. of course you dont have the sound of the 6 cylinders but hey, its way lighter with a lighter block and only 4 cylinders. It also gives better weight distribution for the car. More centered instead of a heavy front. Do remember that spareparts are everywhere and is relatively cheap for nissans. Absorbers and many other stuff could be mixed and match between the silvias or skylines for ur A31. So you'll never run out of options. good luck in ur setting up of the A31. Its truly a nice car to drive. Remember, Complete halfcut and Good mechanic. You should be on ur way.I hope my suggestions answered most of ur questions :) watch the coverage of the ESPN Formula Drift Malaysia in zth. Im driving the green cefiro. Cheers.

Thx Nakamura. U made it sounds easy. haha...

I think RB20DET or RB25DET is sufficient for me.

I've did some homework. Fitting in a SR20 need alot of work to the chassis... So not really my option coz scare will have problems often. Plus must watch my Budget. haha...

Most A31 comes in Auto transmission, so does converting it to manual need alot of work?
Are there any chance i can find a stock A31 that is m/t in todays market?

doubt putting SR into A31 need lots of work, cause most RWD mount are very easy to mod. The problem maybe SR RWD parts are higher price compare to RBs.

G.box can find manual, just need to be patient and bit of luck.

So happen to stumble upon ur question. A31 is a very nice car to drive. It has big interior and boot space. As for the engine, the stock cefiro comes with the RB20de. For me, Id suggest you get an R32 halfcut or an A31 halfcut if you can which comes with RB20DET 5 speed manual gearbox and every other parts you need. No point doing a bolt on turbo. It never lasts and you'll end up spending more money. The halfcut used to cost around 2k+ but now its about 3K+. Most of the parts that comes with the halfcut can/will be used on ur current A31. Gearbox will be from the halfcut too. Even the dashboard you could use. Horsepower wise its about 240 or so on flywheel. On wheel it varies about 140 to 180 Iv seen. A simple mod like a big intercooler, RB25 turbo, and fuel pump could easily push it to 260 or so on wheel at 1bar boost. I know this cause Iv had this before. As for the fuel consumption, I had no problems as a full tank cost me around RM80 and could travel up to 320 or so KM. About ur powerful but durable engine, I think the most important thing would be to get a good mechanic to install it for you. There are a few other options for engine choices. R33 comes with RB25 5k+?. R32gtr comes with RB26 about 10k+ and you could even opt for the S13/14/15 SR20's 6k+. Im now running an SR20 turbo engine from an S14. of course you dont have the sound of the 6 cylinders but hey, its way lighter with a lighter block and only 4 cylinders. It also gives better weight distribution for the car. More centered instead of a heavy front. Do remember that spareparts are everywhere and is relatively cheap for nissans. Absorbers and many other stuff could be mixed and match between the silvias or skylines for ur A31. So you'll never run out of options. good luck in ur setting up of the A31. Its truly a nice car to drive. Remember, Complete halfcut and Good mechanic. You should be on ur way.I hope my suggestions answered most of ur questions :) watch the coverage of the ESPN Formula Drift Malaysia in zth. Im driving the green cefiro. Cheers.
Wow this guy is really an A31 taiko !, This piece is very well written for the A31!

Cheers!

SB3.:biggrin: